What was your favourite St Kilda season?

Not necessarily our best win-loss, but just a season that really lifted and excited you.

Re: What was your favourite St Kilda season?

having always followed the sainters from afar
i yearned the full winter experience in melbourne

only got to moorabbin once
we stormed home against the dogs
to lose by a point

got out on the ground after the game
took some turf with me back to sincity

got to melbs for blighties first game
we won that ‘n i saw some ripper games at the SCG
but

needed to live a full season in melbourne

had had a reserved seat with Barks on Level1
‘n Social Club
(running as a donation basically for years)

i landed from the apricot orchards of southern tassy
into melbourne on the saturday of our first game against the swans at the dome
i left to finally get back to sincity
on the wednesday after the granny loss to the catters

thanx Aok + Barks

that season was surreal

winning that prelim against the doggies
knowing , we were in the granny

sensational

except for the result
‘n living in footscray

that was satisfying living

asiu wrote: Thu 26 Mar 2020 11:45pm

only got to moorabbin once
we stormed home against the dogs
to lose by a point

i landed from the apricot orchards of southern tassy

winning that prelim against the doggies
knowing , we were in the granny

sensational
So 2009!

What season was the Bulldogs game?
I thought it was this
but we won that...and Im gonna watch it now! thanks

Just some of the seasons I have read about make me curious.

After the dreadful 50s, we start at the Junction and lose the first two games. 30,000 fans watching the first. But we fight back. We finish third! We keep Richmond to 0.8.8 at teh final siren at the Junction later in the season. Yabby must have been really doing his magic.

2004 for sure. So much talent, such an exciting game style and was promised to be the start of a long successful era

1987 was a good season, Plugger coming of age and just missing finals I think. Lots of promise.

2004 was exciting to watch and the most talent I’ve even see at StKilda. So much promise, everyone one believed we were on the verge of a dynasty.

2009 less exciting that 04 but pure domination and a team and coach at the top of their game

shanegrambeau wrote: Thu 26 Mar 2020 11:17pm Not necessarily our best win-loss, but just a season that really lifted and excited you.
1965. Finished on top after home and away. Wonder if the drug cheats were cheating way back then.

until round 2 anyway.

I was just a primary school kid but my footy team had been rubbish for my entire life. 1990 started promisingly but faded into nothing. 1991 was something I'd never seen before.

Lockett kicked 127 goals in 17 games (127 from 178 shots), the most impressive season from a single player I've ever seen.

Lockett, Loewe, Winmar and Grant made the All Australian team. Harvey and Burke became guns.

We spent most of the season in the top four, and made the finals for the first time in 18 years.

Thanks to a ridiculous finals system that was abolished at season's end, we finished 4th but played 3rd placed Geelong in an Elimination final. Despite the narrow loss, it was still one of the most amazing games I've ever seen. The atmosphere was unbelievable. And don't start me on that Ablett parasite...

We might have gone out in an elimination final, but it was the first time in my life the Saints had mattered to the footy public.

Beno88 wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 8:29am 1991.

I was just a primary school kid but my footy team had been rubbish for my entire life. 1990 started promisingly but faded into nothing. 1991 was something I'd never seen before.

Lockett kicked 127 goals in 17 games (127 from 178 shots), the most impressive season from a single player I've ever seen.

Lockett, Loewe, Winmar and Grant made the All Australian team. Harvey and Burke became guns.

We spent most of the season in the top four, and made the finals for the first time in 18 years.

Thanks to a ridiculous finals system that was abolished at season's end, we finished 4th but played 3rd placed Geelong in an Elimination final. Despite the narrow loss, it was still one of the most amazing games I've ever seen. The atmosphere was unbelievable. And don't start me on that Ablett parasite...

We might have gone out in an elimination final, but it was the first time in my life the Saints had mattered to the footy public.
Until that drug addled arsewipe cost us Grant and Burke.

1991 and 2004 were the two really exciting years where you could see that a good team was coming together and we were setting up for eras that seriously offered the prospect of premierships.

Those were the days when you just couldn't wait for the next game.
The anticipation and excitement was infectious.

Of course that started to change to desperation as opportunities were missed and the promising era started to slip away!

Surely just 1997 minus the end

We had everything...
Iconic players
A home ground
An exciting game style
A super passionate support base that was coming to games
A response to adversity
Almost complete dominance

Pick a favourite player from that season
Harvey, Burke, Loewe, Winmar, Everite, Jones, Heatly to name a few

Secret Kiel

03...the last month
08...mmmm ish

Look, probably 1997, despite the unbelievable heartbreak - that to be honest I wasn't over until 2-3 years ago.

The turnaround, from nowhere, and nothing, is unlikely to ever be repeated. Only 60 minutes from the ultimate season.

We were so exciting - fast running, free flowing, big scores, massive comebacks, thrashing teams, interstate triumphs, big plays, big marks, freakish goals.

I always wrote off the fact that we missed Everitt and Vidovic as somewhat overplayed, but in hindsight, it crippled us. They missed Modra - an equally big blow - but they miraculously found Shane Ellen. We *found* Robert Neill and Brett Cook.

The difference in sentiment between leaving the ground in 1997 and 2009 was totally different. I was beyond shattered the first time; the second time I just accepted that we played that hard, rugged brand of footy all year and did so right until the final siren.

===

...in terms of a forum, I don't think anything will match 2007.

From Lyon's poor first-up season, GT fans still fuming, Rod Buttress almost sinking the club, the shock of taking Brad Howard at Pick 26 in Nov '06, Rix Rox Rux, to Ben Cousins, Gehrig's retirement-comeback and ultimately missing the finals - before getting Adam Schneider and Sean Dempster at trade week - this place was a genuine dumpster fire.

evertonfc wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 11:06am Look, probably 1997, despite the unbelievable heartbreak - that to be honest I wasn't over until 2-3 years ago.

The turnaround, from nowhere, and nothing, is unlikely to ever be repeated. Only 60 minutes from the ultimate season.

We were so exciting - fast running, free flowing, big scores, massive comebacks, thrashing teams, interstate triumphs, big plays, big marks, freakish goals.

I always wrote off the fact that we missed Everitt and Vidovic as somewhat overplayed, but in hindsight, it crippled us. They missed Modra - an equally big blow - but they miraculously found Shane Ellen. We *found* Robert Neill and Brett Cook.

The difference in sentiment between leaving the ground in 1997 and 2009 was totally different. I was beyond shattered the first time; the second time I just accepted that we played that hard, rugged brand of footy all year and did so right until the final siren.

===

From Lyon's poor first-up season, GT fans still fuming, Rod Buttress almost sinking the club, the shock of taking Brad Howard at Pick 26 in Nov '06, Rix Rox Rux, to Ben Cousins, Gehrig's retirement-comeback and ultimately missing the finals - before getting Adam Schneider and Sean Dempster at trade week - this place was a genuine dumpster fire.
Good post. we also missed Smith and another injured player whose name escapes me.

Neill, bless his heart ,along with Nugent and Kitchen, was one of the duds we got for plugger and which Shagger Sheahan reckons was the trade of the century. :roll: :roll: :roll:

In whose f****** universe, Mike you wanker. :roll:
Last edited by saynta on Fri 27 Mar 2020 4:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

2020. We lost only one game and even that was by two points.

Seriously, 2004.

The arrival of a great team that promised several premierships. G-Train, Rooey, Lenny, Milne, Baker, Dal, Goose, Joey etc, etc.

Unfortunately it didn't pan out that way for flags, but those first 10 weeks. Talk about excitement.

1997 and 2009

2010 until the replay.

St Plugger

1966!

I am thinking,

1978 for the first half of the season until the earthquake hit us and our bus went right down the crack. (I was 14) We stormed home again at the very end setting our expectations for....(don't fill in the blank)
1987 or 1989 when we were fun to watch and showed promise. I actually enjoyed seeing all the old Carlton exports mix it with our young stars.
1991. Ken Sheldons year, to be in a final. I saw St Kilda in a final in the very early 70s but was so young i didn't get it.
2004/5 GT had the young greyhounds showing the others we meant business.

Gonna say one of those GT years. The momentum, the synergy, the motivation, the class, wonderful....

1997 was too much heartbreak...but hat prelim was awesome.
2009 ditto can't stand it. Was desensitized...The way we almost lost to Geelong mid-season after having a big lead, something inside told me we had peaked. Hope restored after our 2nd string team and Hawks in Tassie but..
2010 I was surprised we made it. Awesome of course...and Goddards mark.

'92 '97 and '09

1997 will always be surreal to me. I left Australia before the season and backpacked around the globe for 5 and a half months

No Net back then but once I got to the Uk in June I could get some footy scores. Amazingly the Saints were on a roll. Went to Europe. Would ring the folks each Sunday from a different country and they would give me the scores lol

Got back to Oz in time for the final round where we kept top spot (I got home Wed August 27; Lady Di killed the next Sat)

Was in Melbourne and went to the first final v Lions

Flew back to Cairns the day before the Prelim. It wasn’t on live so had to ring sister in Melb to get updates. Awesome the boys won. Was moving to Bris to live so GF week was spent driving down and looking for a job. Watched GF with a mate in a pub. Sad that we lose but it was a weird feeling being back in Oz and restarting life.

Viking3

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 8:14pm I am thinking,

1978 for the first half of the season until the earthquake hit us and our bus went right down the crack. (I was 14) We stormed home again at the very end setting our expectations for....(don't fill in the blank)
1987 or 1989 when we were fun to watch and showed promise. I actually enjoyed seeing all the old Carlton exports mix it with our young stars.
1991. Ken Sheldons year, to be in a final. I saw St Kilda in a final in the very early 70s but was so young i didn't get it.
2004/5 GT had the young greyhounds showing the others we meant business.

Gonna say one of those GT years. The momentum, the synergy, the motivation, the class, wonderful....

1997 was too much heartbreak...but hat prelim was awesome.
2009 ditto can't stand it. Was desensitized...The way we almost lost to Geelong mid-season after having a big lead, something inside told me we had peaked. Hope restored after our 2nd string team and Hawks in Tassie but..
2010 I was surprised we made it. Awesome of course...and Goddards mark.
I was reading through this thread thinking of 1978 and you’ve popped up with it.
Smashed teams early, bombers and their shenanigans cost us dearly, and then smashed teams in the home run. Think we missed finals by 2 points and gave the premier’s Carlton a good ol’ ass whooping in the last round.
Big Carl, Pup Sarau, Sidey, Rex. We scared the $hit out of some of them.

Give me one flag & I'll go to my grave a happy man.

saynta wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 12:06pm
evertonfc wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 11:06am Look, probably 1997, despite the unbelievable heartbreak - that to be honest I wasn't over until 2-3 years ago.

===

Good post. we also missed Smith and another injured player whose name escapes me.

Neill, bless his heart ,along with Nugent and Kitchen, was one of the duds we got for plugger and which Shagger Sheahan reckons was the trade of the century. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Shane Wakelin I think
Or was it Sziller

stevie wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 9:45pm 1997 will always be surreal to me. I left Australia before the season and backpacked around the globe for 5 and a half months

No Net back then but once I got to the Uk in June I could get some footy scores. Amazingly the Saints were on a roll. Went to Europe. Would ring the folks each Sunday from a different country and they would give me the scores lol

Got back to Oz in time for the final round where we kept top spot (I got home Wed August 27; Lady Di killed the next Sat)

Was in Melbourne and went to the first final v Lions

Flew back to Cairns the day before the Prelim. It wasn’t on live so had to ring sister in Melb to get updates. Awesome the boys won. Was moving to Bris to live so GF week was spent driving down and looking for a job. Watched GF with a mate in a pub. Sad that we lose but it was a weird feeling being back in Oz and restarting life.
Great post Stevie. I was fresh O/S then too. My sister sent me a vid of that '97 prelim. Unfortunately, I was always depressed after I settled back into Aussie after trips..sulk..sulk...You took the loss and the move back in your stride.

skeptic wrote:
saynta wrote: Fri 27 Mar 2020 12:06pm

===

Shane Wakelin I think
Or was it Sziller
I don’t think either of those were injured. Matthew Young possibly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1985 / 86 - when the Saints won the Social Club went off like a thousand firecrackers