Trade Period Thread

Re: Trade Period Thread

SaintPav wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 5:58pm ”Just let him go...just let him go”.

Yeah, to your beloved Bulldogs, Wallet.

Flog...

https://media.whooshkaa.com/show/9121/e ... 442920.mp3
LOL...poor old goat, "give to my old club for nothing, go on. I know we asked, and he's the 11th highest output fwd in the comp and proven capable of better, but we really, really need another big key position player". Low first round is fair market value, and yes, we can easily fit him at FF next year, with Hill, Jones, Hanna, Hunter and Bytel slamming the ball down his throat, I'm sure he'd love it.

Wayne42 wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 7:49pm
saintsRrising wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 5:05pm
Saintmatt wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 1:53pm Hill was originally rated as a 2 x first rounders prior to the trade period. Hard to argue with that.
Not sure who your rating source is, but I would argue with that as only superstars of the competition are worth 2 first rounders (or at least ones as low as pick 6 and our 2020 first).

Hill is a very good player, but superstar he is not. He is also not AA etc.
Adelaide gave up 2 x first rounders for Gibbs, who is now a SANFL player. That deal knocks your theory into Top Hat.
No he actually 100% backs up what I stated. I said what two low first rounders are worth

Gibbs was never a superstar at AFL Level. Good player yes, but he was never in that top tier of players in the AFL.

The Crows overpaid for a player of his abilities. That they overpaid is part of the reason why they are now where they are at list wise.

Gibbs was not worth the trade price paid for him.

Absolutely shocking trading by the Crows.

- Carlton received pick Nos.10, 16, and 73 in the 2017 draft and the Crows' 2018 second-round pick.

- Adelaide received Gibbs, No.77 and Carlton's 2018 second-round and third-round picks.

st.byron wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 5:26pm
damienc wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 5:11pm
saintsRrising wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 5:05pm
Saintmatt wrote: Mon 07 Oct 2019 1:53pm Hill was originally rated as a 2 x first rounders prior to the trade period. Hard to argue with that.
Not sure who your rating source is, but I would argue with that as only superstars of the competition are worth 2 first rounders (or at least ones as low as pick 6 and our 2020 first).

Hill is a very good player, but superstar he is not. He is also not AA etc.
Went pretty close to AA this year.

Personally, I think Fremantle will want pick 6 and a player for Hill and 26. We can't give them any picks. We don't have any.
Wasn't in the AA squad.
Strictly speaking you are correct. However, you're being tough on B Hill. He was very unlucky not to be picked in either squad or final team. He had a great season for Freo and was one of the very best for the year. He is an A grader no doubt about it. Having him play for the Saints will make us a much better team.

Could we enter the Papley trade discussion?

If we were able to get pick 12 from the Bulldogs for Bruce and Lonie (apparently they were enquiring about one of our small forwards) could we then package up 12 and a third round pick for Papley and Jones?

Scott Lucas said on Trade Radio that Carlton was still his preferred option, but they were both aware that anything could happen in trade week.

Highly doubt the Bulldogs will go for this but if Lonie is such a terrible player and a squib, why would the Bulldogs offer us pick 12 for him as part of a swap with Bruce? It doesn't make any sense.

You can't have it both ways!

SaintPav wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 12:38pm Highly doubt the Bulldogs will go for this but if Lonie is such a terrible player and a squib, why would the Bulldogs offer us pick 12 for him as part of a swap with Bruce? It doesn't make any sense.

I don’t want it both ways, he’d make a great set of steak knives on the Bruce deal and then I as you say I wouldn’t have to watch him squib in a Saints jumper.

Don't be a tosser.

saintbob wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 12:57pm
SaintPav wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 12:38pm Highly doubt the Bulldogs will go for this but if Lonie is such a terrible player and a squib, why would the Bulldogs offer us pick 12 for him as part of a swap with Bruce? It doesn't make any sense.

I don’t want it both ways, he’d make a great set of steak knives on the Bruce deal and then I as you say I wouldn’t have to watch him squib in a Saints jumper.
what a crap comment, you can question Lonie's ability, but a squib he is not

barneyboyz

BringBackMadDog wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 2:47pm

In my opinion it's becoming quite difficult to question his ability too, actually, he's got a few mates with higher wages that should have a good hard look at how he goes about it

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
Rubyjo

barneyboyz wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 4:04pm

In my opinion it's becoming quite difficult to question his ability too, actually, he's got a few mates with higher wages that should have a good hard look at how he goes about it
If he was 2 foot taller he would be our buddy.

Sweet Lord I just saw that the trade period is open for another 8 days. How excruciating. We all know that 90% of the action happens in the last 24 hours. Given that the clubs have probably been preparing for this for months, couldn't it be limited a 3 days?

suss wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 4:46pm Sweet Lord I just saw that the trade period is open for another 8 days. How excruciating. We all know that 90% of the action happens in the last 24 hours. Given that the clubs have probably been preparing for this for months, couldn't it be limited a 3 days?
Bit excruciating isn't it.....another day passes and ........nothing happens. Hill, Ryder, Jones, Howard, Steven, Bruce......nothing happened.

I think clubs have proven at least 1 day could be slashed off trade month

Publicity

It keeps the AFL name in the media

Of more importance is that the Sheffield Shield season gets underway on Thursday

And the 20 Over side was named today

Apparently in 2017 the first trade wasn’t done till the Thursday afternoon

Rubyjo wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 4:23pm
barneyboyz wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 4:04pm

If he was 2 foot taller he would be our buddy.
Seriously, I’ve got to get me some of those rose coloured glasses you all wear.

To the top wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 6:13pm Publicity

It keeps the AFL name in the media

Of more importance is that the Sheffield Shield season gets underway on Thursday

And the 20 Over side was named today
Yep it's become a full on media event in the footy world. Trade Radio 12 hours day, live blogs reporting every detail. And in the midst of it all, plenty of advertising. I was listening to Trade Radio yesterday and there were heaps of ads for tradies' stuff. Points to the demographic listening. Maybe there's heaps of guys working away at their trade listening in.

WTF is it with the blokes on the AFL trade wrap?

Cleary, Riley and today Damien Barratt all saying the following are fair deals :

Steven for a pick in the 50's.
Bruce for pick 32.
Hill for 6 straight up.

F*** off on all counts.

st.byron wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 6:35pm WTF is it with the blokes on the AFL trade wrap?

Cleary, Riley and today Damien Barratt all saying the following are fair deals :

Bruce for pick 32.
Hill for 6 straight up.

F*** off on all counts.
✅

On AFL app it appears west coast will give Geelong 2 first round picks and 33 to Geelong for Kelly. That pick 33 will go to us for Steven. Sounds good to me

Its not enough.

bigred wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 1:00amIts not enough.
No. 33 will include a part payment of his salary. It's not a fair deal but think of it as long service leave for Jack, $600k saved, Jones in and a clean slate for all.

If the deal between Geelong and WCE for Kelly goes ahead as reported and Kelly is locked away at WCE, I wonder if that will change the landscape in the deal for Hill. Perhaps Freo would be willing to take a first rounder in the teens plus a player. GWS have 12 and 18. Maybe they'd be willing to swap 12 and 18 for 6. We could send 12 plus a player to Freo and keep 18. Maybe maybe maybe maybe. Just hurry up and get the trade period done.

st.byron wrote: Tue 08 Oct 2019 6:35pm WTF is it with the blokes on the AFL trade wrap?

Bruce for pick 32.
Hill for 6 straight up.

F*** off on all counts.

They must all have something against us...

Good article by Jake Niall on our trading ....

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/sai ... 52ytz.html

“While Essendon and Carlton's trade manoeuvres have been under the most intense spotlight, due in part to the size of those clubs and some of the names involved, the club that shapes as the most frenetic in this trade period is St Kilda.

The Saints have set themselves an ambitious agenda over the coming days. With the well-connected veteran administrator Graeme "Gubby" Allan acting as a rainmaker alongside new list manager James Gallagher, for the the first time in a long time, the club have persuaded a raft of players to nominate them as their destination.”