Match Thread Saints v Cats Round 22 2021

SaintJohno

Re: Match Thread Saints v Cats Round 22 2021

SaintPav wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:41pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:24pm
silverhalo wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:13pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:09pm F****** Geelong. If they win the flag I'll throw up. Unwatchable.
Is there a more boring team to watch....it's just rubbish, chip, chip, chip and chip
I can't think of a current player I detest more than Selwood. Dangerfield not far behind
Hawkins. Cameron as well.
Tom Lynch

darylcowie

How did Clavarino go as the sub?

its time to make a name for yourself like you've never made before!
SaintJohno

darylcowie wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:42pm How did Clavarino go as the sub?
He was great as a sub. Didn't do much once on. -2 fantasy points. Didn't get much time though.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:41pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:24pm
silverhalo wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:13pm
st.byron wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:09pm F****** Geelong. If they win the flag I'll throw up. Unwatchable.
Is there a more boring team to watch....it's just rubbish, chip, chip, chip and chip
I can't think of a current player I detest more than Selwood. Dangerfield not far behind
Hawkins. Cameron as well.
Yep. It's a cluster

darylcowie wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:42pm How did Clavarino go as the sub?
Donuts

Great game by the boys...if Ryder had played it was a win. thats how close we are to the top sides.

Once we shed some baggage and pick up a couple next year aint lookin so bad.

KING :)........................ wow, I'm looking forward to just watching him :)
seriously though we have some really good young prospects.... there was a time this season that I had lost all hope for next season...

I have been bouyed.

GO SAINTS

People on here bagging Geelong could do a lot worse than wonder how, in three quarters, they turned around the match by almost 50 points.

That's class. And effort. And care.

If that means there's a little bit of chipping here and there, to win back momentum, power to them. They did what they had to do win, not to look good.

I wish that we had that same thirst for battle, that same desire to win, that same need to charge to victory. It's held them in good stead for 15 years and they continue to seek out players who share that passion for winning.

Their play-acting drives me nuts, and their attitude is insufferable - but they'll make top four, and they'll be hunting for a flag. You could see how much it means to their players to will themselves to victory. Their godawful supporters don't deserve that team, nor that $1 billion stadium, but the players make their luck by always pushing for wins.
Last edited by evertonfc on Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:56pm, edited 1 time in total.

I love the saints!

Scallop. The umpiring , if done poorly often has a direct influence on those things. But let's pretend that it doesn't......
Last edited by I love the saints! on Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

In STKFC we trust.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:46pm Great game by the boys...if Ryder had played it was a win. thats how close we are to the top sides.

Once we shed some baggage and pick up a couple next year aint lookin so bad.

KING :)........................ wow, I'm looking forward to just watching him :)
seriously though we have some really good young prospects.... there was a time this season that I had lost all hope for next season...

I have been bouyed.

GO SAINTS
Good call mate :wink:

I love the saints!

To be honest Geelong are not actually close to that good.

In STKFC we trust.

There should be 2 match day threads next week, 1 for the umpire bashers and the other one for footy fans.

I love the saints!

Or the umps might actually be good. Tell me once again Wayne, how you thought they went?

In STKFC we trust.

I love the saints! wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:02pm To be honest Geelong are not actually close to that good.
if that makes you feel better.........

st.byron wrote: Sun 08 Aug 2021 12:21am
The_Dud wrote: Sun 08 Aug 2021 12:07am
st.byron wrote: Sat 07 Aug 2021 10:47pm 3/4 time stat :
Curly 30 match thread posts
27 whinging about umpiring

I know…I bothered counting #sad
Just following up on this great observation.

Full time stats: 36 posts, 32 whinging about umpiring…

In a game we won.

Free kick count 17-18…

Move on though, nothing to see here 👍
In no way is that spam. Not at all.
31 of 33 tonight…

I love the saints! wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 8:56pm Scallop. The umpiring , if done poorly often has a direct influence on those things. But let's pretend that it doesn't......
My nic isn’t scallop. You spelled it wrong

But credit to you. At least you gave me a capital ‘S’

I love the saints! wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:08pm Or the umps might actually be good. Tell me once again Wayne, how you thought they went?
I don't watch the umpires, never have.

I love the saints!

Oh. Was it scalloppp?

In STKFC we trust.
I love the saints!

Scollop.

In STKFC we trust.
I love the saints!

Fireman, I just don't think they are good. Which means we are not very good either.

In STKFC we trust.

I love the saints! wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:18pm Fireman, I just don't think they are good. Which means we are not very good either.
they are a good side...and so are we.

the last 2 games have shown what we are capable of ... I saw some bloody good skills tonight and this coming from the glass half empty man on here.
You can ask anyone on here about that.

Look forward to next year mate...we have a good base

roskilde

The Fireman wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:33pm
I love the saints! wrote: Sat 14 Aug 2021 9:18pm Fireman, I just don't think they are good. Which means we are not very good either.
they are a good side...and so are we.

the last 2 games have shown what we are capable of ... I saw some bloody good skills tonight and this coming from the glass half empty man on here.
You can ask anyone on here about that.

Look forward to next year mate...we have a good base
Feeling optimistic for the first time this season as well. Good signs.

Been a rough old season as well so it's about time.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.
I love the saints!

True Fireman. We have found a couple.

In STKFC we trust.

Ratten had no plan B to counter the Cats chip chip chippy uncontested gamestyle - absolute nada idea on how to beat it - they just killed our pressure game and slowed it down and we ran around like headless chooks or just marked space - story of our year!!

Of course when the ball was there to be won they were more desperate and went in harder and always had a handball outlet

2 or 3 times we had a set shot goal within range and turned it over trying to pass it off - twice we dropped simple marks to have a shot at goal

King's miss again was unforgivable - he needs to sort that out

Again we had a game at our mercy and we didnt know how to wrest back control - the scoreline says it was an admirable effort but in reality we choked hard again - thats about 5 or 6 ganes now

Ratten and playing group have a lot of work to do in the off season

Its been a very disappointing year

I love the saints!

I love the look of Sharman, if Hanners can stay fit that will be a huge plus because he is still our best user. Highmore is a great pickup too.

In STKFC we trust.

2 negs. So disappointing another healthy lead cannot be defended and Max again can't finish a game. We lack depth and Max is getting injured too much.