Match Thread Saints v Swans Round 12 2021

Re: Match Thread Saints v Swans Round 12 2021

If we can do one thing for the rest of the season, that would be to continue to get every minute of AFL football into our kids.

Clavarino needs to play out the season.

Every minute Dunstan is in the seniors is a minute taken from Bytel. If both players were available for opposition clubs at the end of the season, Bytel would be snapped up.

Ratten can't kick it for them....could have won by 3 goals

We are the worst kicking side in the comp.

Why the hell don't we practise.
As in seriously practise.
Every single training session.
Every single player.
Practise makes perfect.

Repetition
Repetition
Repetition

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 5:48pm If we can do one thing for the rest of the season, that would be to continue to get every minute of AFL football into our kids.

Clavarino needs to play out the season.

Every minute Dunstan is in the seniors is a minute taken from Bytel. If both players were available for opposition clubs at the end of the season, Bytel would be snapped up.
Needs its own thread really.

Viscount Jeremiah

nw7 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 5:43pm Getting a bit sick of Ratten and his game plan. I thought we had a ripper coach but not so sure any more. Our field kicking and goal kicking should be a focus for the rest of the year and we need to nail the best mid available with our first pick which will be a too 10 one. Very disappointing.
I agree with everything but the bold part. I'm getting a bit sick of internet folk wanting to sack the coach at the drop of a hat every week.

Our team isn't up to scratch in certain areas - we don't have skilled players who are accurate kicks for goal. Ratten can't do much about that right now.

I was so envious when parker kicked that goal from 45m on the angle.. When was the last time we saw one of our players nail a kick like that. Never looked like missing.

Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 5:50pm
nw7 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 5:43pm Getting a bit sick of Ratten and his game plan. I thought we had a ripper coach but not so sure any more. Our field kicking and goal kicking should be a focus for the rest of the year and we need to nail the best mid available with our first pick which will be a too 10 one. Very disappointing.
I agree with everything but the bold part. I'm getting a bit sick of internet folk wanting to sack the coach at the drop of a hat every week.

Our team isn't up to scratch in certain areas - we don't have skilled players who are accurate kicks for goal. Ratten can't do much about that right now.

I was so envious when parker kicked that goal from 45m on the angle.. When was the last time we saw one of our players nail a kick like that. Never looked like missing.
Jack Steele in the first half.

But, yes, the difference is confidence.
Both Higgins and Membrey can kick like that, the team has the yips

They've dubbed him "Missy" Higgins....ffs

nw7

Ratten doesn't need to go. He needs to stop giving the players an out every week. He needs to have a good look at himself and the other coaches, it seems like the little tweaks he spoke about last December have been costly. Have a game to suit the team like last year. I want to hear more about how they are going to improve our team not what went wrong all the time. He makes way too many excuses. When he toughens up the team will toughen up.

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:01pm They've dubbed him "Missy" Higgins....ffs
Who?

SaintPav wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:17pm
Banger9798 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:01pm They've dubbed him "Missy" Higgins....ffs
Who?
Really?

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:18pm
SaintPav wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:17pm
Who?
Really?
Apparently

Banger9798 wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 5:48pm Ratten can't kick it for them....could have won by 3 goals
No, but he can coach them how to kick it. That's his job, right? Richo couldn't kick it for em either, remember?

We kick Max King over the Geelong game but rush to let Higgins off the hook? His goal kicking has been ordinary for some time. Membrey too. Yes they had a crack but at the same time cost us the game. If it’s good enough to demand better from a second year King ....it is for Membrey and Higgins
And don’t get me started on the woeful Seb Ross open goal debacle.....Josh Bruce special.... just ordinary

A senior AFL coaches job isn’t to teach players how to kick - it’s not Auskick

Teflon wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:28pm We kick Max King over the Geelong game but rush to let Higgins off the hook? His goal kicking has been ordinary for some time.
I am sorry Teffers - before this game Higgins had kicked 16.7 - about 70% for a small forward is pretty damned good and the best of any of our players to have kicked more that 3 goals for the season.

Before today - I would have picked him to kick a goal to win the game

Career for Higgins
45-32

Pre today for 2021
16 - 7

Off day today

BadRossco

Agree Higgins should have won the game for us but with 1.6 he still had more impact than King or Battle. Season done so let’s get games into Clavarino, Bytel and Connolly, forget Dunstan (skills substandard) and the other list cloggers. Also get Heath and Sharman into the system at Sandy ( Covid-19 permitting)

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:42pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:28pm We kick Max King over the Geelong game but rush to let Higgins off the hook? His goal kicking has been ordinary for some time.
I am sorry Teffers - before this game Higgins had kicked 16.7 - about 70% for a small forward is pretty damned good and the best of any of our players to have kicked more that 3 goals for the season.

He’s kicking action as noted during the game from set shots is ordinary
Did you honestly think he’d go back and nail it today?
He’s had other games this year to kick multiple goals and missed it - some of those misses are gettable goals
I’m sorry I don’t care about stats he’s not someone I’d bet my last dollar on to kick it 30 out directly in front ...that used to be Membrey but he too has good career goal kicking stats and has also gone to shyte ...
30 % goal kicking efficiency- last in the AFL but stats tell us all is ok here???? Nup.

BadRossco wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:49pm Agree Higgins should have won the game for us but with 1.6 he still had more impact than King or Battle. Season done so let’s get games into Clavarino, Bytel and Connolly, forget Dunstan (skills substandard) and the other list cloggers. Also get Heath and Sharman into the system at Sandy ( Covid-19 permitting)
King to me looks like he needs a spell he looks stuffed I’d rest him
Play kids agree
Battle here’s your FF chance mate
Trade and smart draft time..,

Actually let’s be brutally honest ...
I watch us kick for goal and EXPECT a miss it’s a pleasant surprise when we pull one out of our arse and it goes through
That’s how bad we have become at no stage after 2-3 misses did I expect him to jag a goal..King shot?? I went and grabbed a beer didn’t even bother just knew it wasn’t going through ...
Great way to watch your side and enjoy the footy!!
Surely I wasn’t alone???

Battle was worse than King today

No impact

On a positive note - shout out to B Crouch

Crouch 38 touches (@79% efficiency), 14 contested, 7 clearances.

Teflon wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:50pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:42pm

He’s kicking action as noted during the game from set shots is ordinary
Did you honestly think he’d go back and nail it today?
He’s had other games this year to kick multiple goals and missed it - some of those misses are gettable goals
I’m sorry I don’t care about stats he’s not someone I’d bet my last dollar on to kick it 30 out directly in front ...that used to be Membrey but he too has good career goal kicking stats and has also gone to shyte ...
30 % goal kicking efficiency- last in the AFL but stats tell us all is ok here???? Nup.
On that I agree - I would be embarrassed to put my hand out for a paycheck if I spent 70% of my time on Gumtree or EBay (30% is Okay) but Higgins is not the worst in 2021

Teflon wrote: Sat 05 Jun 2021 6:57pm Actually let’s be brutally honest ...
I watch us kick for goal and EXPECT a miss it’s a pleasant surprise when we pull one out of our arse and it goes through
That’s how bad we have become at no stage after 2-3 misses did I expect him to jag a goal..King shot?? I went and grabbed a beer didn’t even bother just knew it wasn’t going through ...
Great way to watch your side and enjoy the footy!!
Surely I wasn’t alone???
Yep, kicking any set shot at this point is a pleasant surprise.

J Elliott comes back into the side and slots 5-0 by half time
Its easy appearantly