Changes for the Second Semi Final against Richmond Tigers

Re: Changes for the Second Semi Final against Richmond Tigers

Battle for Paddy
Austin for Carslile
Savage for Long
Phillips for Kent (but it wont happen)

Laurie

Battle
Marsh
Savage/Webster

september_saint

I think
battle
dunny
hind / bytel

Battle goes forward
With Roma full time ruck

Gears goes back to cover long

Hunter goes back to cover Carlisle

Wikie and Howard are good match ups on their tall forwards

We bring in dunny and either play extra mid bytel or run hind forward

nobhead

september_saint wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 7:18pm I think
battle
dunny
hind / bytel

Battle goes forward
With Roma full time ruck

Gears goes back to cover long

Hunter goes back to cover Carlisle

Wikie and Howard are good match ups on their tall forwards

We bring in dunny and either play extra mid bytel or run hind forward
If battle is right he plays forward
Gears plays as def fwd
Clark goes back for long
Then its a coin toss out of dunny ,hind, marsh,imo

Oh crap, it appears we've lost Paddy, Long and Carsile. And some would like to dump Kent.

Lets hope Battle is OK to play.

I'd like to see Dunstan for his hardness.

We need somebody to backup Marshall in the ruck, if Marsh can do it I'd prefer him over Abbott.

Roberton has been emergency for a few weeks and he can kind of play Carsile's role.

OUT: Ryder (inj), Long (susp), Carlisle (personal)
IN: Battle, Webster, Roberton

Close as I can get to like-for-like.

Keep the winning structure.
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:49pm, edited 2 times in total.

Battle will be a key, any word on what his actual injury is?

bigcarl wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:43pm OUT: Ryder (inj), Long (susp), Carlisle (personal)
IN: Marshall, Webster, Roberton

Marshall is already in :?

bangaulegend wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:45pm
bigcarl wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:43pm OUT: Ryder (inj), Long (susp), Carlisle (personal)

Yes. Thanks. I meant Battle obviously

bigcarl wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:50pm
bangaulegend wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:45pm

Yes. Thanks. I meant Battle obviously
Sorry mate I wasn't taking the piss I didn't know what you meant but sorry for any offence :oops:

The_Dud wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:45pm Battle will be a key, any word on what his actual injury is?
I heard it mentioned he had a hot spot in his foot. So not a stress fracture but can develop into one. I’m not sure how much benefit a week off will do but fingers crossed.

remboy wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 9:06pm
The_Dud wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 8:45pm Battle will be a key, any word on what his actual injury is?
I heard it mentioned he had a hot spot in his foot. So not a stress fracture but can develop into one. I’m not sure how much benefit a week off will do but fingers crossed.
I’m sure a little jab will fix it right up for a few hours! :)

Kilda

Battle would have to be doubtful for Friday's match... unless he's treated with analgesics and then risks further structural damage down the track.

Obviously the loss of Ryder, Long and (possibly) Carlisle is far from ideal but I guess the only way to look at it is that from crisis comes opportunity. Can we draw upon our depth to cover these players? Of the three potential outs, Ryder is the biggest blow as there's no ruckmen on our list of his quality (Marshall excluded). It's like bringing in Brett Cook for Peter Everitt.

It would seem Abbott and Marsh would vie for this possie. Marsh is not a bad option as he's more agile than Abbott and can take a strong grab up forward. Whether either can be potent weapons in terms of rucking ability and coverage of the ground is unknown.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 9:09pm
I almost ashamed to admit the thought crossed my mind. Wouldn't want to cripple him permanently.

remboy wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 10:07pm
The_Dud wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 9:09pm
I almost ashamed to admit the thought crossed my mind. Wouldn't want to cripple him permanently.
He’ll have all summer to recover once we either get knocked out or win the entire thing. Jab him if he is up for it. As I understand it, there is no structural damage.

Too many variables ATM Paddy obviously Long to appeal, Carlisle personal leave maybe & no guarantee Battle will get up . So IMO Savage/Roberton to cover Long/Carlisle Abbott not up to it so probably Marsh /Austin for Ryder / Battle not ideal but it is what it is. Lynch to come in for Richmond going to hard to match up on . Just have to give it our best shot "Go Sainters"

So worst case scenario is

No Ryder
No Battle
No Long
No Carlisle
Kent still available

saintkev

Replace Ryder with a tall, athletic, enthusiastic youngster. Sam Alabakis? Shades of big Carl at the Junction Oval yonks ago. Roll the dice don’t go conservative. Bring back Parker for Kent, or throw him into Long’s position. He has flair, a touch mongrel and fast closing speed. This is a do, or die match. It’s worth taking a risk, or two.

avid

Player by player, keeping overall structure intact:

Battle in for Ryder. Can take a forward role to allow Marshall to ruck all day.

Austin in for Carlisle (if required). Austin plays tall. Can mark, and can accumulate possessions, within the structure. We need a true tall defender against Lynch or Riewoldt. Howard cannot play on both.

Savage / Roberton / Webster in for Long (if required). I would love to see Roberton or Webster get a game. Depends on what Richmond player(s) Long would have been matched up on.

As for Kent, on form he doesn't deserve to be picked. Hind would be first choice to replace him, but only seems to fire 50% of the time. Parker could replace him too, but doesn't fire at all when given the chance. Kent may be just as likely to fire next week as either of the others. Possibly Phillips

If Battle's still no good, them probably Marsh. I hope it's Battle.

SaintPelican66

Battle for Ryder If Battle not right then Marsh
Savage for Long (if suspended)
Austin for Carlisle (if unavailable)
Bytel for Kent

Battle plays forward and gives Marshall and chop out in the ruck
Savage plays Long's role
Austin plays Carlisle's role
Bytel plays 80% in the forward line but also rotates through the midfield if required. It won't happen though because apparently Kent is Ratt's secret love child :shock: :roll: :roll:

sks023

SaintPelican66 wrote: Mon 05 Oct 2020 1:19am Battle for Ryder If Battle not right then Marsh
Bytel for Kent

Savage plays Long's role
Bytel plays 80% in the forward line but also rotates through the midfield if required. It won't happen though because apparently Kent is Ratt's secret love child :shock: :roll: :roll:
Who you got coming in for Gears :P

Look out kids, they keep it all hid

sks023 wrote: Mon 05 Oct 2020 6:27am
SaintPelican66 wrote: Mon 05 Oct 2020 1:19am Battle for Ryder If Battle not right then Marsh
Bytel for Kent

Savage plays Long's role
Yep, Gears has gotta go! Lol

Ins
Battle
Roberton
Hind
Savage

Out
Carlisle
Kent
Ryder
Long

But it’s a massive drop.

Is Battle even right?

Schillaci

Terrible situation to be in v the reigning premiers with all these forced changes.
My 2c
Out- Ryder, Carlisle, Long
In- Marsh, Hind, Battle (if right to go)/Dunstan

Ryder is the huge loss as it robs of the flexibility with Marshall and makes the Richmond defence’s job that much easier. Hopefully King can still clunk some grabs and Skunk plays another ripper.

Hind’s speed won’t go amiss this week. Gears and Hunter can cover for Long defensively and another mid, maybe Dunstan or Bytel can do a role if Battle doesn’t come in.

Schillaci

Kilda wrote: Sun 04 Oct 2020 9:44pm Battle would have to be doubtful for Friday's match... unless he's treated with analgesics and then risks further structural damage down the track.

Obviously the loss of Ryder, Long and (possibly) Carlisle is far from ideal but I guess the only way to look at it is that from crisis comes opportunity. Can we draw upon our depth to cover these players? Of the three potential outs, Ryder is the biggest blow as there's no ruckmen on our list of his quality (Marshall excluded). It's like bringing in Brett Cook for Peter Everitt.

It would seem Abbott and Marsh would vie for this possie. Marsh is not a bad option as he's more agile than Abbott and can take a strong grab up forward. Whether either can be potent weapons in terms of rucking ability and coverage of the ground is unknown.
The Everitt/Cook comparison is a good one. There is no one that we can bring in that replaces him as like for like.
Bitter memories of 97.
At least this time we have Marshall. Hopefully Marsh can give him a chop out. Not keen on Abbott; his one game this year for 3 possessions and 2 hit outs doesn’t fill me with much confidence.

SaintPelican66

sks023 wrote: Mon 05 Oct 2020 6:27am
Bytel for Kent

Savage plays Long's role
Get f***ed!!!!!!!!!!
<1 week ban for multiple offences>