Richo has agreed to resign <mod edit>

Re: Richo has agreed to re-sign

The Recruit wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:27pm Great custodian of our club. I really liked him as a person and how professional he was as a St.Kilda coach. The fact we have retained so many players after such a long period of struggle is a direct result of the environment and culture he was able to build as a leader of our football club.

Happy to call him a St.Kilda man. Shame he couldn't be the one to move this next gen to the finals, just isn't the right fit for what we need in 2020.

I really think he will be an asset to another footy club in the near future. Thank you and best wishes Richo.
Hear Hear

thefatdork

Shame but his time was up and we need change.
I like the way that Bassat has addressed the issue of the coach search not being “pre-determined” - making it clear that no Scott deal has been done. He also made the point that he’ll chair the selection committee- looks like he’s fixed on getting the Saints back on track.
Thanks Richo for your efforts.
Go Saints.
TFD

The_Dud wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:18pm Finally.

A year later than it should have been, but at least we can now move on.

Good bloke I’m sure, just not the job for him.
This good bloke stuff is very overrated and meaningless, if not patronising and condescending.

Highly doubt he would have lasted 6 years if he was that "good".

St Chris wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:19pm Good luck to Richo - I think in 12 months time we might look back thinking he could actually coach, but he's had plenty of time to build a successful side and he had to go.

He'll get a decent assistant role somewhere, I think this year he has redeemed his ability somewhat, if he'd left at the end of last year it might have been a bit tougher for him.

I still think Brad Scott is lined up and ready to go, and he's probably on a hiding to nothing for a few years with this list .

Yep, I've got a sneaky feeling re Brad Scott. I sincerely hope that our club does proper due diligence and goes through thorough process!

The Recruit wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:27pm Great custodian of our club. I really liked him as a person and how professional he was as a St.Kilda coach. The fact we have retained so many players after such a long period of struggle is a direct result of the environment and culture he was able to build as a leader of our football club.

Happy to call him a St.Kilda man. Shame he couldn't be the one to move this next gen to the finals, just isn't the right fit for what we need in 2020.

I really think he will be an asset to another footy club in the near future. Thank you and best wishes Richo.
Nice!

Richo is all class even to the end

//www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/st ... 5b100d77f7

"The end arrived for St Kilda coach Alan Richardson at a meeting yesterday afternoon. But even as the walls closed it wasn’t about Richo, it was about the team."

SaintPav wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:41pm

This good bloke stuff is very overrated and meaningless, if not patronising and condescending.

Well, he actually did last 6 games shy of 6 years.

Stephen Theodore wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:42pm
St Chris wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:19pm Good luck to Richo - I think in 12 months time we might look back thinking he could actually coach, but he's had plenty of time to build a successful side and he had to go.

He'll get a decent assistant role somewhere, I think this year he has redeemed his ability somewhat, if he'd left at the end of last year it might have been a bit tougher for him.

I still think Brad Scott is lined up and ready to go, and he's probably on a hiding to nothing for a few years with this list .

Yep, I've got a sneaky feeling re Brad Scott. I sincerely hope that our club does proper due diligence and goes through thorough process!
The club says it will.

https://www.saints.com.au/news/2019-07- ... on-departs

"“I also want to address the rigorous process we will now begin to find the next coach of the St Kilda Football Club.

“Speculation the club has a pre-determined position on potential candidates should be completely disregarded.

“I cannot overstate the value everyone at the football club places in strong governance, and any suggestion otherwise is simply unfounded.

“We will first put together a selection committee, which I will chair, to evaluate all possible options for the role.

“As our members would expect, we will be incredibly thorough."
Last edited by saynta on Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

saynta wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:44pm Richo is all class even to the end

//www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/st ... 5b100d77f7

"The end arrived for St Kilda coach Alan Richardson at a meeting yesterday afternoon. But even as the walls closed it wasn’t about Richo, it was about the team."
Thanks for posting, but can’t get past the paywall.

Very well put.

Laurie

I am first to admit i was a fan of Richos and unfortunately when he arrived at the club we did not have the right assistant coaches in place.
This year we got new assistants and our side was injury hit and we began our season on rhe back foot..
Well Ratten i believe is not the guy to take us forward interim yes full rime no..
As his heart is not in it.
I hope Finnis Lethlean and co. who are slowly bringing the club to its knees with also do the right thing and step down or are they wanting to be the ones who take St.Kilda to Tassie much to Gill wanting a club there.
I sense Lethlean will be rubbing his hands as now he can move forward and get the ball rolling in announcing Brad Scott as coach come end of August anotber boys
club decision like Hannebury..
FFS I am over this club you can stick the membership where the sun dont shine.
THANK YOU RICHO a true gentleman who will undoubtedly end up at another club who is run luke a business.

saynta wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:46pm

Well, he actually did last 6 games shy of 6 years.
There's that number 66

Are you saying he wasn’t a good bloke?

Who’s dancing on his grave now... :roll:

Laurie wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:56pm Well Ratten i believe is not the guy to take us forward interim yes full rime no..
As his heart is not in it.
How do you know he hasn't changed his mind?

magnifisaint wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 12:06pm Takes a lot of character to do what he did. He's a good man, but unfortunately couldn't coach.
You summed it up beautifully.

Saint wagga

I’ve got a feeling we won’t enjoy the same ‘rebound’ effect that the Roos and Blues have enjoyed. I reckon we’ll go the other way in the short term...will be absolutely delighted to be proven completely wrong!

Selection will be interesting to see if we see some of the old favs sent back to Sandy?! Interesting time at the saints, just wish I was as optimistic as say a north supporter or even the blues right now?!

Would love to see a serious broom go through the place starting with Finnis! Over to you Bassat

Laurie

Well said Saint Wagga get rid of the AFL muppetts

The_Dud wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 1:02pm

Are you saying he wasn’t a good bloke?

Who’s dancing on his grave now... :roll:

No. It's irrelevant.

AND

Calling out another naive and idiotic comment.

Ape_Man

Richo is handling himself like a champ.

ss1986

He is.....

Matt Finnis is a disgraceful operator.

<ban already in place>

Groovy Guru

Saint wagga wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 1:12pm I’ve got a feeling we won’t enjoy the same ‘rebound’ effect that the Roos and Blues have enjoyed. I reckon we’ll go the other way in the short term...will be absolutely delighted to be proven completely wrong!

Selection will be interesting to see if we see some of the old favs sent back to Sandy?! Interesting time at the saints, just wish I was as optimistic as say a north supporter or even the blues right now?!

Would love to see a serious broom go through the place starting with Finnis! Over to you Bassat
Have to agree here. I am not expecting much from the playing group.

As for Finnis ..... well the less said the better.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/07/16/ ... n-mcclure/

McClure reckons either Ratten or BScott for next coach.

ss1986 wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 1:47pm He is.....

Matt Finnis is a disgraceful operator.
Why?

“However, after significant consideration, we believe the time is right to introduce a new voice to oversee the next stage in our development and drive us forward.”

Will this "voice" be enshrined in the club's constitution ?
When will the referendum of members be held ?
Will the voice involve the club having an extra team ?

George27

Ape_Man wrote: Tue 16 Jul 2019 1:44pm Richo is handling himself like a champ.
He is indeed. I am pleased that this thread for the most part has recognised his qualities in how he has stepped down. Now is not the time to be dancing on his grave. Whether or not he is a good coach, at the very least he has departed the club in a way that allows everyone to move forward.