George Young highlights

Do yourself a favour.

Re: George Young highlights

Good one Kosi, thanks :D

Laurie

Loved watching him play

D.B.Cooper

Great watch, I had forgotten what a terrific high flying over head mark George (Golden Legs) was in his prime.

See the left foot on the run pass lace out from big Sidey to George? WOW!
I actually think that was the "animals" match at Moorabbin.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!
Freebird

Good to see a dominant gellie on these highlights also

We had such a great team back then that we could afford to give away Val Perovic and Russell Greene who had to settle for two and three premierships respectively.

George Young was really a half forward who had height and who could take an overhead mark. Notice how he was able to take marks in front of his body with arms out-stretched. This is really difficult and few players can do it. It makes punching the ball away an impossibility - unless you are a baboon.

My first hero as a young teen..(of course Barks was huge) when I started going to the footy with my friends.

These days, I imagine what number I would wear if I bought a St Kilda jumper …

I would want 7 for Nicky Winmar, and 2 for Spud, so if I ended up with 27 it would be fine…

Yeah he was my hero before Barks too, shaneg

I’m a lefty and as a kid there weren’t many of us so I could identify with George. You forget how well he read the play! And he moves like silk, almost like a smaller Buddy.

In a good team, George would’ve nailed the ton I reckon

Really enjoyed watching that. George had great poise and balance along with judgement and timing that made him a consistent high mark. Given todays money, training fitness standards he would be a walk up start with every club.

Hawkesbury Saint

Absolutely loved watching George Young play. Unashamed to say he was my idol 1973-1978.

Saints Footy - Let all others follow.

I met George at a function a couple of years ago. He seemed embarrassed by the way men of a certain age were fawning over him. But if you were a Saints fan growing up in the 70s, George Young had to be your favourite.

I got a picture with his hand on my shoulder. I used it for a while as my Facebook profile picture. My wife said it wasn’t a very flattering picture of me and she didn’t understand when I said that hand on my shoulder belongs to George Young.

D.B.Cooper

I recall stating to my dad in the early 70's how skilled our WA players were such as Young, Dupa, Reynolds and my fav McIntosh.
He said its because they grow up playing on better surfaces that the Victorians and hone their skills better.

After pondering that for a few minutes I said well our Tassie players were pretty skillful too, particularly Stewart who would have been then at Richmond.

The old man didn't have an answer for that one :D

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 06 Mar 2022 9:22pm I recall stating to my dad in the early 70's how skilled our WA players were such as Young, Dupa, Reynolds and my fav McIntosh.
He said its because they grow up playing on better surfaces that the Victorians and hone their skills better.

After pondering that for a few minutes I said well our Tassie players were pretty skillful too, particularly Stewart who would have been then at Richmond.

There is truth in all of that, WA grounds have good sandy drainage. Some of the footage of the Moorabbin mud might have been attractive to the Taswegians.

Remember, Stewie grew up in Queenstown playing on a gravel surface. An excellent football education in the importance of keeping your feet.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 06 Mar 2022 9:22pm I recall stating to my dad in the early 70's how skilled our WA players were such as Young, Dupa, Reynolds and my fav McIntosh.

There is truth in all of that, WA grounds have good sandy drainage. Some of the footage of the Moorabbin mud might have been attractive to the Taswegians.

Remember, Stewie grew up in Queenstown playing on a gravel surface. An excellent football education in the importance of keeping your feet.

avid

He also took some of the most majestic towering pack marks I've seen.

For a while there it was only George Young, Robbie Muir and Barks that kept me going.

George27

Hawkesbury Saint wrote: Sun 06 Mar 2022 8:14pm Absolutely loved watching George Young play. Unashamed to say he was my idol 1973-1978.
Absolutely the same for me, as reflected in the name I adopted on this forum . The day Lawrie Fowler wiped him out at the G and broke George’s wrist after he had scored 33 goals in the first 7 rounds of 1976 , I was devastated . There was a patch at the back end of 75 and the start of 76 when he in totally imperious form .

When George was “on “, he was the most exquisite footballer .

Good onya Kosi for this thread. The great man deserves the acknowledgement.

What a star! In both strong and crap sides. His career with us was too short. Went back to the West too soon. Did his knee in his first season back over there (aged 30), and never played again.

And also left us all too soon at 73 years of age.

Absolute unforgivable travesty not to have been named in our Team of the Century. :evil:

Also played some Sheffield Shield Cricket for WA, whilst also playing senior footy. But chose the footy. Scored 125 in his second game. What a star!
https://ozfooty.net/newsarticles/pastnp ... orge-young

Dave McNamara wrote: Wed 09 Mar 2022 11:22pm.

Say it ain’t so.

He only turned 73 last month.

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 10 Mar 2022 7:18am
Dave McNamara wrote: Wed 09 Mar 2022 11:22pm.

Say it ain’t so.

He only turned 73 last month.
This would be a huge shock. Especially for George!

D.B.Cooper

Dave McNamara wrote: Wed 09 Mar 2022 11:22pm
Absolute unforgivable travesty not to have been named in our Team of the Century. :evil:

https://ozfooty.net/newsarticles/pastnp ... orge-young
Good point Dave, I was really shocked he was not selected in the TOC.
But who gets left out in favour of George?
I'm sure it was hotly debated.

I recall both George and Bruce Duperouzel(sp?) represented WA in cricket.

I don't think George has passed, I do recall him being ill a couple of years back.

His namesake was a pretty hand song writer and musician in a similar era.

Billy Young died, not George

1978. sigh.