2 x JLT Wins = Positivity

I'm simply shaking my head at the negativity floating about. We just had a couple of pretty decent wins and we are looking good for Rd 1 minus Hanners and Steven who will be back pretty soon. Sorry, but the McCartin and Roberton news was a massive storm in a teacup to be honest. We are going pretty good. Lets be positive for Rd 1!!! C'mon Sainters.

<1 day ban issued for commenting on a group of posters and baiting re the storm in a teacup>

Re: 2 x JLT Wins = Positivity

So the whisper is, that there's no truth to the whisper that both Paddy and Dylan spent the night in hospital?

And there's, in particular, no truth to the whisper that Paddy was feeling quite crook?

Is that the word?

I don’t think a bloke who missed last season with heart problems and another who has had 8 concussions in his short career BOTH spending a night in hospital as a result of fairly innocuous incidents classified as just a ‘storm in a teacup’.

I doubt their children and families are as nonchalant about it either.

Precautionary...look it up.

Sad, sad, sad...

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 10:51pm Precautionary...look it up.

Sad, sad, sad...
Tell that to Koby Stevens.

GilsAuPair

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 10:39pm I'm simply shaking my head at the negativity floating about. We just had a couple of pretty decent wins and we are looking good for Rd 1 minus Hanners and Steven who will be back pretty soon. Sorry, but the McCartin and Roberton news was a massive storm in a teacup to be honest. We are going pretty good. Lets be positive for Rd 1!!! C'mon Sainters.
Being concerned about the ongoing health of two young men is not being negative.

It just means placing long term well being over some short term spruiking and spivving of membership sales which seems to be your main concern.

Seriously...is that what we have become?

GilsAuPair

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 10:51pm Precautionary...look it up.

Sad, sad, sad...
https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictio ... precaution

1. an action that is done to prevent something unpleasant or dangerous happening

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 10:57pm Seriously...is that what we have become?
What, possibly caring more about the quality of life these players might leave the game with over winning a few football matches?

I don’t understand what you’re saying?

Anyway, back to the OP and to ignore the clear baiting up above. I'm super positive for Rd 1. C'mon Sainters!!!

Baiting? Many posters have been showing concern for the health of two players who’ve previous had major health concerns and you’ve started a thread telling them to stop being negative.

They’re not being negative, they’re just showing compassion for another human being, and critising them for it is not on.

Are you actually serious?

Geez, no wonder blokes like Barret stayed employed. The good old clickbait frenzy in play! Sharks love it!
Last edited by tedtheodorelogan2018 on Mon 11 Mar 2019 11:13pm, edited 1 time in total.

skeptic wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 8:47pm Not super encouraging from Ratten...

Paddy could have played the game out if it was for points but may not be ready for round 1
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/03/10/ ... on-scares/

They’re not saying Paddy is def right for rd1

Thanks Ratts.

Sell it whichever you want but they don’t say Paddy is a lock for round one, they say they’ll see if he’s right for round one

That is the fact.

Saying it was nothing, a storm in a tea cup is an opinion

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 11:11pm Are you actually serious?

Geez, no wonder blokes like Barret stayed employed. The good old clickbait frenzy in play! Sharks love it!
As you asked me a question I will respond.

Yes I am serious. Showing compassion is not a weakness. There are more important things in life than winning football games. It is not right to critise people for acknowkeding their emotions. It’s 2019, not 1969.

Regarding your second point, which of the following is ‘clickbait’ or not factual?
Robbo missed most of last season as a result of a heart issue.
Paddy has suffered half a dozen concussions at least and has missed many games due to this.
Both spent a night in hospital due to issues relating to these.
?

Everyone hopes they’re going to be ok, and are also allowed to acknowledge that they both might not be.

Again, no wonder Barret stays employed. 🙄

Purposeful misinterpretation of posts goes along with purposeful misinterpretation of the news I guess.

Anyway, back to the main theme. I'm super positive for Rd 1 after our 2 x positive JLT performances. Who else is?

<1 day ban: commenting on another poster>

Ted you are missing the point here completely

Yes this may have been an innocuous knock and yes they are taking an extra cautious approach and yes this may well have been a mild concussion

But mate it’s his 8th concussion in what 30 odd games? That’s an extremely high ratio and the long term effects of concussion are hardly known. Look at the US for proof

So whilst this may have been a small one it doesn’t mean naught given his history and how easily this keeps happening. It is a huge concern and there’s no point in trying to paint over it

Paddy has had far too many concussions to even be playing a contact sport. I feel for the guy, but at this stage of his life, every knock to the head region- even the slightest ones, will have a long term affect on Paddys' health. I think it is time for the club to make a big decision.

omg

gone fission

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 10:39pm I'm simply shaking my head at the negativity floating about. We just had a couple of pretty decent wins and we are looking good for Rd 1 minus Hanners and Steven who will be back pretty soon. Sorry, but the McCartin and Roberton news was a massive storm in a teacup to be honest. We are going pretty good. Lets be positive for Rd 1!!! C'mon Sainters.

<1 day ban issued for commenting on a group of posters and baiting re the storm in a teacup>
I think it is easy to get excited and carried away by two wins in what are essentially practice matches.

However, we did show some positive signs which are cause for cautious optimism and I do emphasise "cautious'.

The real test of whether this footy team has well and truly laid to rest the ghosts of 2018 will be Round 1 against the Suns.

Let's all hope we are up for it. I'm sure Richo is hoping even more than I am. His coaching career depends on it and he knows it.

My tonne of feathers is heavier than your tonne of bricks.

To the OP.

I am much, MUCH more confident than I was a week ago.

Ted I got your point. 2 players who didn't play a lot last year may not play round one so let's not make a big deal out of their absence from the team. We got two wins but more importantly for most of the games we played well. Yes we had some poor patches but over all we looked better. Positives to be found more than negatives which is a nice change

this is one crazy thread..am I allowed to say that?

bottom 4 Lock it in.