Clarkson

beebarry

Clarkson

Has to be said - why are we not ( if we are not) looking at Clarkson for 2023 ?

Ratten clearly not impressing many since 2020, me included. Selection, game style, consistency and development. Things that make me sad.

The only time we ever seem to have an improvement is bringing in players. Highmore, Sharman, Wilkie and now Hayes - perfect examples. Z Jones, Ryder, even Crouch ...but developing our own on a consistent basis ? not so much.

I hate Hawthorn and have traditionally loathed Clarkson ...but something has to give and if its Ratts then Im not all that sorry ....I think hes another one like Richo..a great assistant and people person but not ruthless enough to be the top dog. Richo goes to a club in a very senior capacity with a hard arse at the helm at thrives.

come on Roughy - you owe us one for breaking Patons leg ....get your old mate on board.

I know Im all over the shop with this thread but I still cant talk from shouting last night. On the plus side the lights at Marvel were great ....

Freebird

Re: Clarkson

We can't continually change our coach, replacement usually unsuccessful When was the last a grade player taken in the draft by saints

King has to lead to break up the pack hanging off him and open up our forward half. Came as an average kick and more than likely will forever be unreliable kick

cps

beebarry wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 2:06pm Has to be said - why are we not ( if we are not) looking at Clarkson for 2023 ?
How do you know that we aren't?

Only chance of clarko is if we were to relocate to tassie

cps wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 2:43pm
beebarry wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 2:06pm Has to be said - why are we not ( if we are not) looking at Clarkson for 2023 ?
How do you know that we aren't?
Because the industry already knows the AFL are facilitating his move to the Gold Coast for 2023.

realdeal

Keeping in mind its o ly Rd 1 our whole team and playing style has a sense of groundhog day about it.

How does a team with a brand new coach look more comfortable with their game plan than a team with coach who's been there 3+ years!?

We wont get Clarkson but we'd be negligent not to have an idea of what his plans are....

Look at the much fancied Bombers in round 1, they are shite.

Imagine their forum right now, most of their players would be Kents after the effort so far.

Except for Nick Martin, their SSP.

Starting to think this from Bigfooty sums it up well:

The skill standards in this team are too low and have been this way for the last 10 years.. If you can’t kick, or miss easy handball/marks, you should be out of the team. But we keep playing these same unskilled players and instead adopt a game style that requires little skills (long bomb, pressure game). What you end up with is a unskilled team, fumbles and missed hand balls/kicks. Ratten is just a nicer Richo. Same game plan, same unskilled/dumb players, different year.

If this is correct you can forget Clarkson at Saints suspect it’s a bit cozy down there tbh

Jon Ralph says Ratts doesn't have to play finals to get another contract.

We're prioritising development while also trying to win games apparently.

Not qualified to comment, but I wonder what some of you lot think about Ratten’s game day strategy?

We saw Sinclair and even Kent in the midfield last night. We actually hit the front, didn’t we?

So what happened?

Query the selection choices for sure, but what about game strategy?

What was clearly failing us? Commentators said we didn’t try hard enough at the start. They were adamant, yet Ratts said we were prepared for that kind of thing. My feeling is that we are. It switched on properly and we are not following the message…or not willing enough.

Our personnel are not that bad. But what about the system?

Not qualified to comment, but I wonder what some of you lot think about Ratten’s game day strategy?

We saw Sinclair and even Kent in the midfield last night. We actually hit the front, didn’t we?

So what happened?

Query the selection choices for sure, but what about game strategy?

What was clearly failing us? Commentators said we didn’t try hard enough at the start. They were adamant, yet Ratts said we were prepared for that kind of thing. My feeling is that we are. It switched on properly and we are not following the message…or not willing enough.

Our personnel are not that bad. But what about the system?

He would not take the gig.

Forget Clarkson
Focus maybe Buckley
We are not getting Clarkson and I reckon Bing knows that too …

We need a young ambitious uncompromising coach.

Ratts stabilised the trajectory but seems to lack fire and inspiration for the future.

Big Footy comment may be right: set up accommodates players lacking necessary skills and we are not prepared to churn to get right mix.

Actually felt a bit sorry for Seb last night - has to be last season.

And Butler? Like betting 27 red all the time and wondering why you keep losing.

Teflon wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 4:34pm If this is correct you can forget Clarkson at Saints suspect it’s a bit cozy down there tbh

Prioritising development doesn't square with playing Kent or even keeping him on the list.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 6:32pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 4:34pm If this is correct you can forget Clarkson at Saints suspect it’s a bit cozy down there tbh

Prioritising development doesn't square with playing Kent or even keeping him on the list.
And he’ll coach for his career leaving us in no man’s land

Yorkeys wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 6:29pm We need a young ambitious uncompromising coach.

Ratts stabilised the trajectory but seems to lack fire and inspiration for the future.

Big Footy comment may be right: set up accommodates players lacking necessary skills and we are not prepared to churn to get right mix.

Actually felt a bit sorry for Seb last night - has to be last season.

And Butler? Like betting 27 red all the time and wondering why you keep losing.
Why, he had a good game. Didn't turn the ball over.

But yeah, have to feel sorry for him with all the uninformed ignorant crap posted on this forum about him.

If the team loses more than they win going into the break, I'm pretty sure the club will be having a chat with Clarkson.

ATM I still believe Ratts is our best fit, but what Tony 74 said about Rath has me worried.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 6:54pm If the team loses more than they win going into the break, I'm pretty sure the club will be having a chat with Clarkson.

ATM I still believe Ratts is our best fit, but what Tony 74 said about Rath has me worried.
Indeed. Cryptic comment wasn’t it. Suggests the footy dept relationships are not as well oiled as the cuddly super inclusive image being presented.

No doubt in my mind that Clarko is the most successful and innovative coach of the modern era. He has devised the most innovative and successful strategies of the modern era.

I’d be asking the question .

My dream scenario is for Lethers to weave his magic and get Clarko to take the head coach role and keep Ratts on as his assistant.
I’m not sure they would take our squad into the granny straight up - but the lure of Clarko may bring some of the players we need from other clubs.

would have him take over now

Go visit the thread 'rating ratts each week' and read my 2 posts.

Then tell me what you think

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 19 Mar 2022 6:54pm If the team loses more than they win going into the break, I'm pretty sure the club will be having a chat with Clarkson.

Sorry missed what Tony said about Rath?? Where can I read it

Teflon wrote: Sun 20 Mar 2022 10:08pm

In the Ratten review thread. Tony said Rath has too much influence.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 21 Mar 2022 12:15am
Teflon wrote: Sun 20 Mar 2022 10:08pm

In the Ratten review thread. Tony said Rath has too much influence.
Thanks CQ
That’s a worry….is Ratts just too nice a bloke to say to him but out
For Clarko he was the spreadsheet guy …