Young expects deal to St Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

Re: Young expects deal to st Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 10:15pm
ausfatcat wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:24pm Heraldsun is reporting

12 and 18 to Port

10 to freo and saints first next year

Hill, ryder, howard to saints

Well if that is the deal we have effectively turned Pick 6 and next year's first into Hill, Howard and Ryder.
Ryder is over the hill and Howard is not a first rounder's bootlace. If that is what's happened then that's bulls*** saints. FFS

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 10:15pm
ausfatcat wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:24pm Heraldsun is reporting

12 and 18 to Port

10 to freo and saints first next year

Hill, ryder, howard to saints

Well if that is the deal we have effectively turned Pick 6 and next year's first into Hill, Howard and Ryder.

There are eveidently a huge number of Academy, F/S and NGA players in next year's draft. So if we do not finish bottom the cataul pick will slide, potentially a lot.

Plus the Suns will get a middle-of-first-round pick in 2020, which will be selection No.11

So if we get say Pick 10 in 2020 it could slide to the late teens.

On the other hand, the reports today was that Freo were only getting 2019 picks.
Could be that other unannounced players are involved. Acres, Mackenzie, Lonie for example being traded to another club and the picks in return being bundled to create another higher pick for Freo.

linmarnic wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:07pm
chook23 wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:58pm
Yes it is overs but we just have to get this deal done or we will lose all credibility in future trades. Who will want to nominate us in the future if we can’t get desks done. Pay overs if we have to.
speaks of the old saying better to do something than nothing.....

most of the time when someone says that they make it worse

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 10:15pm There are eveidently a huge number of Academy, F/S and NGA players in next year's draft. So if we do not finish bottom the cataul pick will slide, potentially a lot.

yep that's how Sydney and GWS keep getting multiple top ten picks for 50 rnd 6 picks, making it impossible for clubs to rebuild.

Looks like GWS this year will use the 6th pick and get ANTHER top 10 pick as well through academy, who has ever heard of a grand finalist getting two top ten picks????

Re: Young expects deal to St Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

Well if all 5 land tomorrow as predicted it will be happy days.

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 11:33pm Well if all 5 land tomorrow as predicted it will be happy days.
And then we can say onya bike to the GOAT!

Secret Kiel

saintsRrising wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 11:33pm Well if all 5 land tomorrow as predicted it will be happy days.
Not if we trade Acres.

Secret Kiel wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 5:22am
Not if we trade Acres.
On the Trade show on Foxtel yesterday John Ralph said he had spoken to The manager of Acres and he was staying..

SMS

The Complicated deal

12,18 to Port for Howard, Ryder, 10 (handshake)
10, 2020 1st for B.Hill & 22
22 & Dunstan for O.Wines

Bruce for Z.Jones pick (swans to help port)
J.Steven for D.Butler pick

SMS wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:02am The Complicated deal

22 & Dunstan for O.Wines

For real??? :shock:

22 & Dunstan for O.Wines

I like the first half of that.

But Steven & Bruce for Butler & Jones is smelly.

Leo.J

SAINT-LEE wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:56pm
damienc wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 7:48pm
Laurie wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 7:25pm Definately overs.
One player will not change our side much at all as need other A graders to also come in to really have an impact.
Losing Bruce is going to hurt our side and good luck to the doggies on a good pick up
Disagree. He will make a huge difference. Hill runs all day and wills himself to the contest. He's an elite disposer of the footy so no more bombs into the forward line.

He will find a target and deliver it laser like.

Finally, He is in the minds of some former coaches and players the best wingman in the AFL.

This is a great boost to our footy club. Get excited. You should.
I reckon Hill is a good player but we have pulled a another Hanners...desperate for more elite players....we are chasing a guy who statistically had his best year in 2019 and still only beats Billings in a just a few categories just....But Hill is the A grader we think is worth sooooo much

Yet, week in and out Saints on here bitchin about Billings yet Hill is not even as efficient NOR effective as Billings....that's a STATISTICAL FACT. So now what? Mega Hill bitch fest all 2020?
http://www.afl.com.au/stats/stats-pro#/ ... ll-Bradley

https://m.afl.com.au/stats/stats-pro#/D ... lings-Jack

Billings got alot of his footy deep in defence and took plenty of marks drifting back into defence. I think Hill will compliment that really well.

So what’s the bloody trade? This is killing me!

Hoping for a second rounder coming back if indeed two firsts are out the door...

Secret Kiel

longtimesaint wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 7:53am
Not if we trade Acres.
On the Trade show on Foxtel yesterday John Ralph said he had spoken to The manager of Acres and he was staying..
I am so relieved to hear that, I know he's frustrated many supporters with teasing us with his potential and glimpses of A grade but I'm too invested now to give up and I am willing to hang on for a couple more years and risk losing his trade value.

Rocket

This might make Acres pull his finger out, knowing there was little interest in him. He needs to go to the Robert Harvey school of running and get his body in better shape. Potential but needs to work harder.

Rocket wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:57am This might make Acres pull his finger out, knowing there was little interest in him. He needs to go to the Robert Harvey school of running and get his body in better shape. Potential but needs to work harder.

I don’t know if it’s that. I reckon he needs to improve his kicking quite a bit to be up to it.

Spinner wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:59am
Rocket wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:57am This might make Acres pull his finger out, knowing there was little interest in him. He needs to go to the Robert Harvey school of running and get his body in better shape. Potential but needs to work harder.

I don’t know if it’s that. I reckon he needs to improve his kicking quite a bit to be up to it.
I don’t think his ball-handling is up to scratch. Hard hands.

22 & Dunstan for O.Wines

SMS you've got a habit of posting stuff like this, with no source or indication if it's just your fantasy, and when people ask you about it, you don't respond.

BarryGrogan

Secret Kiel wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:46am
Not if we trade Acres.
I am so relieved to hear that, I know he's frustrated many supporters with teasing us with his potential and glimpses of A grade but I'm too invested now to give up and I am willing to hang on for a couple more years and risk losing his trade value.
I have never seen a impse of A-Grade from Acres.

I reckon us Saints fans have forgotten what A-Grade actaully looks like.

st.byron wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 9:19am

22 & Dunstan for O.Wines

SMS you've got a habit of posting stuff like this, with no source or indication if it's just your fantasy, and when people ask you about it, you don't respond.
What's that phrase on a broken clock again?!

Lethers was adamant no future first so I’d be disappointed if it turns out one is included

BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 9:25am
Secret Kiel wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 8:46am
Not if we trade Acres.
I have never seen a impse of A-Grade from Acres.

I reckon us Saints fans have forgotten what A-Grade actaully looks like.
Absolutely.

I recall supporters being astonished with Hind’s delivery into the forward line this year, which was excellent but is really football 101. We even get excited when we just get the basics right.

Acres, Newnes Mackenzie and others have all got a huge dose of reality this trade period. No one wants them even as stake knives. So this season they are playing for their careers. Ratten called it out that we have too many non AFL quality players in our team and the get better or go

Only player I feel for us brown who was our best back last year

This just posted on The Age trade blog. Sounds like they're haggling over whether we give them next year's first or something else.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/liv ... 530m5.html

Saints talks reach delicate stage
By Peter Ryan

Negotiations over Brad Hill, Paddy Ryder and Dougall Howard joining St Kilda have reached a delicate stage as the Dockers, the Saints and Port Adelaide continue to thrash out a deal to satisfy all three clubs.

At this stage Port Adelaide's pick 10, Ryder and Howard could head the Saints' way in exchange for picks 12 and 18, although that has by no means been finalised, with sources suggesting negotiations remain ongoing.

The Saints hope Port's pick 10 will lay the foundation for Hill to depart Fremantle with the Dockers returning to the negotiating table to get the best deal for their club despite being disappointed with St Kilda for trading away pick six last Thursday in exchange for the Giants' picks 12 and 18.

The Dockers obviously want more than pick 10 for the three-time premiership wingman, who has two years remaining on his contract, and if they can land St Kilda's future first-round pick in the deal that would be a big win for the team. However, that will take some work, with the Saints valuing their future first-round pick highly even with Monday's news that young forward Ben King had extended his commitment to the Suns until the end of 2022.

In an even draft, picks six, 10 and a high future pick would be a great result for the Dockers, while the Saints' wisdom in splitting pick six would also be revealed. Given Port's success at last year's national draft, 12, 18 and 29 would be a good hand too, with the possibility alive to swap picks right up until the end of the national draft.

DJ Higgins wrote: Tue 15 Oct 2019 9:40am Acres, Newnes Mackenzie and others have all got a huge dose of reality this trade period. No one wants them even as stake knives. So this season they are playing for their careers. Ratten called it out that we have too many non AFL quality players in our team and the get better or go

Only player I feel for us brown who was our best back last year

No idea why you are including Acres in that group reports are he never wanted to go anywhere and wouldn't be part of a trade.