Sinclair is an A-Grader

Remember Billings getting drafted,
All those years ago.

Early on, he spoke to the club and told them about a childhood mate who played a lot of footy with him.
Told the club they should maybe check him out, see if he might get a go.
In primary school, the young bloke had written in a diary or scrap book, his aspirations as a grown-up.
Wearing baggy green as a wicket-keeper for the Aussie 1st Eleven, or...running around for the Saints.
Keeper? He sure is (a keeper) :D

It's funny how the prize pick Billings seems to have been overtaken by Sincs, in terms of value to the team.

Sincs has worked so hard, he's raised his own bar- he seems to just get better and better.
Every team in every sport in the world would love a Sinclair.
Someone who embraces hard work.
Someone who always strives to be better.

Re: Sinclair is an A-Grader

Good post, although I think we can start talking about Sinclair in the elite bracket. He's gone past A grade. Smartest player in the team with the skills to match and he's playing at a high level consistently. Thats what the elites do. Amazing how it happened and yes he's gone past Billings in value to the team. Hopefully this will push Billings on his return and we'll start seeing a more consistent game from him also. Has the potential to do the same.

nostalgicsaint

Love Sinclair.

On most recent form arguments could be made that he is pur best player.

That being said, I feel like Saints fans criminally underrate Billings.

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_ ... 2=C&type=A

I'd argue Billings spends much more time in positions which are harder to play too.

The exciting thing to think about is a side with all four of the below in it.

Sinclair
Bilings
Gresham
Clark

Then players like Hill become a nightmare for the opposition.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

At the moment he is A Grade

Billings would have had little to do with his recruitment

nostalgicsaint wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 8:12am Love Sinclair.

I'd argue Billings spends much more time in positions which are harder to play too.

Sinclair
Bilings
Gresham
Clark

Add in Jones and NWM.

B.M wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 10:39am At the moment he is A Grade

Pretty sure it has been written that he pushed for Sinclair. Other than that not much.

Stian

Now, if we can just persuade him to get a decent haircut he will be perfect.

CURLY wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 11:11am

Pretty sure it has been written that he pushed for Sinclair.
Yes, I recall this, too.

If a decision on recruiting was for a player who was being pushed by an 18yo draftee who hadn’t played a game was made, I’d be amazed!

Then again, it’s StK and that sort of amateur behaviour is possible?!

But highly unlikely.

I do remember us recruiting Justin Sweeney on the word of someone loosely connected to the club, who said he had AFL talent. The recruiting staff hadn’t even seen him play!

Fact was, he was a smoker from Tyabb who was chosen in the Stingrays squad but couldn’t be fked Travelling to train in Dandenong!

He was actually OK for Casey in the VFL kicking 40 goals in a season but at 183cm as a marking forward was never going to be up to it at AFL level.

The best local player I have ever seen, never got an opportunity at higher level because of size and discipline- he was 3 times the player that Sweeney was and still tears it up in the MPNFL at 36yo

B.M wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 1:27pm If a decision on recruiting was for a player who was being pushed by an 18yo draftee who hadn’t played a game was made, I’d be amazed!

But highly unlikely.

I do remember us recruiting Justin Sweeney on the word of someone loosely connected to the club, who said he had AFL talent. The recruiting staff hadn’t even seen him play!

Fact was, he was a smoker from Tyabb who was chosen in the Stingrays squad but couldn’t be fked Travelling to train in Dandenong!

He was actually OK for Casey in the VFL kicking 40 goals in a season but at 183cm as a marking forward was never going to be up to it at AFL level.

The best local player I have ever seen, never got an opportunity at higher level because of size and discipline- he was 3 times the player that Sweeney was and still tears it up in the MPNFL at 36yo

The Under 18's format is a horrendous set up. Really need to get recruiters out and about into local leagues there is so much talent that these semi corrupt TAC teams let go.

I think WellardSaints recollection of Billings involvement in Syncs recruitment is accurate.

B.M wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 1:27pm If a decision on recruiting was for a player who was being pushed by an 18yo draftee who hadn’t played a game was made, I’d be amazed!

It’s turned out alright hasn’t it in regards to Sinclair?

Billings’ assessment was spot on.

I see nothing wrong and a lot right with the club investigating a player’s recommendation.

“Take a look at this guy” is where all recruiting decisions - good and bad - start.

But highly unlikely.

Of course it's possible. It went like this. We had a rookie list spot available and in a team meeting - the players were asked as to whether they'd played with anyone who they thought was a good young player but, who didn't get drafted. Billings nominated Sincs who he'd known since he was 9. At that point - Sincs had missed being drafted and had singed to play with Port. The rest is history.

Also - Essendon did this too - Adam Ramanauskas recommended ... Stephen Milne whom he'd played with at Noble Park. He came down and trained with Essendon and ended up in the '99 Essendon reserves GF and then we picked him up as a rookie selection the next season.

Not so amateur hour after all eh?

While I'm wrapt to have Sinclair it just shows how the Private Schoolboys get looked after.

So the recruiting staff (who get paid to analyse talent all around the country!)

Asked players if they knew any good players to draft?

BTW Sinclair was taken pick #1 in the rookie draft the first of 4 rookie’s taken in that draft

He wasn’t the last remaining spot on the list.
Ahmed Saad, Brenton Payne and the redrafted Schneider were all picked after Sinclair

It’s a nice romantic story, but I don’t believe Sinclair was drafted on the Jack Billings say so…

I reckon Jack Sinclair came into the equation when recruiting staff were watching Oakleigh Chargers and in particular Billings and Jack Sinclair impressed.
I know they really liked his VFL games for Port Melbourne in his draft year!

They may have asked JB his opinion about Sincs but it wouldn’t have been a factor.

But highly unlikely.
Billings had been playing for a year when Sinclair was drafted.

I’d also be amazed if he made the decision but try to stick with the facts when taking a swing at the club.

one point

Can’t imagine if Billing’s was asked his opinion that they wouldn’t consider it.

It was in 2018, but I stand to be corrected, when Champion Data caused quite a stir by naming Jack Sinclair as St Kilda's only elite player. There was much debate about his merits but it appears Champion Data was correct.

[quote=nostalgicsaint post_id=1949429 time=1650402745 user_id=23554]
Love Sinclair.

Sinclair
Bilings
Gresham
Clark

[/quote]

I can’t wait to see how good Billings can be in a good side like we are now

nostalgicsaint

Goose is king wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 8:39pm
nostalgicsaint wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 8:12am Love Sinclair.

Sinclair
Bilings
Gresham
Clark

I can’t wait to see how good Billings can be in a good side like we are now

If he can have an injury free run from his return to the start of season 2023 I can see him having as big an impact as Gresham has this year.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

B.M wrote: Wed 20 Apr 2022 3:45pm So the recruiting staff (who get paid to analyse talent all around the country!)

Asked players if they knew any good players to draft?

BTW Sinclair was taken pick #1 in the rookie draft the first of 4 rookie’s taken in that draft

He wasn’t the last remaining spot on the list.
Ahmed Saad, Brenton Payne and the redrafted Schneider were all picked after Sinclair

It’s a nice romantic story, but I don’t believe Sinclair was drafted on the Jack Billings say so…

I reckon Jack Sinclair came into the equation when recruiting staff were watching Oakleigh Chargers and in particular Billings and Jack Sinclair impressed.
I know they really liked his VFL games for Port Melbourne in his draft year!

They may have asked JB his opinion about Sincs but it wouldn’t have been a factor.
Read the post clearly - it didn't say we had one spot remaining. English comprehension isn't that difficult. Regardless, I'm not sure anyone really cares what you believe anyway ... does it really matter? Also - read this - https://www.aflplayers.com.au/news-feed ... the-saints

In any case - why not just revel in the fact that we have a ripper player who came from the clouds. If you're the type to turn a positive to suit your own narrative then, enjoy that but perhaps consider not dragging the rest of the place down to your happy place.

Jack on joining the Saints.

Had a better haircut back then.

Stian

saynta wrote: Thu 21 Apr 2022 3:23pm Had a better haircut back then.
Amen, brother. Surely, only his Mum likes his current one.