What Happens Next...

Do we show something or is the club in crisis.

MickThomas

Re: What Happens Next...

There's gonna be some hard conversations at RSEA Park on Tuesday.
Finnis in his office, texting Ratts: 'Brett, pls see me in my office when u have time. Need to have a chat'

2020 was an aberration, when we travelled twice to Adelaide and won both, beat Tigers early, beat our bogey Swans. 2021 we've returned to our old ways. Damn

We’re in all sorts. So many players with big reputations that are putting in pitiful efforts. Zero confidence or mojo

It looks like it. Perhaps some players bought the bulls*** which has led to a form drop off and now they find themselves in a hole they can’t dig themselves out of.

I wonder how much of this is carryover from the Richo era. Poor training standards etc. He was there 6 years and bad habits can be hard to break.

Saintmatt wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:23pm We’re in all sorts. So many players with big reputations that are putting in pitiful efforts. Zero confidence or mojo
The players have literally given up. Why?

They don’t look fit

A moorabbin number calls triplem...

" G'day, can I speak to Ross please?"

Before the bye

Hawks (Marvel)
Gold Coast (Metricon)
Cats (Marvel)
Dogs (Marvel)
North (Marvel)
Swans (Marvel)
Crows (Cazaly Stadium)

We could possibly win 5 of those if we stay injury free with Ryder back and find some form

We would then be 7 & 6 going into the bye

I’m a tragic, and I’m not worried any more than usual.

This is the end of the hype and about time!

We were not that good last year.

Let’s recognize that and work with it.

Where can we improve?

Players no.

Positions and game structures.

Yes and yes.

Let’s work on that.

Vortex wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:33pm
Saintmatt wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:23pm We’re in all sorts. So many players with big reputations that are putting in pitiful efforts. Zero confidence or mojo
The players have literally given up. Why?
In business, generally a team of ppl ‘give up’ because they literally no longer believe in the direction the leaders of the organisation have set. It’s starting to feel like that.

Apart from Gresh, Paton and Ryder (a mid 30’s ruck) ... there’s not much else to come in.

What it definitely looks like is that they don’t work defensively for each other. Ever. We ski so hard downhill though.
Last edited by Saintmatt on Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:56pm, edited 1 time in total.

IMO pretty much rebuild now f-ck off Carslisle Haneberry,Frawley ,McKernin,Hunter,Joyce ,Clav, Mc Kenzie,Lonie,& the the rest of the dead wood & start from scratch. Go with youth it could not be any worse than what we have ATM

SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:30pm It looks like it. Perhaps some players bought the bulls*** which has led to a form drop off and now they find themselves in a hole they can’t dig themselves out of.

I wonder how much of this is carryover from the Richo era. Poor training standards etc. He was there 6 years and bad habits can be hard to break.
Jones Hill and the Richmond blokes never played under Richo!

whiskers3614 wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:58pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 9:30pm It looks like it. Perhaps some players bought the bulls*** which has led to a form drop off and now they find themselves in a hole they can’t dig themselves out of.

Jones Hill and the Richmond blokes never played under Richo!
True, just searching for answers.

This performance so far in 2021 is not about individuals.

As a team we are not as one.

Some of that is coaching, some of that is players from other clubs, some is learning our system.

All of it rests on the club as a whole, not Hill, not King, not Ratten, not any individual. Everyone.

saint58

To Me they look tired this might sound strange but not having a full list and the injury's we have sustained plus the fact that we played almost all our senior guys in the practice matches means more work for everyone on the list. Plus getting rid of some of the hardworking players like Matti parker, marsh it really shows up the lack of intensity.
Maybe Ease up on the training this week it carnt be any worse and put in players that wont to work and tell them if they tackle and put in you stay in side guys like Kent ,byrnes ryder.
If you have to try the hole list do it but ones a player is dropped you know what sort of person he is by how he responds.
But stop dissing up this rubbish to us supports put in or get out!!!!

saint58 wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 10:11pm To Me they look tired this might sound strange but not having a full list and the injury's we have sustained plus the fact that we played almost all our senior guys in the practice matches means more work for everyone on the list. Plus getting rid of some of the hardworking players like Matti parker, marsh it really shows up the lack of intensity.
Maybe Ease up on the training this week it carnt be any worse and put in players that wont to work and tell them if they tackle and put in you stay in side guys like Kent ,byrnes ryder.
If you have to try the hole list do it but ones a player is dropped you know what sort of person he is by how he responds.
Sounds like a bunch of excuses. Footy is 80% in the head, and we are running around like chooks with our heads chopped off.

The coach/players/club will come out with the standard lines, yadda yadda yadda, probably drop Long again, and nothing will change 👍

We got too far ahead of ourselves & thought we were a lot better than we are & started to be complacent & in the blink of an eye most of the competition worked us out & gone past us .Drink too much of your own bath water & you will sink like a Indonesian submarine

saint58 wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 10:11pm To Me they look tired this might sound strange but not having a full list and the injury's we have sustained plus the fact that we played almost all our senior guys in the practice matches means more work for everyone on the list. Plus getting rid of some of the hardworking players like Matti parker, marsh it really shows up the lack of intensity.
Tired because they are not fit

There is absolutely no run from our defensive half or through the middle of the ground .... nada nada nada

I see no risky kicks to open play up - just bog standard safe play that may eventually lead to a bomb 20 out

Players have been ordinary but the coaching needs a kick up the arse as well

The coach can’t be mates with the players this week, it’s not about building positive relationships

It’s about eyeballing and challenging players ala Ross Lyon!

B.M wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 10:27pm The coach can’t be mates with the players this week, it’s not about building positive relationships

Maybe actually drop a few ‘untouchables’ to send a message?

Drop Hill, Lonie, McKenzie, Long and Joyce

Bring in Bytel, Byrnes, Highmore, Webster and Ryder

DO NOT bring in deadwood like McKernan, Kent and Dunstan
Last edited by saintbob on Sun 25 Apr 2021 11:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 10:31pm
B.M wrote: Sun 25 Apr 2021 10:27pm The coach can’t be mates with the players this week, it’s not about building positive relationships

Maybe actually drop a few ‘untouchables’ to send a message?
It was the thing that got him the flick at Carlton

seano1

I reckon there’s something internal going on , are players fighting with each other? Are the coaches at odds with each other and the plan ? Is there a plan ? Recruitment is there a plan for long term success not short term ?