Clavarino

Clavarino

Any training watchers got any info on how this guy's looking ? Size, speed etc

I think right now he is the most important bloke on the list in terms of needing to come good.

Why I think this is Ben King - I know plenty reckon its a pipe dream - But I'm from the camp the thinks we will throw the kitchen sink at GC to get him - and I hope we do.

I also recon if he comes he plays alongside his brother to form the best 2 pronged forward attack in the comp ( looks like Brisbane going for something similar this year)

So if that's the case ( and yes plenty will argue its not ) but if it is - we have 2 positions requiring attention in the next few years CHB and Ruck.

Of them CHB the most critical I recon atm - we have Howard as a KPD - Frawley wont be doing much in 2022 and beyond and you'd be brave to say Jake will be kicking to much ar5e beyond 2022 either, so we need another good KPD - and if we've thrown the kitchen sink at B King - its hard to see how we have trading power for a quality KPD - so Clav has gotta come good.

Marshall might be able to go it alone once Ryder retires if he has 2 kings with 2 more years of maturity in their bodies to take the odd ruck contest for him - so whilst ruck is in my opinion an issue a KPD is more so - hence the need for Clav to become a player

Has anyone seen any evidence that this is possibility ?

Re: Clavarino

He must have something going for him as I am sure we would not have kept him on the list otherwise!

saint58

I know they like his incept marking and his agility. But each time he is close to making the team he gets injured.
He is still a bit lite on for weight but I really like him and hope he comes on this year.
I do agree we are desperate for a KPD and will not win a flag without one hence the urgency on Ben King who can play both ends of the ground.

To be fair

He’s had senior players playing in his position in the seniors

Nathan Brown (30+) then Dougal Howard (24)

And Wilkie (23) (who hasn’t missed since debut) and
Jake Carlisle (29)

Plus we’ve had Logan Austin (25) and Darragh Joyce (25)
Who never got much of a look in either.

So there hasn’t really been a spot in the seniors and a lot of competition for spots as a tall back
An no second tier footy last season

We say talls take a bit longer, maybe he’ll be a late bloomer?!

I hope so BM

I feel like history is against him at this point. Doesn’t feel like too many players that debut after 3 or 4 years on the list go on to have great careers

Has Clavarino been on for 3 seasons?

Went in the 2017 draft at #35

The Saints were sniffing around Jarod Brander WCE at the last trade period, so it would appear if Clavarino doesnt play this year his time would be up you would think.

Any updates on him from the training track this year ? - any training watchers seen him ?

Jarrod Brander cannot kick, one of the worst in the AFL

check out his ball drop if you get a chance

8bloggs

saint6709 wrote: Tue 26 Jan 2021 1:46pm Any updates on him from the training track this year ? - any training watchers seen him ?
He was running laps only at training Wednesday 20th January.

Thanks 8blogs for the update - nothing to get excited about just yet by the sounds of it

It is interesting that Austin was let go

Reports from Alberton were that he had good potential but not the weight to hold down a key defensive position - and we saw some of that at St Kilda until injury intervened

Clavarino presents as similar physique to Austin

The question therefore whether he has added weight

Joyce also has potential as a key defender as he further acclimates to the code with a positive being his pace

Then there is Frawley

It will be interesting to watch events evolve but you could expect that Claravino will debut at some stage this season to retain his currency

If not?

Good observations TTT. My thoughts on Clavarino have always been he needs to grow into his body, just like a more highly rated and skilled player we have in our forward line. Hopefully, he has filled out and muscled up over the past 12 months.

Austin is just stiff. Injury, then Covid restrictions, robbed him of any chance of breaking back into the team. I knew his dad very well further back in the bush about 30 years ago. He was a pretty fair player but the big knock on him was he couldn't keep his feet. Not on his own there, but how many times did you ever see Rob Harvey, Michael Voss or Gary Jr lose their feet when tackled? His brother played for Footscray and all the other brothers were good bush footballers.

Logan was a big unit with an Austin X Dempster pedigree and a good footballing brain.

The club, given the circumstances of a reduced playing list, has opted to keep faith in one of the draft picks it has invested a lot of development time into. Hope the move pays off.

Clavarino has had injuries then 2020 disrupted his season. Give the kid a chance ffs.

saynta wrote: Wed 27 Jan 2021 2:36pm Clavarino has had injuries then 2020 disrupted his season. Give the kid a chance ffs.
He'll need to show something soon or he could find himself on the delisted list at years end.

Seems to be the forgotten man - we really need another tall in the back line - and if he is going unmentioned even in the conversation it looks like his tickets are stamped - would be a miracle if he can turn it around now you would think

Which means we really need to find a KPD in a trade next year

Clavarino was picked up to be an intercept mark type defender.

He was never taken to be a key defender.

From the last practice match report they swung him forward in the last quarter and he didnt look out of place. I understand the club have shown early interest in Fischer McAsey who is said to want out of the Crows at seasons end.

With Wilkie, Coffield and now Highmore all ahead of him for the medium/tall intercept defender role I don't think we'll see Clav unless we have a few more injuries. Despite his height I haven't seen anything to suggest he's a genuine key defender.

It is obvious we need a permanent CHB not the current makeshift arrangement. Possibly same same with CHF. Given that, and the semi desperate recruitment of Frawley who probably was/is cooked, if I were the agent(s) for Carlisle and Joyce I would see big graffiti on the wall re futures and current opinion of their long term viability. if they are not getting games now their odds are hardly going to improve. With Jimmy likely to be out this week's selection will be telling, I think.

Marshall is so good he can ruck well in addition to being CHF (happy accident?) but its still a big mark down on our recruitment that we have done so poorly bolstering ruck stocks. Its a position that inherently brings extra wear and tear and even with a champion like Paddy the 34 years old figure does not imply longevity from now so reserves are important (see successful teams). I guess we had such a poor list it is just not possible to fill all deficiencies in the short term. We have an excellent core of talent now but miss a few more big and talented bodies. I hope Oscar is one of those.

Yorkeys wrote: Wed 31 Mar 2021 10:01am We have an excellent core of talent now but miss a few more big and talented bodies. I hope Oscar is one of those.
Me too mate. :wink: