Was this our best win ever?

Re: Was this our best win ever?

desertsaint wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 1:42am round 1 1979 win against the hawks sucked. was the first game i saw the saints play and i ended up changing teams by half time. bugger.
Just 2 more wins for the remainder of the season.

Terrible season. Horrific era.

casey scorp

Lots of great memories. Plus the Nicky Winmar game at VP deserves a mention.

2009 Prelim the best for pure ecstacy in my lifetime.

But that Sydney game is the best comeback I've ever seen, by any team, in any sport.

Interesting that people talk of "best wins" usually involving some kind of miracle comeback, or extremely hard-fought victory.

I'd add Outstanding Performances. These are the best of the AFL era (+1989) that I can remember of the top of my head.

Miracle comebacks
1994 - Swans (Plugger game)
1997 - Swans (22 points down in Q4)
1998 - West Coast (Gavin Mitchel kicks sealer)
1999 - Geelong (at Geelong, 25 points down in 4th Quarter)
2001 - Hawthorn (Barry Hall after the siren)
2015 - Dogs (55 points down in Q3)

Hard Fought
1989 - Carlton (Lockett's 10th goal v Silvagni to win it)
1992 - Collingwood (Davenport's snap to win it)
1993 - Holding off top-of-the-table North Melbourne on a Friday night at the MCG when Longmire (6 goals) and Adrian McAdam (5 goals) looked unstoppable
1994 - (Harvey kicks miracle boundary goal against GF-bound Geelong)
2004 - Brisbane (Troy Schwarze's winner)
2005 - Adelaide final (against all odds)
2009 - Geelong H&A

Outstanding Performances
1991 - Knocking off premiers-to-be Hawthorn at Princes Park by 26 points.
1991 - The perfect game? Defeating Adelaide (3-3 at the stage) by 131 points in Lockett's sensational comeback. An astonishing display. 7.3 to 0.1 at Qtr Time.
1992 - Absolutely smashing Hawthorn at Waverley Park by 75 points as Lockett kicked his 100th.
1993 - The Winmar game at Victoria Park was an amazing win (Gilbert McAdam at his best)
1995 - Obliterating Carlton on a mud heap at Waverley in one of only two defeats they copped all year.
1996 - Ansett Cup GF. I guess you can't count it, but if you could, I'd say I've never seen a better performance against a formidable opponent.
1997 - Preliminary Final win over North Melbourne.
2005 - Record 139 point win over Brisbane. Milne kicks 11. Revenge for 2004 finals' humiliation.
2017 - Demolishing Richmond in 2017 (before they won the flag).

Will update as more come to mind.

There was a win against North Melbourne at Arden St. in the late 70s, where we were done, and managed a controversial after the siren goal to steal the game. Heart breaking for North fans. One of the very few, if only games I went to at Arden St.

saynta wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 10:07pm
samuraisaint wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 5:58pm
Zed wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 3:41pm
skeptic wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 1:08pm
robbie muir wrote: Wed 30 Oct 2019 12:11am Either the 97 Prelim or the 2009 home and away game against Geelong.
Always been partial to the win against Adelaide in the 05 finals... or Rob Harvey night as I know it
Oooh yes, the 05 finals win in Adelaide was special.
The 09 H&A win against Geelong was a ripper game to watch.

The 94 win in Syd was an ordinary game of footy - but definitely our best come from behind win.

What about the match against the Doggies in 2015 - 55 points down against the team who would win a Flag in two seasons time?
We also came from 10 goals down to beat Hawthorn many moons ago too.

Best wins in my lifetime:
97 Prelim Final vs North
71 Prelim Final vs Richmond
05 Qualifying Final vs Adelaide in Adelaide
2010 Qualifying Final vs Geelong
1992 Elimination Final vs Collingwood
66 grannie does tke some beating though
Before my time. But the drawn GF 2010 had some memorable moments but they are very bittersweet, hence it doesn't make my list.

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 8:10pm There was a win against North Melbourne at Arden St. in the late 70s, where we were done, and managed a controversial after the siren goal to steal the game. Heart breaking for North fans. One of the very few, if only games I went to at Arden St.
Kick after the siren right?
Did you get to the draw in 1980 when we had to win to avoid the wooden spoon, and the players would get a trip to Hawaii courtesy of Lindsay Fox?
(Fitzroy lost by 4 points to Carlton on the same day so we avoided the wooden spoon anyway - but the players didn't get the trip to Hawaii because we didn't win :lol: )

What about this spectacular first quarter demolition job on the reigning premiers.

8 3 51 to 3 behinds.

samuraisaint wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 9:19pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 8:10pm There was a win against North Melbourne at Arden St. in the late 70s, where we were done, and managed a controversial after the siren goal to steal the game. Heart breaking for North fans. One of the very few, if only games I went to at Arden St.
Did you get to the draw in 1980 when we had to win to avoid the wooden spoon, and the players would get a trip to Hawaii courtesy of Lindsay Fox?
(Fitzroy lost by 4 points to Carlton on the same day so we avoided the wooden spoon anyway - but the players didn't get the trip to Hawaii because we didn't win :lol: )
The whole 1980 season is one of crazy mystery as a lapsed fan. How could we draw with Richmond early in the season and them let them kick something like 250 points later in the season and beat us by some ridiculous triple figure margin before conceding over 200 to the Roos the following week or soon after?

SaintPav wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 9:42pm What about this spectacular first quarter demolition job on the reigning premiers.

8 3 51 to 3 behinds.

One of the best quarters of footy I've seen from St Kilda. We nearly let that one slip too!

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 10:19pm
samuraisaint wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 9:19pm
The whole 1980 season is one of crazy mystery as a lapsed fan. How could we draw with Richmond early in the season and them let them kick something like 250 points later in the season and beat us by some ridiculous triple figure margin before conceding over 200 to the Roos the following week or soon after?
Because we disgracefully sacked one of the most charismatic and gifted coaches the club has ever had in Mike Patterson the week before ( as well as others) and the club brought in Jezza as captain-coach the week we were due to play Richmond at the MCG.
New coach syndrome.
The later match you were talking about was against Richmond in Sydney at the SCG before it became a VFL venue. What happened that day is what has always happened to St Kilda when we play any game in a new frontier - whether it be Sydney, Tassie, New Zealand or China - we completely balls it up. Poor preparation and incompetent strategic planning.

Kilda

It was in that incredible 1978 season. Robert Elliott kicked a goal after the siren (some thought it was touched on the line).

Kilda wrote: Fri 01 Nov 2019 11:42pm
It was in that incredible 1978 season. Robert Elliott kicked a goal after the siren (some thought it was touched on the line).
The siren went and R Elliott had the shot after the siren from well beyond 50 (no arc in those days).
People were streaming onto the ground including members of the cheersquad behind the goal.
Elliott had to take his kick quickly. The ball fell short and landed in the goalsquare where somehow it bounced through the goals without (according to the goal umpire) anyone touching it. There is no doubt that if people hadn't jumped the fence a defender would easily have intercepted it.
I think we were 21 points down at something like the 28 minute mark (largely due to woeful inaccuracy) but then we stormed home with 4 goals to snatch an amazing win.

Probably the most up and down year in our history with some dreadful losses, our highest ever score, some big wins, and a barnstorming finish that left us half a game out of the finals!

My favorite game of all time was definitely the 1989 R2 clash against Caaaarlton.

We battled hard all day and deserved to win when that rodent Fraser Murphy snapped a goal to put The Paperbaggers in front after the 30 minute mark.

All seemed doomed.
Then from the centre bounce the tap out went to Daniels who handballed to Winmar on the burst who could have bombed it but instead passed it to Plugger who took a pressure mark out on the scoreboard flank.
Plugger went back and from 50m on the boundary kicked his TENTH goal.

His double fisted salute as it sailed through is probably the most iconic photo of him ever.

Moorabbin went ABSOLUTELY BESERK!!
It was total chaos.

Easily the most exciting moment EVER at Moorabbin and when the siren went there wasn't a dry eye or a non hoarse voice anywhere in the stands and especially in the Animal Enclosure.
After the game it was a long queue to get into the Social Club where the jubilation continued unabated.

oldie60

Kilda wrote: Fri 01 Nov 2019 11:42pm
Great win which put us back on track after winning the first four games we played Essendon at Moorabbin Ditterich, Sidebottom and Booth reported Carl went walkabout up in the hills. The North game got us back and we beat every team team above us after that. Could have and should have won the flag under Swamp Fox Patterson. Perfectly balanced team.

I have been following the Saints for 60 years since I was 10 y.o. And one of the most memorable for me was back in 1961.
We played Richmond on a clear sunny day that was great for scoring and on this day our backline was impassable.
We won 12.19 (91) to 0.08 (8) by 83 points.
Backline was Walsh, Howell, Annand
Guyatt, Roberts, Guy
A very long time ago but I remember it well.
The team that year should have won the flag as we beat Hawthorn (premiers), as well as Melbourne and Footscray during the year ( the other finalists)
The second last round we had to play at the very tiny Glenferrie oval and Hawthorn went the bash.
Subsequently 4 or 5 of our best players were injured for the finals.

Kilda

longtimesaint wrote: Sat 02 Nov 2019 12:30pm I have been following the Saints for 60 years since I was 10 y.o. And one of the most memorable for me was back in 1961.
We played Richmond on a clear sunny day that was great for scoring and on this day our backline was impassable.
Guyatt, Roberts, Guy
The team that year should have won the flag as we beat Hawthorn (premiers), as well as Melbourne and Footscray during the year ( the other finalists)
The second last round we had to play at the very tiny Glenferrie oval and Hawthorn went the bash.
Great memories! Would I be right in saying that this was the last time a VFL/ AFL team was held goalless?

Great match! The ‘97 Prelim against the Roos ranks right up there as one of my favourite times at the footy.
Round 14 2009 against the Cats... another favourite day at the footy. ‘92 MCG v Collingwood.... Round 11 maybe.... another favourite day.... awesome game!

longtimesaint wrote: Sat 02 Nov 2019 12:30pm I have been following the Saints for 60 years since I was 10 y.o. And one of the most memorable for me was back in 1961.
Guyatt, Roberts, Guy
I was in the Saints rooms at half time in that match. It resembled a hospital causality ward. Heaps of players were being given pain killer injections. I remember Eric Guy telling the medicos to "f*** off".

They were a filthy side, those hawks with Brendon Edwards being up there with the worst offenders of all time. A thug, pure and simple.

I remember Ian Drake being livid with rage.

saynta wrote: Sat 02 Nov 2019 1:11pm
Guyatt, Roberts, Guy
I was in the Saints rooms at half time in that match. It resembled a hospital causality ward. Heaps of players were being given pain killer injections. I remember Eric Guy telling the medicos to "f*** off".

They were a filthy side, those hawks with Brendon Edwards being up there with the worst offenders of all time. A thug, pure and simple.

I remember Ian Drake being livid with rage.
I was at the match and remember being squeezed into the outer of that ground that was not fit to host a senior match.
Not only were the Hawks a filthy side but their supporters were obnoxious.
I’m not sure if they played there much after that.

The day they called us animals.

one point

Guyatt, Roberts, Guy
I remember that game well. My lasting memory of the game was of a huffing and puffing Bull Richardson (Matthews’s dad) wheezing his way around the ground.
Until I checked the records a few years back I often wondered if my recollection that we had kept Richmond goalless for the game was just my wishful imagination.

One for the ages.

Wouldn't the game the club awarded players with the saints crest be our best game ever?

https://www.saints.com.au/news/2019-01- ... mortalised

here's the short version won by 14 points

INJURIES:

Matt Cave (eye gash), Bill Mohr (broken ribs), Clarrie Hindson (broken ankle), Roy Bence (concussion), Bill Downie* (broken thumb), Jack George* (ankle), Doug Bourne* (calf), Billy Roberts* (concussion), Jack Holden* (ankle), Jack Anderson* (leg), Stewart Anderson* (knocked out)

keep in mind the bench situation in this period of just a 19th man

jaxons

evertonfc wrote: Thu 31 Oct 2019 6:46pm Interesting that people talk of "best wins" usually involving some kind of miracle comeback, or extremely hard-fought victory.

I'd add Outstanding Performances. These are the best of the AFL era (+1989) that I can remember of the top of my head.

Miracle comebacks

Hard Fought
1993 - Holding off top-of-the-table North Melbourne on a Friday night at the MCG when Longmire (6 goals) and Adrian McAdam (5 goals) looked unstoppable
2009 - Geelong H&A

Outstanding Performances
1991 - The perfect game? Defeating Adelaide (3-3 at the stage) by 131 points in Lockett's sensational comeback. An astonishing display. 7.3 to 0.1 at Qtr Time.
1992 - Absolutely smashing Hawthorn at Waverley Park by 75 points as Lockett kicked his 100th.
1993 - The Winmar game at Victoria Park was an amazing win (Gilbert McAdam at his best)
1995 - Obliterating Carlton on a mud heap at Waverley in one of only two defeats they copped all year.
1996 - Ansett Cup GF. I guess you can't count it, but if you could, I'd say I've never seen a better performance against a formidable opponent.
2005 - Record 139 point win over Brisbane. Milne kicks 11. Revenge for 2004 finals' humiliation.

Will update as more come to mind.
Superb list of games most available on the archive channel.

Miracle comebacks

Hard Fought

2009 - Geelong H&A

Outstanding Performances