Was this our best win ever?

jaxons

Was this our best win ever?

Re: Was this our best win ever?

I ran onto the grd.......my feet didn't touch the grd.

The hatred shown towards Plugger by the Swans fans was unbelievable..worse than Vic Park.

the barstards were blowing smoke out of his A$%$e a very short time later.

The hypocrisy of football..

and yes one of the best.

Didn't Plugger give the big "up yours" fist to the Sydney fans that game? And then transferred to Sydney barely a season later?

Darth Vader

This was a beauty, but when you’ve only won one Premiership it’s pretty hard to call any other win the greatest. Best I saw was the 97 Prelim. Beat the defending premiers to make our first GF in 26 years. Great night.

robbie muir

Either the 97 Prelim or the 2009 home and away game against Geelong.

yep, one of the best, the two above as well, and i really, really enjoyed the last five minutes of harvey's 350th in perth.

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 29 Oct 2019 11:29pm Didn't Plugger give the big "up yours" fist to the Sydney fans that game? And then transferred to Sydney barely a season later?
Didn’t he take aim at the old people’s heads when he ran into an open goal?

The Fireman wrote: Tue 29 Oct 2019 10:46pm I ran onto the grd.......my feet didn't touch the grd.

The hatred shown towards Plugger by the Swans fans was unbelievable..worse than Vic Park.

the barstards were blowing smoke out of his A$%$e a very short time later.

The hypocrisy of football..

and yes one of the best.
The loudest booing came from a racist 14 year old indigenous kid visiting Sydney.

jaxons wrote: Tue 29 Oct 2019 10:41pm
Yep. And I was there. That fool Barrassi was the main culprit
Took Frawley's opponent away and parked him in front of Lockett in the last quarter.
Dannty had a ball kicking the ball over that guy;s head for Plugger to mark.
Cost us Plugger in the long run though as that greedy prick who I called a fool, coveting our full forward from that moment on. :cry:

I remember hugging a very drunk Molly Meldrum whilst leaving the ground. :D
Last edited by saynta on Wed 30 Oct 2019 11:06am, edited 2 times in total.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 7:01am
shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 29 Oct 2019 11:29pm Didn't Plugger give the big "up yours" fist to the Sydney fans that game? And then transferred to Sydney barely a season later?
Didn’t he take aim at the old people’s heads when he ran into an open goal?
Yep, tried to decapitate that white headed moron who jumps in the circle when the swine as singing their victory song.

Pity he missed.
Last edited by saynta on Wed 30 Oct 2019 1:58pm, edited 1 time in total.

robbie muir wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 12:11am Either the 97 Prelim or the 2009 home and away game against Geelong.
Always been partial to the win against Adelaide in the 05 finals... or Rob Harvey night as I know it

skeptic wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 1:08pm
robbie muir wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 12:11am Either the 97 Prelim or the 2009 home and away game against Geelong.
Always been partial to the win against Adelaide in the 05 finals... or Rob Harvey night as I know it
Oooh yes, the 05 finals win in Adelaide was special.
The 09 H&A win against Geelong was a ripper game to watch.

The 94 win in Syd was an ordinary game of footy - but definitely our best come from behind win.

Enjoyed the big wins in finals more than anything and close second are those come from behind wins...also got a nice 'up yours' feeling when we stuck it up Toss Lyon this year and helped to end his coaching days

Were we really 42 points down with 9 min to go on the clock?

Amazingballs...

Zed wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 3:41pm

The 94 win in Syd was an ordinary game of footy - but definitely our best come from behind win.
What about the match against the Doggies in 2015 - 55 points down against the team who would win a Flag in two seasons time?
We also came from 10 goals down to beat Hawthorn many moons ago too.

Best wins in my lifetime:
97 Prelim Final vs North
71 Prelim Final vs Richmond
05 Qualifying Final vs Adelaide in Adelaide
2010 Qualifying Final vs Geelong
1992 Elimination Final vs Collingwood

Against Sydney in 94... really

Brisbane 04
Geelong 09

Clearly better

samuraisaint wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 5:58pm

What about the match against the Doggies in 2015 - 55 points down against the team who would win a Flag in two seasons time?

Yeah, I reckon this was the better win. The game against the Swans was squalid until our fight back. The Bulldogs game was a stunner, the Bulldogs in red hot form. We fought back from 50 odd points, they pulled away again to a four goal lead and we came again. Amazing game.

Beating Melbourne a couple of seasons back when Joey popped it through with seconds to play.

Was this the same game Peter Caven got in the way of Pluggers lead?

Toy Saint wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 8:04pm
Was this the same game Peter Caven got in the way of Pluggers lead?
Yep.thought plugger had killed him actually.

samuraisaint wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 5:58pm

Best wins in my lifetime:
97 Prelim Final vs North
71 Prelim Final vs Richmond
05 Qualifying Final vs Adelaide in Adelaide
2010 Qualifying Final vs Geelong
1992 Elimination Final vs Collingwood
66 grannie does tke some beating though

oboe

I go a bit further back than most of you.

A game against Richmond in 1975 - maybe Round 10. Half time scores Richmond 9 - 8 62 to us 1 -8 14. Dad wanted to leave at half time - me, I convinced him to stay - we ended up winning by a couple of goals.

Others that come to mind:

1976 - beating Hawthorn at Princes Park after trailing by 45 points half way through the third quarter (Paul Callery knocked out).
1979 - Round 22 - beating Bluescum at Moorabbin.
1980 at Moorabbin - beating Essendon and seeing Phil Carman headset the Umpire.
1992 beating Collingwood by 1 point.

Many others, but these happened when I was young, and over 25 years ago.

round 1 1979 win against the hawks sucked. was the first game i saw the saints play and i ended up changing teams by half time. bugger.

oboe wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 12:32am I go a bit further back than most of you.

A game against Richmond in 1975 - maybe Round 10. Half time scores Richmond 9 - 8 62 to us 1 -8 14. Dad wanted to leave at half time - me, I convinced him to stay - we ended up winning by a couple of goals.

Others that come to mind:

1976 - beating Hawthorn at Princes Park after trailing by 45 points half way through the third quarter (Paul Callery knocked out).
1979 - Round 22 - beating Bluescum at Moorabbin.
1980 at Moorabbin - beating Essendon and seeing Phil Carman headset the Umpire.
1992 beating Collingwood by 1 point.

Many others, but these happened when I was young, and over 25 years ago.
I think we beat the scum in the last round the previous year. 1979 was a year from hell..just 3 wins and a percentage of 64