Carlton...

Ajantis

Carlton...

It's so good to see Carlton struggling, they will never be the same after elliot killed them.
Tough S**t Carlton, you deserve it....
You never won them premierships - you bought them.....

Re: Carlton...

Ever since the AFL penalised Carlton for Salary cap rorting they have been on shite street with no idea
how to function in the modern AFL world. How good is that. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wonder who it will be?

Ro$$ would fancy getting his hands on that list and would probably have it playing finals given a bit more luck with injury than they had this year.

I’m hearing Bucks might be a surprise candidate.

Mad to take Lyin. A failed coach. imho.

I hope the Blues realise once Ross has had his shot they will have to restart their list development from scratch.

That's been proven, twice.

Wayne42 wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 1:41pm I hope the Blues realise once Ross has had his shot they will have to restart their list development from scratch.

That's been proven, twice.
Very true.

If they appoint him, it will eventually be tears all round. I await the day he is sacked. Again.

I reckon Ross would coach that team to a GF

Again a list with at least 5 A Graders
Walsh, McKay, Cripps, Weitering, Cerra

X Factor player
C Curnow

Two running backs
Saad and Williams

The tagger that he always wants - E Curnow

Couple of under performing players he will improve or trade
SPS and Dow

A heap of role players

They have a top 4 list IMO

lefty

Teague as an assistant for us? I reckon he seemed OK?

Rabble and I love it having grown up in the 80's listening to all the crap about how good the "Blues were mate"(Italian accent)

Over rated list IMO
Saad and Williams think Defence is the thing that goes around D Yard
Walsh is a stud. Cripps, Mckay and Weitering top line players.
No ruck and Jones on decline.
Fisher, Silvani and a couple others play roles.

8-12th list IMO

Lyon will make them 3 goals better defensively though. Not sure how Saad and Williams will like it

older saint wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 2:52pm Rabble and I love it having grown up in the 80's listening to all the crap about how good the "Blues were mate"(Italian accent)

Over rated list IMO
Saad and Williams think Defence is the thing that goes around D Yard
Walsh is a stud. Cripps, Mckay and Weitering top line players.
No ruck and Jones on decline.
Fisher, Silvani and a couple others play roles.

8-12th list IMO

Lyon will make them 3 goals better defensively though. Not sure how Saad and Williams will like it
:D :wink:

Bruce G McAbee

Prediction, if they go with Lyon they will be tough to score against, but, they won't do much scoring either.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Carscum are real pricks, arseholes even
How about them accepting that the side is still in a development stage and finished exactly where the footy world expected them to.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/carlt ... 24707f1a6b

And Lyin says that there is a smear campaign being waged against him....chickens coming home to roost.

As the missus said, if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, waddles like a duck......Lyin certainly waddles. Walks like he has a stick rammed up his arsehole.

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 3:42pm Prediction, if they go with Lyon they will be tough to score against, but, they won't do much scoring either.
And how many flags has Lyin won coaching that method. Dinosaur if he goes that way again.

Lyon is a good fit for Carlton and I reckon they'll do well with a well-managed defensive game plan.

Will be in the GF within three years.

Meanwhile, we have no reasn to sneer as we've loaded up on busted over 25s. And we'll pay the price unless it pays dividends in the short term.

I don’t reckon it’s in Lyon’s MO to take this job.

IMO, he’s shown that like everyone else... without the cattle, he’s not a miracle worker. Hence, why start at the rebuild?
It’ll expose his W/L and be the last gig he gets.

Maybe that’s the point though. His stocks are down from when he left us, maybe this is all he can get?

Its so nice to see other clubs in crisis and sacking coaches rather than our club! Our board and current management are probably some of the most competent and settled we have had in the clubs history.

Ross Lyin’s hair is proving interesting.

Bowey Boy wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 8:58pm Ross Lyin’s hair is proving interesting.
it's like him, making a comeback. :lol:

Honestly how can the have the cap room for cerra? Really pees me off we’re not even in the conversation there. Is our cap that blown? Seriously? I know we’ve topped up but what happened to all those years of being at 95% and front loaded contracts? Did Hill and co really break the bank??

saynta wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 1:37pm Mad to take Lyin. A failed coach. imho.
Lyin is well past his use-by date.
He might think his media job keeps him in the loop with the latest game styles and tactics, but honestly, he's like a car mechanic who last worked on cars when they had carbies and minimal electronics.

He's a has-been with no current in-depth knowledge, not practical knowledge, anyway.
Like the mechanic who could read up about fuel injection and OBD2 but he'll try to diagnose an engine fault and be totally out of his depth

WellardSaint wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 9:53pm
Lyin is well past his use-by date.
He might think his media job keeps him in the loop with the latest game styles and tactics, but honestly, he's like a car mechanic who last worked on cars when they had carbies and minimal electronics.

He's a has-been with no current in-depth knowledge, not practical knowledge, anyway.
Like the mechanic who could read up about fuel injection and OBD2 but he'll try to diagnose an engine fault and be totally out of his depth
I think that's why he has said he wants a good senior assistant coach. much like GT and Matt Rendell. :shock:

MC Gusto wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 9:51pm Honestly how can the have the cap room for cerra? Really pees me off we’re not even in the conversation there. Is our cap that blown? Seriously? I know we’ve topped up but what happened to all those years of being at 95% and front loaded contracts? Did Hill and co really break the bank??
Thought the same thing. How can they afford that?
Whoever plays for them - a pox upon them eternally and all that is Carlton FC.

Quite dysfunctional. Like Pies but worse. Plus senior/key players seem to have unhealthy influence. Lyon has to be desperate in pimping himself to Carlton. Who in good faith could take the job knowing you had to make finals in year 1 from a long way back and be prepared to guarantee that. A sensible board would dismiss such certainty from afar as nonsense. So Lyon and Carlton might actually be simpatico in the disingenuous stakes.

:D What do failed coaches look like do tell?

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Thu 26 Aug 2021 4:39pm Lyon is a good fit for Carlton and I reckon they'll do well with a well-managed defensive game plan.

Will be in the GF within three years.

Meanwhile, we have no reasn to sneer as we've loaded up on busted over 25s. And we'll pay the price unless it pays dividends in the short term.
Nice to read a balanced view with a little less of the simpleton views of “I just hate Ross”
As Riewoldt said in his MMM video (good watching Saynta - highly recommend it!!) Lyon knows how to bring discipline and a level of professionalism to a clubs football outfit.
Carlton desperately lack this and bleed goals worse than anyone. They won’t anymore.
What will be interesting is has and can Lyons footy style evolve??
It’s a myth we didn’t score under Ross - we did but he was definitely defensive first.
Be interesting seeing how Ratts “run forward of the ball” game plan goes when players aren’t given that room.
Take Freo game last week.....we looked like world beaters against a side that offered zero pressure. Carlton won’t be like that moving forward.
I definitely think their list is better than what are showing but it still has holes.
Be fascinating if Lyon is appointed but 1 things for certain.....there’s still no clubs banging down GTs door... :D