SOS Tony Lockett

Re: SOS Tony Lockett

Life Long Saint wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 5:40pm
B.M wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 8:36pm If Tiger Woods showed me how to swing a club, would I play off scratch - because ATM I’m slicing the f*** out of it!!!
I bet he'd probably fix your slice though - as would most golf pros.

We're talking about one specific, controlable aspect of the mechanics of football.
Goal kicking has little to do with being able to find the ball, running patterns, reading the play, etc.
It's about technique and practice.

I agree that just because someone is a champion player, they don't make a good coach. But there might be one or two points they bring up that resonate.

I'm sure a total rework of everyone's technique isn't needed...Just a few minor tweaks or slight change to the routine.

Got to be worth a try. Becuase whatever we're doing now clearly isn't working.
They are not allowed to practice goal kicking - repetitive muscle use leads to 'hot spots'. I would rather that they get it right - if injured miss a few - but still have it right when they come back than 1.5 and 1.6

Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 5:44pm They are not allowed to practice goal kicking - repetitive muscle use leads to 'hot spots'. I would rather that they get it right - if injured miss a few - but still have it right when they come back than 1.5 and 1.6
That’s ridiculous. If forwards can’t kick for goal, why are they even out there? Given they can get the ball what skill could be more important to practice for a specialist goal-kicker?

DownAtTheJunction

saynta wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 3:39pm
chook23 wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 8:29pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 5:52pm What's Jason Heatley up to these days?
Coaching North Heidelberg
:wink: :wink: :wink: '' Just goes to show doesn't it? Some pple just don't have a clue.
Jason Heatley was a beautiful kick and is apparently a very calm coach. Would be great to have his perspective.
As for the notion that great players don't always make great teachers - likely so, but equally we shouldn't just dismiss the great player either. Ron Barassi, Leigh Matthews, Paul Roos and Malcolm Blight were champion footballers and highly successful coaches. Sometimes we forget the huge number of 'average' footballers that didn't make it as a coach.
The general point that I am trying to make is there are plenty of high skilled AFL people. We need to access what they have to offer. And if current personnel are unable to achieve that then we need to move on.

DownAtTheJunction

saynta wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 3:41pm
B.M wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 8:36pm Here we go again

Why not get Stewart Loewe to teach them to mark

Get Robert Harvey to teach them how to be as good as him

Get Lenny Hayes to teach them to tackle

Get Nathan Burke to teach them how to be tough

Get Winmar to teach them how to be mercurial

What a great idea, wheel out champions to tell our players how to be great!!!!

BTW
If Tiger Woods showed me how to swing a club, would I play off scratch - because ATM I’m slicing the f*** out of it!!!
Peter Hudson improved Stewie's kicking no end.
Nathan Burke fills out the story, Saynta
Of Stewart Loewe he wrote, 'A man mountain who one coach used the phrase ‘couldn’t hit a cow’s arse with a banjo’ in reference to his early accuracy statistics.
That was true until along came another guy who wasn’t too bad at putting the ball through the big ones – Hawthorn champ Peter Hudson.
Huddo rebuilt Stewart’s kicking by simplifying it.
Modern-day players could take a lead from Tony Lockett.
The mantra was simply run straight, drop it straight, kick it straight. Sounds too easy, don’t it?
After countless hours of hard work, Stew took his goalkicking tally from the likes of 45 goals 53 behinds in 1992 to 76.39 in 1995 and 90.58 in 1996.
It was an amazing turnaround and proof it can be done.'

bigcarl wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 6:02pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 5:44pm They are not allowed to practice goal kicking - repetitive muscle use leads to 'hot spots'. I would rather that they get it right - if injured miss a few - but still have it right when they come back than 1.5 and 1.6
That’s ridiculous. If forwards can’t kick for goal, why are they even out there? Given they can get the ball what skill could be more important to practice for a specialist goal-kicker?
Sports science gone mad

DownAtTheJunction wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 6:41pm
saynta wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 3:39pm
chook23 wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 8:29pm
Life Long Saint wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 5:52pm What's Jason Heatley up to these days?
Coaching North Heidelberg
:wink: :wink: :wink: '' Just goes to show doesn't it? Some pple just don't have a clue.
Jason Heatley was a beautiful kick and is apparently a very calm coach. Would be great to have his perspective.
As for the notion that great players don't always make great teachers - likely so, but equally we shouldn't just dismiss the great player either. Ron Barassi, Leigh Matthews, Paul Roos and Malcolm Blight were champion footballers and highly successful coaches. Sometimes we forget the huge number of 'average' footballers that didn't make it as a coach.
The general point that I am trying to make is there are plenty of high skilled AFL people. We need to access what they have to offer. And if current personnel are unable to achieve that then we need to move on.
They may not be good teachers - but they can be good examples - just get them down there and let the modern players 'watch' the old style kicks (no flipping the ball - no stuttered run ups) and surely a guy with King's intellect can process the actions needed to complete the task - I am just a bookkeeper and the best way I learned was not being 'taught' but by watching and asking questions.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 7:56pm
bigcarl wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 6:02pm
Sports science gone mad
That's why Dimetriou was complaining about the Phys Ed dudes taking over the game.

Johnny Wilkinson used to kick about 1000 per week... won England a World Cup

American punters would put up huge practice numbers

Golfers hit thousands of golf balls and then play tournaments

The repetitive action, if done properly will cause muscle memory and actually strengthen muscles

Minimising practice is counterproductive

DownAtTheJunction

B.M wrote: Mon 07 Jun 2021 8:02pm Johnny Wilkinson used to kick about 1000 per week... won England a World Cup

American punters would put up huge practice numbers

Golfers hit thousands of golf balls and then play tournaments

The repetitive action, if done properly will cause muscle memory and actually strengthen muscles

Minimising practice is counterproductive
Agreed! There's a lot to be said about practice. It needs to repeated, and where possible, close to game simulation.

I would fair dinkum have made King have a minimum 100 shots per session the week he kicked 1.5

10 push ups every miss

And this week Higgins would have done the same!!!

I thought this thread was about SOS v Tony Lockett

Did I see Tony miss a goal from 10m out running into open goal?

Guess it happens to the best of them sometimes...

Being naturally good at something doesn't mean you are good teacher of that skill. Some great coaches in sport were not gifted athletes, but had great communication skills, understood the science behind sport and knew how to get the best out of others. We can only hope that Max improves with the right coaches, and hopefully not like some great footy prospects over the years, who just couldn't improve important aspects of their game.

Life Long Saint wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 6:22pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 06 Jun 2021 6:07pm
Yes, The Heater was a magnificent kick.
His problem was getting the ball.
Wasn't an issue in 97
He was a lead and chestmark mark guy.
Couldn't take a pack mark and seldom took a contested mark or won a groundball under pressure.
But his kicking for goal from a set shot was magnificent.
Great style and could slot them through from all angles.
But he totally relied on delivery.

In 97 he had guys like Banger and Elvis and Aussie feeding him lace out passes.
Once the opposition cut his supply line he was all at sea.

Was really disappointed when Blight recognising his limitations delisted him, rather than trying to build a game plan around his exceptional sharp-shooting strength.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 08 Jun 2021 8:57pm
Wasn't an issue in 97
Couldn't take a pack mark and seldom took a contested mark or won a groundball under pressure.

Was really disappointed when Blight recognising his limitations delisted him, rather than trying to build a game plan around his exceptional sharp-shooting strength.
I really drifted away from footy in those years...After '97 basically...but I always wondered why Heater went. Some have told me on this forum that he didn't take training and discipline too seriously.

B.M wrote: Tue 08 Jun 2021 8:28pm Did I see Tony miss a goal from 10m out running into open goal?

Guess it happens to the best of them sometimes...
It was an exceptional game by Plugger. Exceptional for the number he missed. He seldom kicked worse. From memory he finished with 10.7.

But he didn’t miss the one he needed to kick with 22 seconds to go. That sailed directly over the goal umpire’s head,

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 08 Jun 2021 9:03pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Tue 08 Jun 2021 8:57pm
Wasn't an issue in 97

I really drifted away from footy in those years...After '97 basically...but I always wondered why Heater went. Some have told me on this forum that he didn't take training and discipline too seriously.
And you believed them? :lol: :wink:

I used to have a wood heater in our back room to which I had attached a "24" symbol on to the flue!

Did somebody say SOFT CAP.
If St Kilda pays someone as a goal kicking specialist it comes out of the soft cap.
Something or someone has to give.
Not saying don't do it just indicating the consequence.

King approached Matthew Lloyd because he used to coach him at Haileybury.
https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/05/31/ ... d-matthew/

we dont have to go that far back to findd the best set shot for goal in recent memory
Saad - he would take the longest run-up but he was calm and very measured in every shot on goal - rarely miss

I dont fall into the set shot training does muscle damage
Otherwise Im going to make a fortune snapping up all the un-used driving ranges and practise putting greens

Muscle memory is extremely important for any repetitive process

OH PS
the club has categorically stated they dont want any outside help - so its clearly all good at Linton St