Positives after round 4

We are equal top of the ladder.
Wilkie. what a rare gem our guys found there.
Paton, Looks a likely player.
Sav, Having a great year.
Billings, Acres, Gresham. Say no more,
Marshall. I already stated that he has the potential tro be our best ruckman since Ditterich. Maturing more every game.
Lonie. He has made most of us look foolish. Not quite another Milne yet.
brown. Fittest I have seen him. A good leader down back.
Seb. What can I say. Maybe he should be captain all the time. Keeps playing like that maybe the knockers will even give him a vote one day.
Parker. Is anyone tougher on our list?
Bruce. welcome back mate.
Sinclair. I knew you could tackle if you really wanted to.
Newnes. I kept the faith and have been rewarded.

Re: Positives after round 4

Improved gameplan
Improved coaching panel
Improved atitude allround

Positives also imo

Long back and on track.
And something that goes with that - heaps of mongrel and exciting to watch. When could we last say that?

Sorry. I missed long but you cannot amend ops

I don’t agree with the claims that we’re equal first. If the finals were this week we wouldn’t have a double chance.
But being 5th at this stage is a big positive compared to last year.

kosifantutti wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 5:29pm I don’t agree with the claims that we’re equal first. If the finals were this week we wouldn’t have a double chance.
But being 5th at this stage is a big positive compared to last year.
Spud said we were equal first. Good enough for me but get your point.

Are the finals being played this week - be still my heart!

Watching these young boys playing for each other. Its just great to watch them have a go and never give up

Too many to list. Great list Saynta. Great start to the year. The club needs to be congratulated.

portosaint

Hunger. It seems they're a very hard bunch to play against, the Saints. What the team seems to lack in polish is made up for with attitude. We actually look tough out there.

There were some sore Dawks on Sunday night.

No 1 postive for me. Tackling. Our tackling has been ferocious this season and it has to be because of one Billy Slater. We look like we are genuinely trying to hurt the opposition when we tackle. Parker, Steele and Long are wrecking balls but now players like Sincs, Lonie and Billings are now cracking in hard. There were a lot of sore Hawks on the bench. Quite a few Hawks were visually sore after a lot of our tackles. Also at the Bombers game they were also looking a little shell shocked. Keeping up the intensity will be hard but if we can get into the heads of the opposition before the ball even bounces, that they're in for a tough day at the office, then we are already on our way to winning the game. Perceived pressure has a flow on effect through whole teams. Knowing that you're likely to get your head driven into the dirt and the wind knocked out of you, if you dont get rid of the ball quick enough, will lead to turnovers. Our 2009 team had it in spades. It was a big reason we were so good back then. Seeing something similar happening here.

guitars4

Lot's of positives & very few negatives so as a whole a very good start to the season . We could be 4 & zip (should have beaten Freo) which would have equaled our total wins from last year. The ability to shut down quick ball movement into the opposition's forward line has been the key to our success so far IMO.

Billings, Acres, Lonie, Marshall, Bruce (ignoring last week), Wilkie, Seb (c), Newnes.

For me it’s the consistency of performance

skeptic wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 2:09am For me it’s the consistency of performance
Spot-ON! Colleague!!! Yes, the wins have been relatively close (on the scoreboard) and the footy hasn't always looked pretty....... However; the one thing that absolutely gives me grounds for optimism is the ATTITUDE toward the contest... only for a clanger or two and some wayward kicking, (IMHO) we would be 4-zip! I'm not going to cry over spilt milk, and as far as I'm concerned, getting into a habit of fighting and scrapping for the close run wins is getting into a good frame of mind for finals-type footy. Dont get me wrong, I LURVE it when we can inflict an absolute pasting on an opponent, but will be happy taking premiership points at this stage of the season. With some big guns to hopefully return, we can have grounds for optimism that the season will not be half as awful as some predicted, and some of us feared.

freely wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 4:25pm Long back and on track.
And something that goes with that - heaps of mongrel and exciting to watch. When could we last say that?
Saw Benny win a 1 on 1 marking contest against James Sicily...wow!

The_Dud wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 11:15pm Billings, Acres, Lonie, Marshall, Bruce (ignoring last week), Wilkie, Seb (c), Newnes.
Billings was willing to cop the bruises. We set the tone early with tough tackling from Parker, Long and Steele
I loved seeing DMac's commitment to his team mates with about 3 or 4 contests before halftime and immediately after his head knock. Obviously ruled out for his own safety but that's the attitude you want
Loved Lonie's willingness to defend deep in Hawks forward line. He actually spoiled 2 blokes who were a foot taller than him...😃

Premium89

Playing a great last quarter!
Tackling/hunting was great.

WILKIE.

A couple of other “positives” - we're winning despite bad kicking and with 3-4 top line players out.