Open letter (open post?) to Simon re permanent bannings.

Is there a better alternative to permanently banning our very naughty boys (and girls)?

75%
25%

Total votes: 20

Re: Open letter (open post?) to Simon re permanent bannings.

I once, foolishly, agitated for a banned poster to be reinstated. And he was. Guess I am happy about that.

roskilde

perfectionist wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 6:53pm
The Fireman wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 4:12pm it appears that a major portion of members want this overturned...so be it.
There's little evidence of that. My guess, and that is all it is, would be that the major portion of members would be appalled at the comment that led to the ban. There is no "it was only a joke" defence. It's one of those things for which there should be zero tolerance. Threatening or suggesting physical violence is enough to get the boot from most organisations.

The "silent majority" rightly don't get involved in endless flame wars which used to be a feature of this Forum. They do what they have been advised to do - report any offending post, then stay out of it and leave it to the mods. There are still thousands of members but only about half a dozen have been talking about it.
He didn't threaten anyone it was merely a joke -- an old one at that -- related to a totally fictional and hypothetical situation.

In fact TB did no more or less in his comment than you did in this comment:
It seems that former Liar-in-Chief Trump was sicker than reported when he caught the non existent Covid 19 virus. What a pity he didn't have the courage of his convictions and guzzle a litre of bleach to fix him up.
That's pretty clearly suggesting physical harm to someone. I guess you should be banned by your own logic. Luckily for you I guess nobody is petty enough to report your risque comments.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.

saynta wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 7:00pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 2:54pm
st.byron wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 2:50pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 2:32pm
st.byron wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 1:48pm
saynta wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 12:11pm
st.byron wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 10:32pm
asiu wrote: Wed 01 Sep 2021 10:01pm diplomatic

but i think we all know
who signed off the banning with ... bye bye

almost like he enjoys his little power trip
Not necessarily mate. Could have been KFT or BFUSA coz both would probably be enabled to implement the ban.
More than a bit out of touch there. :roll:
You’re an abrasive f***** Mr. Rolly Eyes. All you needed to say is that KFT isn’t a mod any longer.
That 👆, may be construed as hypocrisy.
What my comment that he’s an abrasive bugger is hypocrisy?
Nah. The decline into abuse. The the f....... dots are lovely. Much better than the old days. :roll:

Ok. The eyes were too much.
In accordance with the rules I reported his post anyway. I will wait and see what happens. Better to do that than respond.
Everyone should be happy mate because the bans and rules make it better.

This post is good example of that.

but i think we all know

Not necessarily mate. Could have been KFT or BFUSA coz both would probably be enabled to implement the ban.
You’re an abrasive f***** Mr. Rolly Eyes. All you needed to say is that KFT isn’t a mod any longer.
Nah. The decline into abuse. The the f....... dots are lovely. Much better than the old days. :roll:

In accordance with the rules I reported his post anyway. I will wait and see what happens. Better to do that than respond.
Classic bully behaviour. Delivers an insult, gets called on it and whinges to the ref. Leopards don't change their spots even when they change their names.

perfectionist wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 6:53pm
The Fireman wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 4:12pm it appears that a major portion of members want this overturned...so be it.
There's little evidence of that. My guess, and that is all it is, would be that the major portion of members would be appalled at the comment that led to the ban. There is no "it was only a joke" defence. It's one of those things for which there should be zero tolerance. Threatening or suggesting physical violence is enough to get the boot from most organisations.

The "silent majority" rightly don't get involved in endless flame wars which used to be a feature of this Forum. They do what they have been advised to do - report any offending post, then stay out of it and leave it to the mods. There are still thousands of members but only about half a dozen have been talking about it.
no one of clear mind would care, let alone be appalled. were you appalled by the earlier comment that poor toby be punished by time in the company of non-left politicians? i continually read posts by yourself in very poor taste about pollies not of your persuasion. no one really cares, which is why those threads are the domain of so few. seriously poor post.

Hi.

Thanks for everyone contributing to this conversation.

I have a deep love for Saintsational.

I know that you do too.

I was around for it's creation and always supported the young founder of this site (he was but a teen) and had helped me get the then WWF onto free to air TV in 1997 or maybe 1998 (Channel 10) by getting tens of thousands of Australians signed up to an internet petition on the WWF website. Saintsational was born soon after. His father funded it. Later when money was needed, I organised a fund raiser via the club and hello to anyone who was at the Caulfield Chinese Restaurant in early 2000s when John Beverage agree to speak and the club gave me stuff to auction to raise funds for the site.

As some of you know, he was unable to continue on as administrator of this site due to a professional conflict.

There was a time that admin / moderation was done by others after he left.

Unfortunately it got to a stage where the site had crossed several lines and shut down was being discussed.

I stepped up and put my time, effort and money in to keep this place going.

Every past Mod will tell you that being a mod is a huge task AND the reward is being abused by people. Most simply burn out and ask to stop being a mod.

For years I (and other mods) gave 2nd, 3rd and 4th chances after permanent bans. Allowing posters back in with new nics.

The vast majority of the time they had to be banned again.

This year I made the decision that I was not allowing them back at all.

They have all had the chances prescribed to them.

I owe them nothing more than those chances.

The rules are clear.

I actually don't care WHO it is that breaches them.

If they breach the rules, then the outcome is listed in the rules.

I mourn each and every poster I ban permanently. I hate doing it.

But here is the bottomline - I was tolerant previously and that didn't work.

This is how things are now.

The rules have been set.

I simply assess each report against the rules.

I don't look at who has written the breach until AFTER I have assessed the content.

Only then do I see who the poster is so that I can input the ban into the admin panel.

I now have zero emotion invested in that process.

I wish True Believer all the best.

But banned posters are NOT coming back.

They all have Big Footy and Facebook as options.

Simon

BackFromUSA wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 12:08am Hi.

Thanks for everyone contributing to this conversation.

I have a deep love for Saintsational.

I know that you do too.

I was around for it's creation and always supported the young founder of this site (he was but a teen) and had helped me get the then WWF onto free to air TV in 1997 or maybe 1998 (Channel 10) by getting tens of thousands of Australians signed up to an internet petition on the WWF website. Saintsational was born soon after. His father funded it. Later when money was needed, I organised a fund raiser via the club and hello to anyone who was at the Caulfield Chinese Restaurant in early 2000s when John Beverage agree to speak and the club gave me stuff to auction to raise funds for the site.

As some of you know, he was unable to continue on as administrator of this site due to a professional conflict.

There was a time that admin / moderation was done by others after he left.

Unfortunately it got to a stage where the site had crossed several lines and shut down was being discussed.

I stepped up and put my time, effort and money in to keep this place going.

Every past Mod will tell you that being a mod is a huge task AND the reward is being abused by people. Most simply burn out and ask to stop being a mod.

For years I (and other mods) gave 2nd, 3rd and 4th chances after permanent bans. Allowing posters back in with new nics.

The vast majority of the time they had to be banned again.

This year I made the decision that I was not allowing them back at all.

They have all had the chances prescribed to them.

I owe them nothing more than those chances.

The rules are clear.

I actually don't care WHO it is that breaches them.

If they breach the rules, then the outcome is listed in the rules.

I mourn each and every poster I ban permanently. I hate doing it.

But here is the bottomline - I was tolerant previously and that didn't work.

This is how things are now.

The rules have been set.

I simply assess each report against the rules.

I don't look at who has written the breach until AFTER I have assessed the content.

Only then do I see who the poster is so that I can input the ban into the admin panel.

I now have zero emotion invested in that process.

I wish True Believer all the best.

But banned posters are NOT coming back.

They all have Big Footy and Facebook as options.

Simon
Hello Simon,

Fair enough.

Perhaps a few people who have discussed this ban privately and in posts, were mislead because the 'bye bye' you added to TB's exit, read as though it was written with a little glee rather than any hint of mourning. Nevertheless, I accept that there was nothing personal about it.

So, no one comes back and an appeal would make no difference?

You still offer a chance at appeal, is that counted as coming back if successful.

You don't accept that the person who read TB's version of a very old and well known joke may also have misunderstood or over reacted to what was written? For goodness sake. It was a joke, bad taste at worst.

You don't have to, you are in charge, but at least have think about it seeing you were decent enough to respond the way you did, perhaps you have it in you to look at it again.

Cheers.

I'm Ben.

APPEALING A BAN

Bans will be listed in the Fan Forum. The banned poster can request an appeal process be started in the Administration Forum. If the administrators feel the appeal has any merit, it will be listed in the Administration Forum and promoted in Fan Forum to make the other members aware. The appeal will take the form of a POLL where members have the capability to vote anonymously to uphold or overturn the ban. For a ban to be overturned, a 2/3 majority against the ban must be achieved.

I take it this a 2/3rds majority of those who voted?

st.byron wrote: Thu 02 Sep 2021 8:13pm

but i think we all know

Classic bully behaviour. Delivers an insult, gets called on it and whinges to the ref. Leopards don't change their spots even when they change their names.
Reported for a personal attack on the poster.

BackFromUSA wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 5:32am APPEALING A BAN

Bans will be listed in the Fan Forum. The banned poster can request an appeal process be started in the Administration Forum. If the administrators feel the appeal has any merit, it will be listed in the Administration Forum and promoted in Fan Forum to make the other members aware. The appeal will take the form of a POLL where members have the capability to vote anonymously to uphold or overturn the ban. For a ban to be overturned, a 2/3 majority against the ban must be achieved.
Very fair process. Go for it TB.

you reckon !!!

there's only how many active posters ?

numbers can be manipulated
if the desire to 'win' is great enough

those
anonymous posters types
... the supposed silent 'majority'' lot

that this site has been gutted over
(for possible offences to
the permanently offended)

who say nothing
but get the vote on the death of a contributor

hmmmmmm

ok , yep
thats fair 'n open

asiu wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 12:01pm you reckon !!!

there's only how many active posters ?

numbers can be manipulated
if the desire to 'win' is great enough

those
anonymous posters types
... the supposed silent 'majority'' lot

that this site has been gutted over
(for possible offences to
the permanently offended)

who say nothing
but get the vote on the death of a contributor

hmmmmmm

ok , yep
thats fair 'n open
this..... hands up you silent dudes.

How does a banned poster request an appeal if he can't log in?

desertsaint wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:20am I take it this a 2/3rds majority of those who voted?
yes

desertsaint wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 3:11pm

How does a banned poster request an appeal if he can't log in?
They use the "contact us" link at the bottom of the sign in page.

but i think we all know

<1 day ban from commenting negatively on another poster>
This is what’s wrong with the site.

Constant little digs and disrespect (usually by a certain poster) go ignored, and when someone (rightly) bites back THEY cop a ban.

And it’s claimed there are no ‘untouchables’ :roll:

Without new blood the site will just slowly die, I would strongly suggest lifting the ban on new members.

I'm happy with the rules, if i stuff up then bye bye to me.

I'll just spend more time playing Classical piano, and reading the ITK's on Big Footy. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:09pm I'm happy with the rules, if i stuff up then bye bye to me.

I'll just spend more time playing Classical piano, and reading the ITK's on Big Footy. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
There are ITK's on Big Footy?

The_Dud wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 7:50pm

but i think we all know

<1 day ban from commenting negatively on another poster>
This is what’s wrong with the site.

Constant little digs and disrespect (usually by a certain poster) go ignored, and when someone (rightly) bites back THEY cop a ban.

And it’s claimed there are no ‘untouchables’ :roll:
Don't breach the rules and you won't cop a ban.
Easy to understand.

saynta wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:34pm
Wayne42 wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:09pm I'm happy with the rules, if i stuff up then bye bye to me.

i was taking the P155 :lol: :lol:

Wayne42 wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:57pm
saynta wrote: Fri 03 Sep 2021 8:34pm

i was taking the P155 :lol: :lol:
I guessed that. Couldn't resist the comment. :wink: