McCartin & Roberton

Harves Man

Re: McCartin & Roberton

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 8:10pm
Raph Goat Clarke wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 7:58pm I hate to post this but...

jeez I hope he is ok. This possible long term injury/retirees before the season has started is really disappointing given how optimistic the club is moving forward pushing us to finals again.
This has the potential to be absolutely diabolical for our club. If Dylan has to retire - so be it; at least he will not be at risk of further heart episodes - I for one would hate to see him Ill on the field again. But ...

He is one of the 3 highest paid players at the club and has just signed a big contract (3 yrs still left to run from memory). So, not only is he in our best 2 or 3 players - he also takes a big chunk of our cap.

I hope against hope that Dylan has a long career ahead of him with us but I have a seriously bad feeling about how this is going to end.
Yes, I have to agree Saintmatt. He is very much one of our most influential players and easily in the top 3. I also have a seriously bad feeling about this - it is pretty much a disaster for the Saints if he can't play at all.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 9:12pm
Devilhead wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 8:44pm

jeez I hope he is ok. This possible long term injury/retirees before the season has started is really disappointing given how optimistic the club is moving forward pushing us to finals again.
Since when does a Doctor decide what you can and cant do - he gives an opinion and then you are the one who decides.

Nice use of adjectives there by the Stevens to dramatise the article
Really? Are you actually being serious? If so ... wow.

I’ll tell you why the Drs opinion is important ...

If the Dr says it’s all over and Dylan decides to play on then he voids the clause in his standard AFL player contract that will enable him to receive the balance of his contract as a result of a career ending injury (eg Dane Swan breaking his foot against Sydney).

And it’s paid as a lump sum.
Fair enough Dr. Matt - but please read again - I never said the Doctor's decision wasn't important - and ultimately it is the player who decides - so i guess you could say i am right with what I said and you ..... confirmed it - so thanks! :twisted:

The tweet just assumes that Dylan will stop if the Doctor says stop but that might not be the case - even with the risks associated with his contract

Also to be honest I have no idea about player clauses and the implications behind such decisions - so I learnt something ..... so ..... wow ...... cheers again! :wink:

Devilhead wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 2:10am
Saintmatt wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 9:12pm
Devilhead wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 8:44pm

Since when does a Doctor decide what you can and cant do - he gives an opinion and then you are the one who decides.

Nice use of adjectives there by the Stevens to dramatise the article
Really? Are you actually being serious? If so ... wow.

I’ll tell you why the Drs opinion is important ...

If the Dr says it’s all over and Dylan decides to play on then he voids the clause in his standard AFL player contract that will enable him to receive the balance of his contract as a result of a career ending injury (eg Dane Swan breaking his foot against Sydney).

And it’s paid as a lump sum.
Fair enough Dr. Matt - but please read again - I never said the Doctor's decision wasn't important - and ultimately it is the player who decides - so i guess you could say i am right with what I said and you ..... confirmed it - so thanks! :twisted:

The tweet just assumes that Dylan will stop if the Doctor says stop but that might not be the case - even with the risks associated with his contract

Also to be honest I have no idea about player clauses and the implications behind such decisions - so I learnt something ..... so ..... wow ...... cheers again! :wink:
Apologies if I sounded condescending DH - not my intention. I’m just so sick of a lot of the misinformed rubbish on here (& elsewhere).

Just to be clear - this is actually (in order) a decision of (1) The Dr (2) The AFL’s insurers and (3) Dylan.

I feel really sad about this whole situation - not
so much for the players as I hope decisions will be taken out of their hands (ie players will nearly always choose to play - often as it’s all they know how to do in life) ... but mainly for the club and especially us poor bastards who have to watch us sink further from an already lowly position.

Patrick McCartin may not play in the AFL again, according to Tom Morris.

The Sportsday newsbreaker said the St Kilda young gun was weighing up the risk in playing on after he suffered yet another concussion against the Western Bulldogs on Sunday during the pre-season.

“The club will vehemently deny this, but my information is that he is strongly considering his future in the game,” Morris said.

If Paddy retires that’s 2 players in 2 years retiring from concussion related issues.

Does the club have grounds to ask for a compensation draft pick at the next draft? Say after our second round pick.

Nothing story there. Someone is thinking they may or may not do something is not exactly news. If he stays Morris will say he was thought about leaving and if he goes he will say I told you

Has it been confirmed that he actually got a concussion?

BOTH are undergoing medical assessments for the reasons the medical assessments were viewed appropriate

I would imagine the initial outcomes from these assessments will in the very first instance be conveyed to the players by the medical practitioners

And thence to the Club and the football community

We all trust the outcomes are positive - for the individuals and their (most obvious) ambitions which you could assume are in some way connected with being on an AFL List

Any other conclusions ahead of the players (and the Club) taking the community into their confidences does not deserve comment

desertsaint wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 10:24pm If paddy takes a year off its game over for him.
You're right, its over for him if he needs that sort of time off. He just simply would have missed out on way too much development.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 8:55am Has it been confirmed that he actually got a concussion?
That's a good question.

I have heard that at times Paddy has passed the concussion test, yet still felt off. Don't know if that's precisely true.

The question I ask is, is he going into shock when he gets a head knock? That is a different thing to a concussion.

Any medical people on the Forum? If so, is that a possibility?

Not sure if already posted, but Dylan will be told by Specialist if he can ever play football again on Friday!!!!!

Fingers Crossed!!!!!

The_President

Nice compo pick coming our way at the end of this season.

Former number 1 pick and potentially one of the top five paid players at the club.

Should be after our first rounder when you consider the quality/potential quality.

Vazelos wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 7:09am Patrick McCartin may not play in the AFL again, according to Tom Morris.

The Sportsday newsbreaker said the St Kilda young gun was weighing up the risk in playing on after he suffered yet another concussion against the Western Bulldogs on Sunday during the pre-season.

“The club will vehemently deny this, but my information is that he is strongly considering his future in the game,” Morris said.
I believe Tom Morris has taken a punt & fabricated this story.

I was interstate at a sporting meet over the long weekend with a family who (without stating the well known football family name) have very, very close ties to Paddy.

One family member was watching the match on their phone (as was I) when Paddy went down and were immediately in contact with Paddys family via text messages.

As of yesterday according to this person, Paddy had not contemplated or discussed with family, manager or club retirement and was still hopeful of playing round 1 or 2.

If he is finished it appears a decision has been made today, perhaps on medical advice?

It appears journos take an each way bet with these articles and either do not undertake any due diligence at all.

FWIW if Paddy were my son I would be very concerned about the affect a knock that seemed quite innocuous had on the lad, be it in the marking contest or hitting the ground. He seems to be concussed from knocks you would expect to receive and shrug off in normal circumstances in most games of football.

The_President wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 1:27pm Nice compo pick coming our way at the end of this season.

Former number 1 pick and potentially one of the top five paid players at the club.

Should be after our first rounder when you consider the quality/potential quality.
Do u get a compo pic for retirements?

The_Dud wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 3:55pm
The_President wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 1:27pm Nice compo pick coming our way at the end of this season.

nup

The Craw

if it is best for the boys health wise then retire ..... just not worth it.

As patch up .... I would throw Battle back into the forward line and look at getting Brendan Goddard back to the club if that would be possible at all.

Not Craw, CRAW!

saintly wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 4:01pm
The_Dud wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 3:55pm

nup
When the same thing happened to Sydney they didn't get a cracker, I expect we will just have to wear it also.

Gleeson article tonight

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/rob ... 514ao.html

"A decision on the playing future of St Kilda defender Dylan Roberton after a second heart issue during a match last week, is set to be made on Friday afternoon.

Roberton has met with his cardiologist and club doctors this week to analyse scans and data after his heart scare during Sunday's practice match against the Western Bulldogs and discussed his playing future with the heart problem he has..."

silverhalo

If Robbo is to give the game away, and it would absolutely be the right decision if the latest episode was heart related, it would be great if the club could keep him on in a coaching role. He is very well respected by all and I'm sure would have plenty to offer...

GilsAuPair

SaintPav wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 8:55am Has it been confirmed that he actually got a concussion?

Nah mate. Not confirmed.
More anti-Saints media BS.
Last edited by GilsAuPair on Thu 14 Mar 2019 11:13pm, edited 1 time in total.

GilsAuPair

All a media beat up! Complete crap. The media has it in for us. Probably because of Eddie!

I got word from someone in the inner inner inner inner sanctum (t74) who says all our boys are 100% healthy, firing and raring to go for a top 4 spot! Ratters has a new game plan that is sure to optimise our list strengths and shock the competition!!!!

Get those memberships while you can fellas! They are running out and tickets to the Prelim are already almost sold out!!!!!

Believe it or not but I got word from someone in the Sales department this arvo (quietly :wink: ) and even they were surprised about it!!! Word must be out inside the industry (wink wink) that we are up and about. s*** they even had a 4.59pm knock off drink! 1 minute early but hey - they have earned it! Great bunch of people in the corporate office. Very well run and passionate and professional. A real credit to Matty Finnis. A true Pro! Some of the shielas that work in there PHWOAAAR! Let's just say some of the younger single players are lucky lads.... I cant say any more....... But PM me if you want details....

Anyone who believes the click bait hungry negative tools in the media are soft cocks and not true Sainters!

Go Sainters!

Rizz64

"A further update on this.
Roberton as I said earlier is now retired.
McCartin out indefinitely and getting external advice and testing on his brain independent from club.
In my opinion on what I’ve been told very unlikely to ever play again.”

take this as you will i guess

Geez we've got a huge chunk of our salary cap being taken up by inactive/ineffective players. I wonder what the combined salary of Roberton, Hannebery, Armitage and McCartin is. My guess would be about 2.2 mil

Rizz64 wrote: Thu 14 Mar 2019 11:23pm "A further update on this.
Roberton as I said earlier is now retired.
McCartin out indefinitely and getting external advice and testing on his brain independent from club.
In my opinion on what I’ve been told very unlikely to ever play again.”

take this as you will i guess
Retired or stepped down for the year?

From saints.com

"St Kilda defender Dylan Roberton will sit out the 2019 season due to a heart condition.

A review of data from an internal device in Roberton’s chest showed a period of irregularity before it activated at the conclusion of Sunday’s JLT clash in Ballarat.

The cause of the irregularity is still unknown, with Roberton keen to explore all medical options.

The 27-year-old’s heart issue was first discovered during St Kilda’s Round 4 clash against Geelong in 2018, which forced him to miss the remainder of the season.

After extensive testing from cardiologists and a procedure to implant an internal monitor, Roberton was given the all clear to return to training.

The defender then completed a full pre-season, and after regular check-ups with cardiologists, was permitted to play with continued monitoring.

“It’s extremely frustrating because I physically feel fine, and if you exclude those two incidents, I’m as healthy as I’ve ever been,” Roberton said.

“Unfortunately, I need to listen to the professionals and take some more time out of the game.

“I still have a great desire to play at the highest level and want to make sure we look at every possibility.

“Given the club’s ability to add a player to the list, I wanted to make the call while they still had time to do so.”

guitars4

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Wed 13 Mar 2019 2:15pm
tony74 wrote: Tue 12 Mar 2019 1:42pm Paddy was fine during the second half and even after the game. It was only much later that he felt crook. As for Robbo initial thoughts are that’s it’s nothing to do with the ticker. But I reiterate , initial thoughts.
Thanks for real inside info Tony.
I've always admired your positive vibe even though I dont't agree with most of what you post but to bury your head in the sand on an issue as sensitive as this has me shaking my head . :?