This Sunday

Secret Kiel

Re: This Sunday

On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.

And don't misconstrue that as me not being 100% supportive and active in helping grow female participation. I'm just highlighting the economic decision making behind the explosion of elite female comps in the past 5 or so years.

NextYear wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:16pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 09 Feb 2020 12:27pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 09 Feb 2020 11:30am Can we change the title of the thread to 'AFLW Saints this Sunday'? So all those who are disinterested can just move on with their lives.
great idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
So how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.
Try 11th.

But trust me, he has no interest in it, or so he feels the need to keep telling us...

The_Dud wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 10:05am
Furphy wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 8:37am
The_Dud wrote: Sun 09 Feb 2020 4:24pm A lot of frail masculinity floating round this thread!
What a sexist remark (and tired cliche) I'm so threatened by a competition that has free admission and struggles to kick two goals in an entire game.
Ok boomer.

Another tired cliche. must be something in those 'tide pods' ?

hey furph

Love the avatar !

what period is that from ?

Furphy wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:44pm
The_Dud wrote: Sun 09 Feb 2020 4:24pm A lot of frail masculinity floating round this thread!
What a sexist remark (and tired cliche) I'm so threatened by a competition that has free admission and struggles to kick two goals in an entire game.
Ok boomer.
Tired cliche? Nah, don’t think so. But I understand why you would want to pretend so.

Sexist 1970s gender roles, now there’s a tired cliche. 👍

Maybe you could expand a bit on this so called ‘agenda’ the AFL is pushing and why you are so against it, and we can see where everyone sits?

Secret Kiel wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:17pm On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.

And don't misconstrue that as me not being 100% supportive and active in helping grow female participation. I'm just highlighting the economic decision making behind the explosion of elite female comps in the past 5 or so years.
Doubles the amount of people paying tax? Tax payments are scaled to income, so what is the benefit? Having more people employed doesn't create more tax, it reduces income rates and increases competition for jobs.

CQ SAINT wrote: Sun 09 Feb 2020 11:30am Can we change the title of the thread to 'AFLW Saints this Sunday'? So all those who are disinterested can just move on with their lives.
great idea... everyone please tag all future threads pertaining to the AFLW with "AFLW" so we can all avoid them.
Thanks in advance.
So how come you keep coming back to this thread? Must be your sixth post on a thread you are trying to avoid.
just to make sure that it sinks in about tagging the threads

The_Dud wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:24pm
Thanks in advance.
Try 11th.

But trust me, he has no interest in it, or so he feels the need to keep telling us...
13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20 :)

The_Dud wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:21pm
Furphy wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:44pm
Ok boomer.
Tired cliche? Nah, don’t think so. But I understand why you would want to pretend so.

Sexist 1970s gender roles, now there’s a tired cliche. 👍

Maybe you could expand a bit on this so called ‘agenda’ the AFL is pushing and why you are so against it, and we can see where everyone sits?
Are you really going to try and compare the Boomers to the Millenials? Seriously. You speak of 1970s gender roles, what about early 20th century authoritarian socialism. Was a disaster the first time, so let's do it again.

The Fireman wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm
Thanks in advance.
Try 11th.

13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20 :)

shitty and disinterested

beautiful

thats extra cool 8-)

this goes with that at Suzannes

Secret Kiel wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:17pm On pure economics, more elite female sport is akin to the government wanting more woman in the workforce, it doubles the amount of people paying tax and significantly increases consumption.

I thought the AFLW was losing money hand over fist.

Reputation management/marketing 101: The AFL are using it as a vehicle and a brand extension to promote the parent AFL brand because that’s where all the money is. They want to be known as the good corporate citizen. There’s nothing virtuous about this at all; it’s business.

It’s also political but let’s not go there...

Great athletes by the way but it’s practically a different game so I don’t know what the complaints are all about. It should be judged on its own merits.

asiu wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 4:03pm

shitty and disinterested

beautiful

thats extra cool 8-)

:lol: :lol:

Secret Kiel

SaintPav wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 4:33pm

I thought the AFLW was losing money hand over fist.

Reputation management/marketing 101: The AFL are using it as a vehicle and a brand extension to promote the parent AFL brand because that’s where all the money is. They want to be known as the good corporate citizen. There’s nothing virtuous about this at all; it’s business.

It’s also political but let’s not go there...

Great athletes by the way but it’s practically a different game so I don’t know what the complaints are all about. It should be judged on its own merits.
It's similar to economic stimulation through immigration whereby the ROI is from the second generation because the first generation required significant financial assistance to settle and establish a foothold. So just like when immigration numbers were doubled around 2005, we are only now seeing the children from the immagrants of that time enter the workforce and provide the government with an ROI. AFLW is a long game in terms of financial independence.

And totally agree on great athletes and being a totally different game and if one does judge it on its own merits it actually is great to watch. I like the slower speed at which the game is played at.

what else ya got ?

(thats a dorothy dixer)

share your pain
Last edited by asiu on Mon 10 Feb 2020 5:24pm, edited 1 time in total.

The Fireman wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm 13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20 :)
quick question fireman
are you currently married?

he’s purchased this winner as her Valentines pressie !!

i struggle to be positive
that there's any sugar at the end of that rainbow

sunsaint wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 5:24pm
The Fireman wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm 13th.. actually I'm ejoying telling everyone how disinterested I am I may hit 20 :)
quick question fireman
are you currently married?
hmm very personal ?? why do you ask ?

just spitting in the wind - seeing which way it blows

sunsaint wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 6:31pm just spitting in the wind - seeing which way it blows
careful you don't spit into it.

asiu wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 4:03pm
The Fireman wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 2:59pm
Thanks in advance.
Try 11th.

shitty and disinterested

beautiful

thats extra cool 8-)

Errr its .... Sussan's :evil:

asiu wrote: Mon 10 Feb 2020 1:52pm hey furph

Love the avatar !

what period is that from ?
It’s got a 1930s look to it, but a ‘google’ search describes it as a “1950 Argus badge” I reckon if the sainters brought that badge back as a lapel pin it would sell like hot cakes.

yep

i’d buy one

edit
(probably buy 10 , knowing how i do things)
Last edited by asiu on Tue 11 Feb 2020 12:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

outside66

Whilst we didn't get the result we were after, I reckon it was a fantastic day! It had a real festival-like feel and everyone looked like they were having a fun time. There are a few things for the club to improve upon but that's to be expected after their first go at it. I can't wait for next weeks treat with the lads on Thursday then back again when the woman take on the Dee's!

Also, I had myself a good chuckle at some of the knuckle-draggers that have popped up in this thread. Unbelievable but not surprising really. Would hate to be a woman in those households...

outside66 wrote: Tue 11 Feb 2020 10:35am Whilst we didn't get the result we were after, I reckon it was a fantastic day! It had a real festival-like feel and everyone looked like they were having a fun time. There are a few things for the club to improve upon but that's to be expected after their first go at it. I can't wait for next weeks treat with the lads on Thursday then back again when the woman take on the Dee's!

Also, I had myself a good chuckle at some of the knuckle-draggers that have popped up in this thread. Unbelievable but not surprising really. Would hate to be a woman in those households...
Maybe some of your "knuckle-draggers" are women? My wife is also a Saints fan and cannot watch AFLW. Maybe some fans are more discerning and wish to watch quality sport, and don't blindly follow a low quality but strongly promoted commercial vehicle just because they wear the red, white and black.

I have also had a good chuckle on here because apparently those that have no interest in watching AFLW are:

emasculated individuals
against the AFLW product
not loyal Saints supporters
knuckle draggers

Quite funny really. I think some of the knuckle dragging is on the other foot. Good luck to those who enjoy watching AFLW, and good luck to the team, but I have better things to do with my time, and will stick to elite high quality sport.

lol @ knuckle draggers

an oldie but a goodie