Match Thread Saints v Demons Round 8 2022

Re: Match Thread Saints v Demons Round 8 2022

Life Long Saint wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:44pm They're in a different class...They are studying nuclear physics and we're in remedial art.
Bit harsh on the remedial art students. I wasn't good enough to do remedial art. Did nuclear physics though. A doddle in comparison.

st.byron wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:58pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:57pm All our players are suddenly duds Gee some of you people s*** me

Just wait till the after effects of Cairns Sets in most of you will want half our side sacked
It makes me question the coach more than the players. How can ‘bomb it in’ still be an option?
In a way it’s good
Let’s smash this “oh we have so many good players” blah blah we are mediocre and this proves we have beaten lower quality opponents
Do not be fooled by our start to this year
We are not that good

Teflon wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:02pm
The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:57pm All our players are suddenly duds Gee some of you people s*** me

Just wait till the after effects of Cairns Sets in most of you will want half our side sacked
It makes me question the coach more than the players. How can ‘bomb it in’ still be an option?
In a way it’s good
Let’s smash this “oh we have so many good players” blah blah we are mediocre and this proves we have beaten lower quality opponents
We are not that good
Yep agree with you.

axcellence

I am looking forward to 29th May… game against the Kangaroos. Might be the next win, if not against Adelaide.

Sebastian Tombs

Anthony Hudson is a f****** flog

st.byron wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:03pm

In a way it’s good
We are not that good
Yep agree with you.
I disagree with both of you I believe this St. side is a good one

Big comeback on the cards

saintkev

Too slow. Predictable play. Melbourne play, on hit the ball hard. They play for each. We’re a bunch of cruisy individuals. Dumbarses

saintkev

Too slow. Predictable play. Melbourne play, on hit the ball hard. They play for each. We’re a bunch of cruisy individuals. Dumbarses

The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:14pm

In a way it’s good
We are not that good
Yep agree with you.
Firey, it’s not that we’re rubbish. Just lacking in the elite class to genuinely challenge for a flag. I also am not convinced by Ratten.

D.B.Cooper

The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:53pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:51pm
CURLY wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 2:39pm Cleared his hand by a fair bit.
Is that curly .???

Yeah best you start your umpire bashing Thread somewhere else curly
It's a very old pic of a young fella when he was in his prime.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Cairns May have cost us more than we realise but anyway we are playing the best side in the comp
And some of the over reactions in this thread make me laugh

Our boys are trying their guts out but a being out marked and outplayed by a very good side
We will be playing finals football

Playing like they are frightened of them

Seriously

Many are being shown up

D.B.Cooper

Reality check.

We are an improving side who has been absolutely flogged by the competitions premier team.

let's see what we have in the second half to see if we can at least be competitive.

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

Cairns was a momentum killer. We look overawed and outclassed.

Was Gresham even out there that quarter? He started well, but I’ve hardly seen him since

The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:19pm Cairns May have cost us more than we realise but anyway we are playing the best side in the comp

Our boys are trying their guts out but a being out marked and outplayed by a very good side
Our boys will never challenge top 4
Pretend all we like but we carry to many avg footballers against quality

PADDLEPOP1001

st.byron wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:15pm

In a way it’s good
We are not that good
Yep agree with you.
Firey, it’s not that we’re rubbish. Just lacking in the elite class to genuinely challenge for a flag. I also am not convinced by Ratten.
Melbourne are good don’t get me wrong but we have made some very simple mistakes that enables them to get goals,tighten these up a bit & we could be a chance!

PADDLEPOP1000

st.byron wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:15pm

In a way it’s good
We are not that good
Yep agree with you.
Now I can agree with you on that The chance of us winning a flag are slim and have been for a long time but we will play finals I believe this year I reckon they are a good side and will get better

I also agree with you one Ratten. If I was told tomorrow that he was going to be sacked and we were going to get Clarkson it would not worry me
in the meantime gotta give the bloke a chance

The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:19pm Cairns May have cost us more than we realise but anyway we are playing the best side in the comp

Did not effect port

Understand your point fireman

But they playing like they are frightened of them...

A number of our players totally exposed by a bigger/stronger skilled side....

We physically are very small side.

Being brushed aside
Last edited by chook23 on Sun 08 May 2022 3:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

At the game. Firstly the dees are good so not surprised they are winning. My biggest complaint is it’s the old kick forward and hope. We have no structure and the dees are making us pay as then premiers should. On a positive paddy is playing well and the young guys will get a taste of the mvt. Besides that there isn’t a lot to talk about

Teflon wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:22pm

We’ll see

Our players have done their best against a classy team playing their very best football. Our defence - particularly the much-maligned Howard - has stopped a number of what looked like certain goals. Our attack got going to some extent in the last 10 mins of the second quarter.

We’re nowhere near as good as Melbourne, but we’re too 8 material and are steadily getting better.

Anyone whinging today must have had unrealistic expectations.

Ape_Man

Let's just wind the clock back to Mothers Day 28 years ago.

This will be heaps easier.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:25pm
Teflon wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:22pm

We’ll see
The upside is our early youth appear to have more class than some of our fly in players
Guys like Ross etc - todays the day you show the world you’ve taken a step….not against north

saintkid

meher baba wrote: Sun 08 May 2022 3:00pm Melbourne have brought their best game. We’re under enormous pressure. Don’t blame the players.
Yep let's accept that because we never at any stage beforehand expected Melbourne to bring their best game.
That's what WE wanted as a contest and we also thought OUR best game would be competitive today BUT let's NOT blame our poor players and keep accepting mediocrity.
Melbourne were once our easy beats so why can't this team still not be able to go to an elite level?
Too many GOPs on this list that are happy to bask in their own glory.
Unless there is a miraculous 2nd half turnaround, well done to Melbourne bringing their best game to the MCG after 7 straight wins already.
The epitome of 'Eye of the Tiger' on display so far for them today.