Saints to re-jig game plan.

Faulky63

Saints to re-jig game plan.

St Kilda coach Brett Ratten also forecast change for his team after falling from sixth in 2020 to 10th this year.

He described the season as a missed opportunity after entering the mid-season break with a 5-8 record and sitting outside the top eight for every week except round one.

The club had learned about dealing with the expectations of being a finalist last year and how to embrace challenges.

"When you reflect back on successful years, it's about the growth of the year before when you've been challenged by adversity," he said.

"To think that we've not had the year we wanted but we still won 10 games of footy is positive."

Ratten said the Saints would need now "re-jig" their gameplan over the summer to compete with the AFL's best teams and target specific players.

"I think there will be a little bit of work done post-season in regards to recruiting and trading if there's something there, and we'll probably get some kids in as well," he said.

"We've targeted a few things outside our football club, a few players, but we'll wait and see."

Re: Saints to re-jig game plan.

Interesting

Hope they go after

Chol

We’ve missed the finals by a win and percentage, and I reckon there were about 4 games we had in the bag that we let slip.

That’s the first thing to rectify.

Hardest draw
Most best 22 players games missed

Missed by a game and per stage. Clearly we’re doing a lot right.

CURLY wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 7:38pm Hardest draw

Best 22 most games missed is a dubious list inflated by Frawley, Hannebery and Carlisle being on it and all missing most of the season. They're all cooked.

st.byron wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 7:49pm

Best 22 most games missed is a dubious list inflated by Frawley, Hannebery and Carlisle being on it and all missing most of the season. They're all cooked.
Frawley shouldn’t be on there but the other two 100% should be.

CURLY wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 7:56pm

Frawley shouldn’t be on there but the other two 100% should be.
If they’re fit and performing as they have when they were good players, yes. But hard to see any of them being significant contributors again, so dubious to include them in best 22.

SaintDippa

Hannebery cooked? Thought he was better than ok last 2 after a long spell. Need he and Gresh to get a full preseason. If yes, significant.

SaintDippa wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 8:07pm Hannebery cooked? Thought he was better than ok last 2 after a long spell. Need he and Gresh to get a full preseason. If yes, significant.
In a rosy world that would happen. Hands up who has any faith whatsoever that Hannebery can string together a number of games and make a consistent significant contribution?
D.Hannebery - 2 weeks

Hannerbury ain't cooked! Par-boiled maybe, but still I our best 22.

Bizarre recrutiing strategy sees us permanently saddled with injury prone players.

Please, St Kilda, no more.

Go to the draft and get fresh kids. For peanuts. Unless you can nab B. King.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 8:36pm

Hannerbury ain't cooked! Par-boiled maybe, but still I our best 22.
If he can stay fit. Massive if.

st.byron wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 8:31pm
SaintDippa wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 8:07pm Hannebery cooked? Thought he was better than ok last 2 after a long spell. Need he and Gresh to get a full preseason. If yes, significant.
In a rosy world that would happen. Hands up who has any faith whatsoever that Hannebery can string together a number of games and make a consistent significant contribution?
D.Hannebery - 2 weeks
Me.

saynta wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 9:00pm
D.Hannebery - 2 weeks
Me.
Based on? His solid record of 15 games in 3 years. Terrible recruiting decision.

st.byron wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 9:06pm
D.Hannebery - 2 weeks
Me.
Based on? His solid record of 15 games in 3 years. Terrible recruiting decision.
I'm an optimist.

Good enough for you?😇😇

saynta wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 9:11pm
st.byron wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 9:06pm
D.Hannebery - 2 weeks
Me.
I'm an optimist.

Good enough for you?😇😇
Your choice mate. I hope he plays lots of games next year and is highly influential. That would be a massive plus. Chance of that happening based on the last three years is pretty much zero.

Ratts also said we are a better team when Hannebery plays.

He's right.

But we need a full season of games from him.

And that is precisely where the difficulty lies.

farquhar

I always thought this year was wide open and it is proving to be with no real favourites going into the finals. It is a real shame the Saints aren't there. Obviously it has been an up and down season but there is no reason they cannot compete next year for the flag.

Time for goal-kicking practice
aaron82

Remember when we bought in Michael Gardiner admittedly on a lot less Kanga. He’s played 3 games in 2006 at West Coast. His first year with us he didn’t play a game before 9 in 2008. I cannot recall that far back, I’d imagine he didn’t have anyone supporting or believing at 30 he’d be of any use. In 2009 & 2010 at 30-31 he was a big reason we should have won a flag.

Not saying Hannebery will do likewise BUT if he can do a Gardiner and stay on the park he’d be very valuable contributor.

and that's the bottom line
aaron82

Remember when we bought in Michael Gardiner admittedly on a lot less Kanga. He’s played 3 games in 2006 at West Coast. His first year with us he didn’t play a game before 9 in 2008. I cannot recall that far back, I’d imagine he didn’t have anyone supporting or believing at 30 he’d be of any use. In 2009 & 2010 at 30-31 he was a big reason we should have won a flag.

Not saying Hannebery will do likewise BUT if he can do a Gardiner and stay on the park he’d be very valuable contributor.

and that's the bottom line

aaron82 wrote: Sun 22 Aug 2021 11:24pm Remember when we bought in Michael Gardiner admittedly on a lot less Kanga. He’s played 3 games in 2006 at West Coast. His first year with us he didn’t play a game before 9 in 2008. I cannot recall that far back, I’d imagine he didn’t have anyone supporting or believing at 30 he’d be of any use. In 2009 & 2010 at 30-31 he was a big reason we should have won a flag.

Great if he does. But this kind of hanging on to players / coaches because maybe they’ll come good in the face of stacks of evidence to the contrary is a road to continuing mediocrity.

I'm an optimist.
yep

thats the only train to be on
(at this stage of the lockdown)

i meant off season