I’m done

Re: I’m done

I'm disappointed if we lose but I'm happy as long as they have a crack and it's a good game.
As long as we have a real go I always walk away with something positive, but not today.

Today's performance was probably the most piss weak effort I've ever seen from a bunch of pea hearted, bathwater drinking, piss weak c#nts I have ever seen wear the St Kilda jumper with exclusions of Steele, Membrey and probably Wilkie & Howard who had to deal with the ball coming in with no pressure applied to the Essendon mids.

This performance was a team with no belief, no heart and no passion.
What is the issue?
How did it come to this?

We didn't get mauled by the triple premiers Richmond, we got slaughtered by a a bottom 8 team, the youngest in the competition while missing 4 of their best players and who lost 3 front liners at the end of last year.

Typical f****** St Kilda!

Tease with a decent season then back into the pathetic rabble that the club has been for the 55 years I have been following them.

No I wont give up, because I couldn't follow another team, but like many I have had a gut full of the pathetic performances year, after year, after year.

My daughter is 3. She just asked me this..

“Why do we like the Saints?”

I couldn’t answer.

leighsaintsince66 wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 9:05pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 8:18pm
Fugazi1966 wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 8:08pm
leighsaintsince66 wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 8:03pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 7:19pm
Beno88 wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 6:47pm Same. 37 years old, 32 years a member. I’m out. I don’t need this s*** in my life.
Plus 1. Limit to how much disappointment I’ll endure before I disengage.That’s the softest pile of shyte I’ve had the displeasure of witnessing. They can GF.
I agree. The club seems to be more about social inclusion, mental health, probably BLM and other causes anyway. We probably lead the way in terms of social issues.

In relation to footy however, the club continues to tease us and then crush our dreams year after year.

I'm probably in the last quarter of my life now and have been waiting decade after decade for an elusive second premiership.

I have spent 1000's of hours and dollars on this team.

Why do I care so much? Is this club a cult?

Many of our players seem to lack passion and urgency.

Us long term supporters seem to care more about footy & our club than the current team does.
I remember 2009 post GF taking 3 days to recover from the disappointment.
Alarm bells went off back then about just how much energy is invested into something I have absolutely no control over. Its all a bit over the top.
Yes mate that’s it. Self respect requires some boundaries.
I agree Byron & Fugazi. I'm lucky enough to have many passions beyond the club.

Like many on here, we rightly show our footy passions from time to time but are highly resilient (we must be if we follow the saints for years... ha ha)!

Despite our immense frustrations many of us probably have highly meaningful lives outside footy eg family, successful businesses, whatever etc. etc.

We don't suffer from St Kilda related PTSD!

I and many others are fortunate enough to enjoy highly successful full lives ...And well & truly smart enough to set boundaries around our footy experience.
Exactly. The benefit doesn’t outweigh the cost. Not worth investing my money, time and emotional engagement for a return like that. Been going on too long.

The off season is a time for calm optimism.
The actual season is a time for intense tension, shattered nerves, mental trauma, unrealised expectations and broken hearts.

I enjoy the off season.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 9:33pm The off season is a time for calm optimism.
The actual season is a time for intense tension, shattered nerves, mental trauma, unrealised expectations and broken hearts.

I enjoy the off season.
Me too mate :wink:

I’m not done...but I have attachment issues anyway...
A ‘Fearful-avoidant’ ..

I expected us to have a terrible first half of this season.
I saw last year as extraordinary and fortuitous.

The second half of the season was no better than the Richo years despite the brilliant finals.

I thought we would 2-6 after 8 and still do.

St Kilda crushed me into a black-hangman’s-humorist way long ago...in the late ‘70s.

I said we are an old team too. I figured we would be middle of the ladder at best.

The tease is real.

I think we’ll have a rip snorting second half to the season after we get real. A way to go yet.

SaintJohno

I'd honestly be more interested watching the Sandy best 22 having a solid crack in the big show just to see who's the next big hope, rather than watching that stuff. Surely Bytel gets a game after that??

I don’t normally walk out half way through a game but I could just feel the absolute frustration watching weak ass effort time and again till I couldn’t take anymore
Went for a walk skipped the rest and immediately felt my mood and weekend wasn’t on a downer anymore!
Long story short it is enlightening to realise that this pathetic shyte bunch of pretenders is not worth my time or emotional investment.
They don’t care they’re taking our $$$ only and we are the clowns here
No more. Time to step back
Had a beer with a Hawks mate yesterday and while we chatted about success he says “I’ve been lucky...seen a flag every decade since 70s and something like 14 over the time....”
I just went wow
And then along comes that shyte?
I’m actually just embarrassed tbh

It’s disappointing. Like changing the rules every year. I’m surprised there hasn’t been more said. Not that I’m blaming rule changes for our lack of effort but it’s just another reason to get disheartened. I don’t understand the reason for the man on the mark but clearly once you have the ball you pretty much get a goal. If you have a marking forward or 2 a good ruckman and can run and carry then this rule is awesome. Shall we hand the trophy to the eagles now.

We lacked zip, skills and teamwork - and we couldn't be stuffed tackling.
That's only 3 or 4 things to fix - no big deal. :cry:

our new motto ... infirmitas quo infidelitati

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 9:16pm I'm disappointed if we lose but I'm happy as long as they have a crack and it's a good game.
As long as we have a real go I always walk away with something positive, but not today.

Today's performance was probably the most piss weak effort I've ever seen from a bunch of pea hearted, bathwater drinking, piss weak c#nts I have ever seen wear the St Kilda jumper with exclusions of Steele, Membrey and probably Wilkie & Howard who had to deal with the ball coming in with no pressure applied to the Essendon mids.

This performance was a team with no belief, no heart and no passion.
What is the issue?
How did it come to this?

We didn't get mauled by the triple premiers Richmond, we got slaughtered by a a bottom 8 team, the youngest in the competition while missing 4 of their best players and who lost 3 front liners at the end of last year.

Typical f****** St Kilda!

Tease with a decent season then back into the pathetic rabble that the club has been for the 55 years I have been following them.

No I wont give up, because I couldn't follow another team, but like many I have had a gut full of the pathetic performances year, after year, after year.
Beautifully put, especially the bit in your third sentence.

GSG

Yep – I have to admit I’m over it as well. My partner is a Hawthorn supporter, but for the past 26 years he bought a St Kilda membership because the Saints needed it more than the Hawks. I can no longer justify this and I will urge my partner to buy a Hawthorn membership next year.

This is simply no longer tolerable. What in the Zeus’ butthole is wrong with this club???

I knew there was a reason I didn’t renew my membership, back in 2017...

saintkid

I couldn't bear to post yesterday, as we simply could not believe that disgusting performance. Our issues are deeper than what shows on-field, hence my post last week. Lethlean, Finnis and a couple of their sidekicks have done further damage to our club, if that was possible, with recruitment and forward planning (long non-sensical contracts to the wrong type of player we needed).

I felt last year made us look better because there were so many variables with the weekly COVID-19 situations surfacing with all teams and the lack of continuity. In anticipation of a more stable 2021 across all clubs, I expected us to not be quite as good as 2020 to be honest, as I feel our list still has glaring deficiencies. However, last night was far worse than I ever imagined.

Good and especially proud clubs do NOT perform like that in consecutive weeks. I'm both very embarrassed and ashamed of yesterday's performance....period.

saintkid wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:17am I couldn't bear to post yesterday, as we simply could not believe that disgusting performance. Our issues are deeper than what shows on-field, hence my post last week. Lethlean, Finnis and a couple of their sidekicks have done further damage to our club, if that was possible, with recruitment and forward planning (long non-sensical contracts to the wrong type of player we needed).

I felt last year made us look better because there were so many variables with the weekly COVID-19 situations surfacing with all teams and the lack of continuity. In anticipation of a more stable 2021 across all clubs, I expected us to not be quite as good as 2020 to be honest, as I feel our list still has glaring deficiencies. However, last night was far worse than I ever imagined.

Good and especially proud clubs do NOT perform like that in consecutive weeks. I'm both very embarrassed and ashamed of yesterday's performance....period.
?? they were heroes not that long ago.

bangaulegend wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 7:43pm Come on boys yes it was pathetic probably the worst I've seen but if we all pull the pin then what do we have. We are our own worst enemy giving 5 year contracts to injury plagued player hoping for quick success will really hurt us in the long run & I think what we saw today is just a window of what's to come but you can't just jump ship we all need to hang tough it's just the role of a saints supporter never take anything for granted & be prepared to wait & from what I saw today it might be a long wait. But I'm a saint supporter always will be just have grin & bare it & hope for better outcomes than we saw today
F@rking Why?

Because the players put effort in?
Because even if their skills are not 100% ATM they put in effort?
Because the light at the end of the tunnel is not a train hurtling towards us?

F@rk Off St Kilda
Last edited by Sainter_Dad on Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:57am, edited 1 time in total.

saintkid

The Fireman wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:37am
saintkid wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:17am I couldn't bear to post yesterday, as we simply could not believe that disgusting performance. Our issues are deeper than what shows on-field, hence my post last week. Lethlean, Finnis and a couple of their sidekicks have done further damage to our club, if that was possible, with recruitment and forward planning (long non-sensical contracts to the wrong type of player we needed).

Never to me Fireman. I have been pointing out Lethlean's recruitment decisions and unaccountability for some time now. Finnis lost me when he extended Richardson's contract at a time where there was no sense or reasoning to do it. His lame reasoning behind doing so, further confirmed for me the spud he is. St Kilda has historically made bad decisions behind the scenes and unfortunately, we have a number going on again at present.

I agree with JB's summation. I'm certainly not done, will just lessen my financial & emotional investment in them until they can be taken seriously as an organisation.

We are still struggling to align the pillars of being a sustained successful club. Our Board, Our Administration, Our Recruiting, Our Coaching & Our Players.

It's a bit like my golf game, I can't get all the facets to work together which is why I'm a hack. It is why St Kilda is a laughing stock to the broader AFL community. That's what hurts the most.

That said, I won't give up. That would make me as bad as some of our players.

Ghost Like wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 12:00pm I agree with JB's summation. I'm certainly not done, will just lessen my financial & emotional investment in them until they can be taken seriously as an organisation.

We are still struggling to align the pillars of being a sustained successful club. Our Board, Our Administration, Our Recruiting, Our Coaching & Our Players.

It's a bit like my golf game, I can't get all the facets to work together which is why I'm a hack. It is why St Kilda is a laughing stock to the broader AFL community. That's what hurts the most.

Okay - so......

You rock up to work - invested in the company - believing the message - supporting the boss in their endeavours to take the company forward. After promises of new contracts - greater work satisfaction - better working environment - more opportunities - you find them down the pub drinking and carousing - and using the company credit card - the leads that you have given them sitting un-noticed on the desk. Do you feel a sense of Work Satisfaction??

Now change the scenario to where it is costing you financially - say $1,000.00 per year to fund this lifestyle???

Not Happy Jan.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 12:08pm
Ghost Like wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 12:00pm I agree with JB's summation. I'm certainly not done, will just lessen my financial & emotional investment in them until they can be taken seriously as an organisation.

Okay - so......

You rock up to work - invested in the company - believing the message - supporting the boss in their endeavours to take the company forward. After promises of new contracts - greater work satisfaction - better working environment - more opportunities - you find them down the pub drinking and carousing - and using the company credit card - the leads that you have given them sitting un-noticed on the desk. Do you feel a sense of Work Satisfaction??

Now change the scenario to where it is costing you financially - say $1,000.00 per year to fund this lifestyle???

Not Happy Jan.
I understand you are not happy. What I don't understand is the euphemism you describe. Your work example is a no brainer. Is that what's happening at St Kilda? If so, then that's a no brainer. The picture you paint helps you make your decision and explains your unhappiness. If I believed any of that to be the case I would not be a member or on this forum.

saintkid wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:53am

Never to me Fireman. I have been pointing out Lethlean's recruitment decisions and unaccountability for some time now. Finnis lost me when he extended Richardson's contract at a time where there was no sense or reasoning to do it. His lame reasoning behind doing so, further confirmed for me the spud he is. St Kilda has historically made bad decisions behind the scenes and unfortunately, we have a number going on again at present.
I disagree mate, I reckon we have been involved in the best recruiting in many years, as I have said before..we have a talented team that is being poorly used.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 11:48am
bangaulegend wrote: Sat 03 Apr 2021 7:43pm Come on boys yes it was pathetic probably the worst I've seen but if we all pull the pin then what do we have. We are our own worst enemy giving 5 year contracts to injury plagued player hoping for quick success will really hurt us in the long run & I think what we saw today is just a window of what's to come but you can't just jump ship we all need to hang tough it's just the role of a saints supporter never take anything for granted & be prepared to wait & from what I saw today it might be a long wait. But I'm a saint supporter always will be just have grin & bare it & hope for better outcomes than we saw today
F@rking Why?

Because the players put effort in?
Because even if their skills are not 100% ATM they put in effort?
Because the light at the end of the tunnel is not a train hurtling towards us?

F@rk Off St Kilda
I understand why you're angry & disillusioned by what transpired last night & don't get me wrong so am I but were saints fans . Disappointment is just one of the issues that goes with the territory I thought most saint supporters would be used to that by now :(

The Fireman wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 12:27pm

I disagree mate, I reckon we have been involved in the best recruiting in many years, as I have said before..we have a talented team that is being poorly used.
Can you go through trades one by one and tell us about this great recruiting.
Howard- good
Austin ?
Hill ?
Hannebery?
Kent ?
Butler -benefit of the doubt due to last year
Higgins- too early to pass judgement
Ryder- pass mark
that former Geelong ruck spud
Marsh ?
Crouch jury's out but he does offer a bit as a playmate for a couple of other mercenaries with bad habits
McKernan, Hunter and Wood were always going to be back ups at best so will forgive their recruitment

Please don't take us back to Membrey and Steele as they weren't brought in by the current geniuses.

Howard- good
Austin ?
Hill ?
Hannebery?
Kent ?
Ryder- pass mark
Marsh ?
Crouch jury's out but he does offer a bit as a playmate for a couple of other mercenaries with bad habits
McKernan, Hunter and Wood were always going to be back ups at best so will forgive their recruitment

Please don't take us back to Membrey and Steele as they weren't brought in by the current geniuses.

saintkid

whiskers3614 wrote: Sun 04 Apr 2021 1:17pm

Howard- good
Austin ?
Hill ?
Hannebery?
Kent ?
Ryder- pass mark
Marsh ?

Thanks whiskers3614. Well put. I am a bit over footy this weekend after Saturday's debacle but you spelt it out perfectly. The lucrative contracts are another story. :roll: