Jack Higgins

SAINT-LEE

Re: Jack Higgins

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 2=C&type=A

Higgins is statistically better than Lonie, taller, weighs more and is 3 yrs younger.

How do ya reckon a 1st round pick slips to us? What we giving to get him?

hotdish

Yes.

He played mids in juniors and also for about a month this season when Cotchin Edwards Prestia etc were injured.

Played 10 games this season.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 4:10pm Played 10 games this season.
Starred in the scratch matches kicking bags of goals.

Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 1:37pm
bigred wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 12:54pm Ok so who is the better out of Lonie, Kent or Hind?

Yeah, thought so.

Should hang onto Lonie.

Move on the others.
I think Kent has a year to go on his contract and I doubt any other club would take him.
No idea about Hind but he's fringe AFL standard at best as is Kent.

I'd take Lonie over the other two every day of the week, month and year.
I’d rather keep either Kent or Hind, I’ve never rated Lonie and he always goes missing in the big games.

I could have written the following

"Symo
12:35 PM
Rumours say that the Saints have another big fish on the hook, any ideas Jay?
1 reply
J
Jay Clark
12:36 PM
I think itv will be Crouch, Higgins and a big mobile back-up key forward like a Shaun McKernan. They need coverage for when Max King gets injured I think Symo. They're the three priorities."

The thing with Hind...
His best games this year (I think there were two of them) were by far the best of any of the three.

Of the three, Hind has the highest ceiling IMO and the most potential to rotate through the middle.

He’s not there yet... but if I had to keep only one, he’s be the depth player and I’d take what I could for Lonie and Kent

johnearljames

Snags Higgins is a very good little player. He is a bit of a goal sneak too. Would fit in nicely alongside King, Membrey and Butler.

Massive chance to snare him.

Come to the Saints Snags.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Brian Speaking on twitter saying it's a done deal. He gets excellent mail.

I hope BS is right but just because Jack Higgins wants to come us doesn't make it a done deal.

He’s a highly rated first-rounder who is currently contracted.

He won't come cheap and the trade period hasn't even started.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 1:41pm
bakes wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 12:39pm If we get this guy it’ll be massive.

He plus Crouch can both play forward / midfield and it’ll do away with Lonie which is great. We can only afford to have 1 pigeon holed small forward (Butler) and no more.

Keep Kent and Hind a reserves in case of injuries .
If we manage to land Higgo then: -

(1) - Lonie will leave and Higgins will replace him;
(2) - Gresham will play more forward/midfield and replace Kent in that role; and
(3) - Crouch will play inside midfield and replace ? Surely it's Seb Ross ...

I like a midfield of Steele, Crouch, Jones under Ryder/Marshall with Sinclair, Gresham, Clark also rolling through there. That's a much better balanced, dynamic and offensive line-up around and forward of the ball.

Interesting that Adelaide are now posturing to match St Kilda's offer for Crouch. They're hell-bent on getting pick 2 as compo but high stakes way of getting it if they end up retaining a player that doesn't want to play for them
Great synopsis I think the same way.

Welcome Jack Higgins
Giddyup 😉

silverhalo

My son played with Jack Higgins at Ormond for about 5 years.....was head and shoulders above all of the other guys and we all thought he'd make AFL, he was outstanding.

He was actually younger than my son so he'd play the game in his own age division and then immediately after that, would play his second game for the day in a higher age group with my son - exceptionally fit and wouldn't blow out a candle after playing both games.

His old man worked very closely with him and would put him through training drills on school holidays when other kids were doing movies and the other things kids do.

Jack is highly skilled, fast, very disciplined and would really make a difference.......the whole family is mad St.Kilda so come home Snags!

Richmond have decided to trade him out. It's just a matter of making the deal. I don't think they'll stand in the way of him getting to the club of his choice. Not their style. Also, we are a club who always puts forward a fair and reasonable offer for a player. The only concern is the brain bleed he had and whether that's a future risk.

third year players who are not best 22 do not cost much. Even fringe players in a premiership team.
Getting him at the right moment IMO. Clearly will cost more than Butler but cant see us paying too much.
Classic St. Kilda future 2nd perhaps?

I'm sure most people here would be aware, but for anyone who isn't, Higgins was (at least statistically) one of the best juniors ever.

I'll wait until we've got proper confirmation before I lose my mind but, rest assured, I will lose my mind if we get Higgins.

I wonder would we see him moving up into the midfield similiar to his junior days?

SAINT-LEE wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 2:39pm https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 2=C&type=A

Higgins is statistically better than Lonie, taller, weighs more and is 3 yrs younger.

How do ya reckon a 1st round pick slips to us? What we giving to get him?
Yeah, but how come Richmond don’t want him?

Cut to the chase.

Why?

Lonie had a standout year too and was pretty decent (still is) for a while after.

Right about stats,

2020 aver

Higgins 15+
Lonie 10+
Kent 9+

Don’t know about field time for each.

Lonie had a stand out year?

PADDLEPOP1001

Higgins also runs through the midfield & is a very clever player,tiges want to get rid of him as he is on 350 k + & they need to create cap space.

PADDLEPOP1000

suss wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 5:06pm Brian Speaking on twitter saying it's a done deal. He gets excellent mail.
Good morning Suss.

Brian Speaking said Caldwell was a done deal too.

johnearljames

Lock him in. 2nd round pick.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Oh the grass is always greener

Can any of the posters in favour of Higgins tell me why he is so much better than Lonie

Their lifetime stats are almost identical

I’ll give you one reason to keep Lonie (based on previous knowledge)

He has a good football brain and is known to help out leading the forward line.

Can Higgins bring that?

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

2nd round pick seems overs to me for a guy who isn't in best 22. 3rd round would be more realistic especially if they need to move him for cap space. Considering also Bruce was a second round pick and he played 20+ games the year traded

terry smith rules wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 9:09am Oh the grass is always greener

Can any of the posters in favour of Higgins tell me why he is so much better than Lonie

Their lifetime stats are almost identical

I’ll give you one reason to keep Lonie (based on previous knowledge)

He has a good football brain and is known to help out leading the forward line.

Can Higgins bring that?
Not sure why bringing Higgins in and retaining Lonie are mutually exclusive.

Higgins wants to play midfield (I have read) and IMO offers more up the ground than Lonie, but I am in agreement Lonie is a good footballer and there is room for both on the list if not in the team.

Having Kent, Lonie, Hind, Grsham, Billings, Long all on the list didn't stop the recruitment of Butler.
Lonie is a better footballer than Kent & Hind and I'd rather retain him and recruit Higgins.