Trade-Draft 2021 Discussion

Re: Trade-Draft 2021 Discussion

Wayne42 wrote: Wed 13 Oct 2021 9:48pm Yes, the top 20 picks will make up the first round due to the 2 father son bids.

This link may help a bit with NGA selections, including a table on what each NGA bid costs, some have said the 197 points listed for picks 21 to 40 is the points discount we get for bids in that range.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/523629/stat ... okie-draft
Scroll through this link to see the points value for each draft pick.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/679302/indi ... ade-period
Badly presented by the AFL
That 197 points is the DISCOUNT, not the final cost for rookies in the 21 to 40 range.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Points cost to queue jump for an NGA in the 21 to 40 range
21 = 681
22 = 648
23 = 618
24 = 588
25 = 559
26 = 532
27 = 506
28 = 480
29 = 456
30 = 432
31 = 409
32 = 387
33 = 366
34 = 345
35 = 325
36 = 305
37 = 286
38 = 268
39 = 249
40 = 232
41 onwards = next available selection = could be as low 0 points.
St Kilda will be lucky to get one NGA in the 21 to 40 range without having to dip into 2022 picks.
Getting 2 NGAs in that range will definitely require dipping into 2022 picks.
That is probably why St Kilda's 2nd round pick was not even entertained in any pick swapping arrangement for Xerri.

If we walk away with both and the best available mid at 9 that's a massive haul.

CURLY wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 8:34am If we walk away with both and the best available mid at 9 that's a massive haul.
We won't have 9, Collingwood will queue jump for Daicos and the Bulldogs for Darcy.
We have pick 11 on the night.

ace wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 8:58am
CURLY wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 8:34am If we walk away with both and the best available mid at 9 that's a massive haul.
We won't have 9, Collingwood will queue jump for Daicos and the Bulldogs for Darcy.
We have pick 11 on the night.
Yeah doesn't matter we had no access to those anyway.

Saint 58

Correct !

Yes our pick 9 does become pick 11 but the pick is not diluted
Pies/Dogs jump in to grab two players being Daicos/Darcy NOT ANYONE ELSE
ALL other potential draftees are still available to us & other clubs

I expect North to bid on Daicos then bid on Darcy then take their true selection
I expect Pies/Dogs to pay full price for their picks !!

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

Saint 58 wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 10:07am Correct !

I expect North to bid on Daicos then bid on Darcy then take their true selection
If this does not happen - I could understand because North may have more pressing needs and would not want to be 'stuck' with these selections.

However, if this has not happened by Picks 2 and 3 then something would be smelly.

I wonder why Tyler Sonsie has dropped so far on mock drafts? Earlier in the year he was ranked a top 5 chance. Surely his injuries havent effected his positioning that much, in any event if he gets through to our pick he would be a steal.

https://www.afl.com.au/video/611671/vfl ... 0550465001

I suspect North will call "hyphen" rather than Daicos.
It's about marketing.
This player, our player, our superstar, our soon to be captain was the number one draft pick.
Unless they pick Paddy McCartin.

Plus you are gifting a valuable share portfolio to someone who is never going to be your player. Sheer folly IMHO.

Goddard Magic

Knightmare on bigfooty says a bid will come for Owen inside 20.

Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 10:12am

If this does not happen - I could understand because North may have more pressing needs and would not want to be 'stuck' with these selections.
I gotta disagree S_D.
If Collingwood don't match the bid for Daicos then NM will end up with a player rated higher than whomever they're going to select. If they do then NM will get the player they have their eyes on anyway.
Daicos has been rated the best player in the draft and it would be staggering if he's not matched on by Collingwood.
Afterall, didn't Collingwood just do a trade of draft picks to ensure they have enough points to use on him?

I don't know enough about Darcy but he's being spoken of as a pick 2-5, so similarly I would be staggered if he's not 'matched' by Footscray.

Mr Magic wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 3:09pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 10:12am

I gotta disagree S_D.
If Collingwood don't match the bid for Daicos then NM will end up with a player rated higher than whomever they're going to select. If they do then NM will get the player they have their eyes on anyway.
Daicos has been rated the best player in the draft and it would be staggering if he's not matched on by Collingwood.
Afterall, didn't Collingwood just do a trade of draft picks to ensure they have enough points to use on him?

I don't know enough about Darcy but he's being spoken of as a pick 2-5, so similarly I would be staggered if he's not 'matched' by Footscray.
Horne is rated 1 but Collingwood has to match as they get top end talent for a pile of chook s***.

It's always a fun exercise at this time of year to second guess who the club will take with its highest draft pick.

I'm also assuming we go to the draft with pick 9 which, after all of the father son fiasco,  will end up pick 11.

I think we will approach this draft with a specific wish list. We want someone who brings pressure to bear either forward or in defence.

We want a player who is versatile. Predominantly a midfielder but who can also go forward and kick a goal as well as provide run and carry from the backline.

Their attributes must include speed. The need to be able to use pace to get away and give us first use from stoppages.

They must have elite disposal skills. A deep, penetrating kick that is also pin point accurate.

Normally this would be a tall order to find such a specific match. But in this draft not so hard. There are players with those skills.

I am thinking Josh Sinn of the Sandy Dragons. And Tyler Sonsie of the Eastern Ranges. Of the two, Sonsie is a more ready to play senior football proposition.

Even if I'm wrong we will still get a great pick when it's our turn to call out a name. This draft is so even in terms of elite talent we are guaranteed to get someone good.

If you add that player to our two academy selections, we will have three talented young players entering our system.

And if we can get their development right all three  will be stars of the future.

Collingwood’s Brayden Sier, Geelong’s Charlie Constable and Hawthorn’s Ollie Hanrahan have all been delisted, according to reports.

Fox Footy reporter Tom Morris understands that Ollie Hanrahan has been culled by the Hawks and that St Kilda and GWS are showing interest in recruiting him as a delisted free agent.
The 23-year-old played 29 games for Hawthorn since being selected in the 2017 rookie draft.

St Kilda's 2022 draft picks as they currently stand.

St Kilda: First round, second round, third round, fourth round x2 (theirs, tied to Adelaide)

damienc wrote: Thu 14 Oct 2021 5:40pm It's always a fun exercise at this time of year to second guess who the club will take with its highest draft pick.

I'm also assuming we go to the draft with pick 9 which, after all of the father son fiasco,  will end up pick 11.

I think we will approach this draft with a specific wish list. We want someone who brings pressure to bear either forward or in defence.

We want a player who is versatile. Predominantly a midfielder but who can also go forward and kick a goal as well as provide run and carry from the backline.

Their attributes must include speed. The need to be able to use pace to get away and give us first use from stoppages.

They must have elite disposal skills. A deep, penetrating kick that is also pin point accurate.

Normally this would be a tall order to find such a specific match. But in this draft not so hard. There are players with those skills.

I am thinking Josh Sinn of the Sandy Dragons. And Tyler Sonsie of the Eastern Ranges. Of the two, Sonsie is a more ready to play senior football proposition.

Even if I'm wrong we will still get a great pick when it's our turn to call out a name. This draft is so even in terms of elite talent we are guaranteed to get someone good.

If you add that player to our two academy selections, we will have three talented young players entering our system.

And if we can get their development right all three  will be stars of the future.
There are obviously some promising midfielders who will be available at our pick, but if the CHB Gibcus or the Ruckman Andrew are available, I would take them in a flash.

James Gallagher was on Sen this morning discussing the draft plans and key defender situation.

https://www.sen.com.au/programs/the-cap ... ne-cornes/

He said we kept all our picks next year in case we miss out on one of the kids we are after (NGA) so we can trade back into the draft on the night. Believes Owens & Windhager are ranked between 25 & 35, and has spoken to other clubs. He also mentioned Peris, Beilby & Kyle as interests.
Could also split pick # 9 on draft depending on players available.

He also discussed the Tristan Xerri non trade. No garuntees on Hunter, Lonie & Kent staying, they will know in next 36 hours.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/10/15/ ... k-pairing/

He also said they see lots of development in Highmore, Howard, Wilkie, Joyce & Allison, plus they intend to settle Battle into the key back role over summer training. Possibly looking at delisted free agent as a key defender or others but after the draft.

Its nice to know we are going into the draft with specific plans, we are in safe hands in Gallagher & Lethlean.

Thanks for sharing that IS. Gallagher spoke well, seemed as honest as he could be.

Not sounding great for Hunter even after missing out on Xerri. They seem to realise Hunter is not quite the "break glass in case of emergency" player.

Definitely not both of Lonie & Kent, maybe neither.

I like the way he explained how they break the draft into groups of players - giving insight into what they may do if their #9(11) selection is gone, possibly splitting the pick. Also kept 2022 picks dry in case they see an opportunity on the night this year.

Definitely keen for both Windhager & Owens. Spoke well of other NGAs, maybe rookie one or two (my thought).

Did not seem overly fussed about a KPD. They must see something in Allison as a defender.

Yeah, obviously the club rate Highmore, Battle and others to play the second key defensive role and are not too worried about a lack of height down back. I hope they have another backup ruck in play also?

Its going to make for an interesting draft/s night with the NGA's and pick swaps. Plus I believe they are hoping for another tall KPP kid to slide through.

UPDATE = Kent & Joyce signed for one year

SENIORS
1 Matt Allison 2022
2 Josh Battle 2022
3 Jack Billings 2025
4 Dan Butler 2022
5 Ryan Byrnes 2022
6 Jack Bytel 2022
7 Hunter Clark 2023
8 Nick Coffield 2023
9 Leo Connolly 2023
10 Brad Crouch 2024 +1
11Jarryn Geary 2022
12 Jade Gresham 2023
13 Dan Hannebery 2022 + 1
14 Jack Higgins 2023
15 Tom Highmore 2022
16 Brad Hill 2024 + 1
17 Dougal Howard 2024
18 Zak Jones 2023
19 Dean Kent - 2022
20 Max King 2026
21 Ben Long 2022
22 Daniel McKenzie 2022
23 Rowan Marshall 2022
24 Tim Membrey 2024
25 Ben Paton 2022
26 Sebastian Ross 2023 + 1
27 Paddy Ryder 2023
28 Jack Sinclair 2024
29 Jack Steele 2022
30 Jimmy Webster 2022

ROOKIES A
1 Max Heath 2022
2 Paul Hunter - Uncontracted
3 Darragh Joyce - 2022
4 Cooper Sharman 2023
5 Callum Wilkie - 2023 Can be retained as a rookie for 4th season due to rule change https://www.afl.com.au/news/659265/afl- ... or-rookies
6 Mason Wood 2022

Senior list must be 36 to 38
Rookie A list must be 4 to 6
Total senior plus rookie A players no more than 42
2 rookie B allowed on top

Must make a total of 3 draft selections or rookie promotions
Only selections activated by vacancies can be used.
That means to use multiple picks to queue jump a club must have all those picks activated by vacancies.

So as it stands St Kilda can make 6 senior selections but zero rookie selections.
However Hunter remains uncontracted so the number of rookie selections would increase by one if he is delisted.

As they stand today picks 9, 62, 66, 67, 85 & 103 have been activated.
Should other clubs not activate picks then St Kilda's activated picks will move forward.
Then on the night pIck 9 is almost certainly going to become pick11 as Colliingwood is expected to queue jump for a father-son in Daicos and Bulldogs to do likewise for Darcy
When they do so they will consume multiple picks causing St Kilda's later picks to advance forward in the order and increase in points value.
Other father-son and NGA queue jumping for picks in the 21 to 40 range on the night will reshuffle the order.
Last edited by ace on Thu 21 Oct 2021 5:08pm, edited 2 times in total.

Pick 9 will be used as pick 11
Picks 62, 66, 67 have points value attached but how much will be determined on the night as the draft progresses.
They are likely to be consumed and maybe some from 2022 making NGA queue jumps.
Not all activated picks have to be used.
They can be used for rookie picks if places exist or left for pre season supplemental rookie selections and mid season rookie drafts.

Thanks mate. Lot of questions answered.

Saints still interested in young Peris too.

Son of Nova Peris and Daniel Batman. Both Olympians too.

You want pace, this guy has it in spades. Part of our NGA too.

Devilhead wrote: Wed 13 Oct 2021 9:08pm Does any know how many list spaces we have to fill?
6 at the moment according to ace, but probably only fill 4. Leave a couple for mid season draft I would expect.

Ace, did I hear or read somewhere that Allison got extended by 2 years?

Listening to Gallagher it seems Joyce will get a contract.

Is it better to put Wilkie on the main list now to free up a rookie spot for a NGA or KPD or Ruck? I suspect he's getting properly compensated now.