Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

Re: Do we start worrying about Paddy McCartin?

Furphy wrote:Absurd to believe P.M. was not a good number one draft pick?
Yes - absurd to write off a teenage key position player six months after they were drafted - 2 game in.

Furphy wrote:Absurd to believe P.M. was not a good number one draft pick?
Yes - absurd to write off a teenage key position player six months after they were drafted - 2 game in.
Hindsight Queen B!!!!!

silverhalo

People are saying he's behind the eight ball because he hasn't had any continuity due to his concussions. I think that's just an excuse, not much will change even if manages to play the next 100 games.....he does not have the ability to be a top AFL player, there is just nothing there. As has been mentioned in a number of threads, he's too slow, overweight, no awareness, not a great mark, ordinary kick, no agility etc etc.....

I put him in the same boat as Tom Boyd, who has also been a massive disappointment. We can easily get sucked in when we see these massive 'boys' making it look easy in the junior grades but it's another story then to put them up against men. The lesson to be learnt here is to tread warily as a recruiter when assessing these big guys.....they can easily be found out when they're coming up against the big boys....by the way, I'd love nothing more than to see Paddy make it but I can't see it.

Bunk_Moreland wrote: Wed 13 May 2015 2:24pm
Furphy wrote:
Bunk_Moreland wrote:Some putrid "opinions" on this thread.

Not a top ten pick - pfft. When asked what it was based on gave Petracca as a name. Where are the other eight how are better.

Really Goddard must be really hopeless. Hasn't even been in the team yet.

Both have had six weeks.

Delist both.

Fair Dinkum, there are some cabbages who support the Saints

Sounds like you're still angry they cancelled "Hey Hey it's Saturday"
Seems as though you cant name the other eight who would push paddy out of the top ten. So much for your opinion and facts.

stupidity and ignorance doesn't equate to fact, but it does amount to your opinion.

Really sad to read your ignorant crap
Still stand by that statement? I'll wait

It will be interesting to see how he goes next year.

Wow…that’s quite a trip to read those 2015 threads….

Must say I don't miss StoneCold

Gotta ask…what happened to Paddy after his five week suspension? Did he ever play again or did the whole VFL suspension, or whatever they play in, just suspend itself? So well never know?

Is he still on their list?

poor old paddy. i do feel for him.
but how come that lesser character fellow petracca hasn't had a five week suspension for punching someone's lights out?
another question mark over recruiting based on something as unreadable as character when dealing with young men.

desertsaint wrote: Wed 29 Sep 2021 10:14pm poor old paddy. i do feel for him.
but how come that lesser character fellow petracca hasn't had a five week suspension for punching someone's lights out?
another question mark over recruiting based on something as unreadable as character when dealing with young men.
The Swans dropped a video of him three days on their site, but it was initially made in April and intended for him to reflect on his first hit out. Quite strange for them to re-release it now.

Could it mean it’s not over for him yet?

shanegrambeau wrote: Wed 29 Sep 2021 10:27pm
The Swans dropped a video of him three days on their site, but it was initially made in April and intended for him to reflect on his first hit out. Quite strange for them to re-release it now.

Id love to see him play the McGovern role at Sydney across half back. Just let him read the play and intercept. While he didnt clunk everything at the Saints, he was rarely beaten in the air. Hope he gets a chance at some good karma.

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 29 Sep 2021 11:41pm

Id love to see him play the McGovern role at Sydney across half back. Just let him read the play and intercept. While he didnt clunk everything at the Saints, he was rarely beaten in the air. Hope he gets a chance at some good karma.
Yep, not done and could be back at the swans it seems.

Hope so for Paddy's sake.
Last edited by saynta on Thu 30 Sep 2021 12:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Reading back through this thread reminds me about the days of P66 and Joffaboy!!!

Both got it massively wrong on this occasion, wonder what they would say now?!

saynta wrote: Thu 30 Sep 2021 11:59am
CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 29 Sep 2021 11:41pm

Yep, not done and could be back at the swans it seems.

Hope so for Paddy's sake.
After having read some of those posts in this thread from back in 2015, including Richo’s attempts to point out that 60% skin folds ain’t gonna cut it, I couldn’t help but looking at Paddy’s face in this interview, and although he is a strong looking lad, with a chunky almost rugby-like player shape, I do notice his face didn’t look ‘cut’ like a footy player’s. It looked like an average everyday bloke’s.

To be brutally honest, he was fat for a professional athlete.

I wish him all the best & hope that life after St.Kilda is a happy one.