GT Fears for Saints' Future

Gee whiz, Grant, maybe it's time for you to post here again, instead of venting your spleen to press about the state of the club. You're starting to become like KB when he was in exile from Richmond.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/03/27/ ... fl-future/

Re: GT Fears for Saints' Future

Well, the truth hurts.
He's got some good points.

ListManager

Sainternist wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:29pm Gee whiz, Grant, maybe it's time for you to post here again, instead of venting your spleen to press about the state of the club. You're starting to become like KB when he was in exile from Richmond.

But unlike KB GT is correct. We are in huge trouble financially. If you can't see it by now you will never see it. If our debt hits $20 mill we are gone. The AFL will step in and either merge us with North or more likely relocate us to Tassie.

NeXus Nick is back but where is Joffaboy????
twirlyhair

Really irks me that over the last 20 years, at a time when the Saints have made multiple gfs and prelims, it is our culture that is continuously questioned. Just how does our culture compare to that of the blues and the bombers. Drugs, salary cap cheating, multiple wooden spoons.....cheap shot to always have a crack at Saints.

ListManager

ListManager wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:38pm
Sainternist wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:29pm Gee whiz, Grant, maybe it's time for you to post here again, instead of venting your spleen to press about the state of the club. You're starting to become like KB when he was in exile from Richmond.

But unlike KB GT is correct. We are in huge trouble financially. If you can't see it by now you will never see it. If our debt hits $20 mill we are gone. The AFL will step in and either merge us with North or more likely relocate us to Tassie.
I tried to warn Butters back in 2003 (I think it was) at thie AGM when he announced we were abandoning Tassie. During the Q&A I said it was a very short sighted decision that will come back one day and bite the club. His answer was the coach and players don't like playing down there and cut me off and went to the next persons question. Anyone remember this from way back then? This is why I have been pushing the NZ deal. Its our last chance. China will help but if we don't get NZ up and running we are finished

Come out and beat Essendon and this talk disappears

Have hanners come on and uplift the team from round 5 and this talk disappears

Have King come in and show the potential of a future gun and this talk disappears

Footy is fundamentally a week by week proposition - you live and die by your performance

ListManager

MC Gusto wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:49pm Come out and beat Essendon and this talk disappears

Have King come in and show the potential of a future gun and this talk disappears

Footy is fundamentally a week by week proposition - you live and die by your performance
Cods wallop. A couple of wins will not make our $12 Mill debt disappear. What will it take some of our supporters to wake up?

ss1986

ListManager wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:58pm
MC Gusto wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:49pm Come out and beat Essendon and this talk disappears

Cods wallop. A couple of wins will not make our $12 Mill debt disappear. What will it take some of our supporters to wake up?
If Saintsational is representative of the entire fan base, its already terminal.

So many people either have no business/financial acumen, or live in la la land.

In the meantime, the club plants PR spinners on here to sell deception and flat out lies.

We've been on a roller coaster ride with Sheldon, Alves, GT, Lyon, and in between were the dips with Watson, Blight, Watters...if we looked at a longterm graph, the trend would NOT be upwards, but downwards, and now the dip has included Seaford back to Moorabbin with all the expense of that, the signing of AR, getting Hannas as a huge expense with potential nil benefit.
Have to wonder whether they'll ever have more pros than cons, and when will the snake ever start heading up and staying up with any strength.

It seems as though round every corner is about concerns and problems...
Supporters
Past players
Past admin
Reporters

And it’s growing.

Thomas pushed hard for us to get out of Tasmania and got his way, costing the club millions. I see no point in him constantly going public with his comments about our club. Pretty disrespectful, and I think it's time for him to button his lip. The way he's talking, it's as if every other club has got it right except St Kilda. This is utter nonsense, of course. Has he not paid any attention to Melbourne, Carlton, and Essendon over most of the past 20 years, and has he stuck the boots into The Suns yet? St Kilda's biggest issue is its financial situation, which has been long standing since Graeme Huggins' mismanagement of club finances in the early to mid 70s. On top of that was the appalling deal we got at the docklands stadium, which has cost the club around $25 million. Not every club gets a sweet deal from the AFL like Essendon, Hawthorn, Geelong, and Collingwood do, and have done for the past 25 years. We do not make $22 million (and more) a year from the pokies like those clubs do. When those licenses were handed out in the initial roll out of pokies in Victoria, that criminal Bruce Mathieson made sure the Saints barely got a piece of the action while handing out the lollies to his good mates, Jeff Kennett being one of them. The AFL is a boys club, and that club has historically frozen out the likes of us, North Melbourne, and The Bulldogs. It's all about the network. In the early days of the AFL commission, it was stacked with Essendon men, and lo and behold, who got the sweet deal at docklands while the others got screwed? Not hard to work out. This is how things a=have worked in AFL circles for a long time. The Saints have never been part of the club, and probably never will be.

twirlyhair

ss1986 wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 6:11pm

If Saintsational is representative of the entire fan base, its already terminal.

In the meantime, the club plants PR spinners on here to sell deception and flat out lies.
Lol
Yeah I'm sure the club is really worried about the dozen or so posters on SS. Lololol

Sone advice from a former fan of yours Grant.

STFU

ListManager wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 5:47pm

I tried to warn Butters back in 2003 (I think it was) at thie AGM when he announced we were abandoning Tassie. During the Q&A I said it was a very short sighted decision that will come back one day and bite the club. His answer was the coach and players don't like playing down there and cut me off and went to the next persons question. Anyone remember this from way back then? This is why I have been pushing the NZ deal. Its our last chance. China will help but if we don't get NZ up and running we are finished
New Zealand? WTF, they are into Rugby Union and cricket.

The money used to keep 18 clubs afloat is far, far less than the TV revenue generated by having 9 games each week.

ss1986

twirlyhair wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 6:35pm
ss1986 wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 6:11pm

Lol
Yeah I'm sure the club is really worried about the dozen or so posters on SS. Lololol
Au contraire twirlyhair... they do.

Received a call from the club in the offseason after they reached out.

They absolutely take into account social media feedback. It was refreshing to be able to speak with someone willing to actually listen.

It was one piece of the “admin” that I really respected.

I think he fears for his next paycheck if he doesn't give negative sound bites to the media about the saints

wally

Ok so here we are now a few years down the track and not going so good. I do believe the powers to be have honestly tried their
best but we are still struggling to climb the ladder.
What if a few years ago we took the money and ran to the gold coast, the AFL threw mega money/picks to NM to relocate, what if we took it?
We'd have money AFL assistance, no compromised drafts, some extra bits & pieces.
We'd still play probably 50% games at Etihad stadium.

New Zealand are not interested, face it.

I aim this at members who go to games, I grew up near Moorabbin ground moved to Brissie long time ago and am an interstate member so obviously
would have been great for me.

breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in breathe out, breathe in, breathe out.

They say breathing techniques help.

Cairnsman wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 7:48pm breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out, breathe in breathe out, breathe in, breathe out.

They say breathing techniques help.
How dare you not buy into the headline grabbing hysteria of GT and Barret. What is wrong with you man?! 🤣😁🤣

ausfatcat wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 7:33pm I think he fears for his next paycheck if he doesn't give negative sound bites to the media about the saints
You are probably correct.

skeptic wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 6:23pm It seems as though round every corner is about concerns and problems...
Supporters
Past players
Past admin
Reporters

And it’s growing.
If you hang around the waiting lounge of the emergency department at hospitals they say you are bound to find devastation.

Old 'Putty-Nose' should just shut the f*** up really, he's had his time, had the list to win the flag and didn't!!!!!

saintkid

saynta wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 7:52pm
ausfatcat wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 7:33pm I think he fears for his next paycheck if he doesn't give negative sound bites to the media about the saints
You are probably correct.
I'm not so sure he needs the money. Sold his Brighton home for around $10m not long ago. Just likes to stir the pot and scrutinise the club and has every right to.
Last edited by saintkid on Wed 27 Mar 2019 8:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

stonecold wrote: Wed 27 Mar 2019 8:12pm Old 'Putty-Nose' should just shut the f*** up really, he's had his time, had the list to win the flag and didn't!!!!!
hahaha !!!
that's sharp humour, like a scalpel, or even a "Lazar"
:P