Brad Scott to be announced as Saints coach in August

scallopsroe

Re: Brad Scott to be announced as Saints coach in August

Agree they will head hunt, but the Board is responsible for running a multi million dollar business and not a regional tin shed footy club. CYA is required to show all stakeholders (AFL, current listed players,Saints members, supporters and sponsors) that the right person has been screened and selected.

mad saint guy wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 1:32pm. If we actually appoint Scott I may be done with this club for the next few years

This will be a huge problem if they appoint Scott.

I don't want him as coach. But if they do appoint him it means disaffecting even more members and in heading to 2020 with a lot of even more pissed off members than they already have.

Members and supporters need hope. Appointing Scott would be pricking the balloon before it is even inflated.

I wouldn’t be too upset with Scott. I can imagine his style would be a stark contrast to Richo’s, which I think would benefit our list.

This is the most ridiculous post ever.

'A friend of mine'?
You make Damian Barrett look good.
Even giving '3 weeks' as a spicy condiment.

You are a stirrer.

Keep on inventing rumours.
You know nothing.

WellardSaint wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 2:16pm This is the most ridiculous post ever.

'A friend of mine'?

You are a stirrer.

You know nothing.
GOLD! We all know SP for the bloke he is........... all piss and wind! (but a nice guy apart from that :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: )
For what it's worth, I'll be backing WHOEVER gets the Senior Coaching gig...... it's all about the St.Kilda Footy CLUB! I'm prepared to put aside past events between Scott and our club, and give him a chance.... IF he gets the job.

santazzi

bigred wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 9:00am Yeah this would be a decision that would effect me putting up for a membership.

Sorry, but just more jobs for the boys.
Who is he related to or mates with in the club's officialdom?

BarryGrogan

bigred wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 12:23pm I don't understand how he can be considered a worthy senior coach at the moment.

Ten years. TEN YEARS he had a North.

And got them to a single, chocolate coated prelim.

The rest of that decade was mostly coated in shyte.

Why would he even be considered? WHY?
To be fair, they played finals 4 times, including two Prelims.

Also finished 9th three times (including last year with 12 wins).

bigred wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 12:23pm I don't understand how he can be considered a worthy senior coach at the moment.

Ten years. TEN YEARS he had a North.

And got them to a single, chocolate coated prelim.

The rest of that decade was mostly coated in shyte.

Why would he even be considered? WHY?
It’s a bit pessimistic but I can’t help thinking B. Scott was underwhelming. I know he has tactical nous, hardness and that North would be no easy thing - all clubs in the “Melbourne Minor League” seem to be (Melb, N.Melb, Foots, Us).

I don’t believe a word of the OP and I suspect it is just provocation. Fine, I bite. I want to know from a technical point of view why R.Shaw is doing better, and if there are things he does that are sustainable, it is absolute non-negotiable red flag for train heading to the City of Bescott.

thejiggingsaint wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 2:21pm
WellardSaint wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 2:16pm This is the most ridiculous post ever.

'A friend of mine'?

You are a stirrer.

You know nothing.
GOLD! We all know SP for the bloke he is........... all piss and wind! (but a nice guy apart from that :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: )
For what it's worth, I'll be backing WHOEVER gets the Senior Coaching gig...... it's all about the St.Kilda Footy CLUB! I'm prepared to put aside past events between Scott and our club, and give him a chance.... IF he gets the job.
I'm not. The guy is a loser. Full stop. A real dip s*** if you ask me. Humourless moron.

bigred wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 9:00am Yeah this would be a decision that would effect me putting up for a membership.

Yep totally concur
It takes a lot to stop by membership plus 4 donation to the club ....this will do it. IF this transpired it screams:

1. Pathetic management
2. Richo 2.0 in terms of coaching ability (the Guy was an abject spud at Norf and whinged non stop....even about Marvel rood Open one game....utter sook whose proven nothing).

Reason why Carlton is t come running cause they know he ain’t the answer.....IF in stumbles dumb old St Kilda then I’m not in the habit of continuing to throw bad money after worse....

Teflon wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 3:09pm

Yep totally concur
It takes a lot to stop by membership plus 4 donation to the club ....this will do it. IF this transpired it screams:

1. Pathetic management
2. Richo 2.0 in terms of coaching ability (the Guy was an abject spud at Norf and whinged non stop....even about Marvel rood Open one game....utter sook whose proven nothing).

Reason why Carlton is t come running cause they know he ain’t the answer.....IF in stumbles dumb old St Kilda then I’m not in the habit of continuing to throw bad money after worse....
I'm in the me too class here, only with me it is 9 memberships including a number of social club memberships I have been forking out for these past few years.

That will all come to a grinding halt if that prick is appointed as our next coach.

On the bright side, if it had been Carlton that smashed us on Sunday, it could of been Bolton.

Perhaps that's the rumour after round 22?

Either way, the fact a sacked coach from an equally struggling club is being rumoured is laughably damning on our incumbent.

Knight or Harvey, Voss even. The rest can get stuffed.

mad saint guy wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 1:32pm An unsuccessful long-term coach who just got fired is the last person we should be considering. If we actually appoint Scott I may be done with this club for the next few years until he is fired again. Never before in my lifetime has St Kilda been so uninspiring and so incompetent at the same time. Zero leadership from senior players, poor recruiting, poor trading, terrible off field decisions in general and no visible light at the end of the tunnel.
:(

Just give Ratten a go FFS the players love him let him free them up it’s a no brainer - we ain’t getting a big gun no one wants our money....the guys there, knows the list

IF Scott saunters in after the conjecture over his mate Lethers we are an absolute laughing stock , a shambles that ought to shuffle off to Tassie

Just give Ratts the reigns under the understanding that if somehow we land Clarkson in a year he moves under him.

I think only the appointment of Malthouse would make me angrier than that surly Scott prick.

Agree Richo has to go but let's get someone respectable who will command respect.
Ratts, Lenny, Voss, ...
... anyone but Scott.

The prospect is terrifying and I hope its not true.

Look at North after his departure. Now I admit Scott may have set that up. North's form was improving when he was still Coach.

Then again, the experts suggest that there has been substantial tinkering with gameplan and systems by Shaw. That's a worry. If Shaw had continued with a similar gameplan and systems, then you could draw the conclusion that Scott had a hand in their current form. Yet Shaw has transitioned them from a handballing team (doesn't work well in today's game) to a kicking team. Quite a significant change.

This means no one, except people intimately involved at North, really know. If Bassat is relying on info from Gubby Allan and Lethlean, then it is vital that he take into account a potential lack of objectivity from Allan and Lethlean. They may genuinely believe Scott is the man, but that assessment may not be objective.

If the Club cannot get Clarkson, Lyon or Longmire, then a vigorous process must be implemented. If Scott wants to apply, he can apply.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 3:26pm I think only the appointment of Malthouse would make me angrier than that surly Scott prick.

Agree Richo has to go but let's get someone respectable who will command respect.
Ratts, Lenny, Voss, ...
... anyone but Scott.
I'd bloody well prefer Malthouse over Scott. Three Premierships at 2 different Clubs. And he did amazingly win a Final at Carlton without making the Finals!

Sainter_Boy wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 1:32pm Don't quote me on this and you might not even believe me as I'm not a reputable 'ITK' but I have heard we are going to reassess around round 20 and if port Adelaide is not in finals contention make a play at Michael Voss as the "inner sanctum members" are interested in his skill set however that interest might not be 2 way and he may wish to stay in an assistant coaching role.
I think Voss will take a Senior gig. The situation at Port is interesting. At the moment we have Carlton & North competing with us for new Coaches. Hopefully North stick with Shaw, so its only Carlton. The word in regard to Carlton, is that they're looking at Roos as a Director of sorts overlooking a young Coach, perhaps Teague.

Worsfold has been under pressure but if Essendon's current form continues, he's safe. I think Hinkley is gone if Port don't play Finals or even win one. We don't need Essendon & Port looking for a new Coach as well. So hopefully Port make Finals and go well. I don't know how on earth Andy Goodwin is safe at Melbourne???

Crossy66

Linton Lodger wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 4:33pm
Sainter_Boy wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 1:32pm Don't quote me on this and you might not even believe me as I'm not a reputable 'ITK' but I have heard we are going to reassess around round 20 and if port Adelaide is not in finals contention make a play at Michael Voss as the "inner sanctum members" are interested in his skill set however that interest might not be 2 way and he may wish to stay in an assistant coaching role.
I think Voss will take a Senior gig. The situation at Port is interesting. At the moment we have Carlton & North competing with us for new Coaches. Hopefully North stick with Shaw, so its only Carlton. The word in regard to Carlton, is that they're looking at Roos as a Director of sorts overlooking a young Coach, perhaps Teague.

Worsfold has been under pressure but if Essendon's current form continues, he's safe. I think Hinkley is gone if Port don't play Finals or even win one. We don't need Essendon & Port looking for a new Coach as well. So hopefully Port make Finals and go well. I don't know how on earth Andy Goodwin is safe at Melbourne???
Andy Goodwin must have been moved on.... that explains why he is plumbing in the Yarra Valley. :lol:

Andy Goodwin coached Davenport in the 90s

The guy could seriously fight

Myron Gaines

A bit of noice around that Carlton are looking at Roos as DoC & Voss as head coach.

We know North want Horse. Shaw their fall back.

It’s very clear that Lethlean wants Scott but I think the combined efforts of Riewoldt & Bassett will ensure the club appoints someone appropriate & deserving. If that’s Scott so be it.

derby Street

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 8:52am Maybe Lenny Hayes can be appointed assistant so Brad Scott can fling him into a fence.

A wretched, wretched boy's club decision if true and a line in the sand for me.
Yep what he did to Lenny was as W.A.P

Crossy66

Myron Gaines wrote: Tue 09 Jul 2019 7:20pm A bit of noice around that Carlton are looking at Roos as DoC & Voss as head coach.

We know North want Horse. Shaw their fall back.

It’s very clear that Lethlean wants Scott but I think the combined efforts of Riewoldt & Bassett will ensure the club appoints someone appropriate & deserving. If that’s Scott so be it.
Out of curiosity, why is it clear lethlean wants scott?