Steele Out 8 to 10 weeks

Sebastian Tombs

Re: Steele Out 8 to 10 weeks

Whos going to be the Captain?

Not Geary I wouldn’t think. You need to be able to command a spot in the side.

Maybe Ross or whoever is in the leadership group.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 3:25pm Would hopefully be back around round 18.

Sinclair to the middle and Clark to HB.
Bang on
Sincs into the guts for sure

bigcarl wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 5:33pm Not Geary I wouldn’t think. You need to be able to command a spot in the side.

Membrey?

suss wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:26pm
saynta wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 3:56pm
Saint 58 wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 3:48pm Crude tackle by Kolostomy Bag but that’s something we lack - tackle to hurt
Kolofukme sure tried to f*** over a couple of our players. The prick will keep.
Put his full weight onto Steele with a view to injure. Pretty gutless imo.
Looked that way too

Mr Magic wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 5:41pm
bigcarl wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 5:33pm Not Geary I wouldn’t think. You need to be able to command a spot in the side.

Membrey?
V-Cs Membrey and Howard, Wilkie and Geary the other 2 in the Leadership Group

Obviously a loss but at the same time it’s a real opportunity for someone else to step up

Bytel has looked decent but unable to crack in to this point
Clark is obviously straight in
Owen is good at that level
NWM will undoubtedly get more opportunity
Connolly as well has been really good at Sandy and can’t get a look

Windy has a chance to stay in as well as he’s been looking good

If one of those (Clark pbly doesn’t belong in the conversation as he’s already top 22) can step up and cement a spot… it would all be worth it

kosifantutti wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 5:23pm When Ben Long tackles to hurt that’s good football.

Is that how it works?
Sure, Long tackles to hurt. That has been going on since Adam was a boy, but Ben doesn't tackle to put an opposition player out of the game for half a season.

I was tempted to say it's a man's game after all, but that isn't true these days. :twisted:

Killa

In terms of Captaincy, I would think Membrey (including taking more responsibility around the ground so up and back, with a "resting" ruck plus Sharman giving height support to King)

Whilst not quite like for like, this will provide opportunity to Byrnes and Bytel.

Supported by Crouch, Gresham, Jones and Ross, Ross now becoming more important due to his physique.

Then the developing Windhager and Owen getting opportunity to assist.

Jones, now with a couple of games under the belt, seemed to find his "mojo" as the Geelong match wore on.

Then there is Clark, where I would doubt they would throw him straight into the midfield (so a back flank, freeing up Sinclair?).

And who does the return of Wanganeen-Milera free up from a wing?

It is the responsibility of the remainder of the List to ensure we remain in contention for Finals football pending Steele's return.

And how handy would it be if the German trip delivers Hanneberry?

They certainly are not leaving any stone not turned.

And fair enough.

Then there is Higgins and Butler to return, so taking the pressure off mids rotating forward and kicking goals.

This is where the integrity of our List will be subject to audit.

Plus, absent Coffield (now running again) and Hayes, we have the option to go to the mid-season Draft seeking a big bodied mid-fielder.

So any stand out performers in the VFL or in the SA v WA State game today?

Killa wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 6:43pm In terms of Captaincy, I would think Membrey (including taking more responsibility around the ground so up and back, with a "resting" ruck plus Sharman giving height support to King)

Whilst not quite like for like, this will provide opportunity to Byrnes and Bytel.

Supported by Crouch, Gresham, Jones and Ross, Ross now becoming more important due to his physique.

Then the developing Windhager and Owen getting opportunity to assist.

Jones, now with a couple of games under the belt, seemed to find his "mojo" as the Geelong match wore on.

Then there is Clark, where I would doubt they would throw him straight into the midfield (so a back flank, freeing up Sinclair?).

And who does the return of Wanganeen-Milera free up from a wing?

It is the responsibility of the remainder of the List to ensure we remain in contention for Finals football pending Steele's return.

And how handy would it be if the German trip delivers Hanneberry?

They certainly are not leaving any stone not turned.

And fair enough.

Then there is Higgins and Butler to return, so taking the pressure off mids rotating forward and kicking goals.

This is where the integrity of our List will be subject to audit.

Plus, absent Coffield (now running again) and Hayes, we have the option to go to the mid-season Draft seeking a big bodied mid-fielder.

So any stand out performers in the VFL or in the SA v WA State game today?
Love your posts mate.

Bugger.
Incredible effort to play out the match.

Clark and Bytel the closest match

Do Sandy play today or is it a Bye?

Banger9798 wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 6:53pm Bugger.
Incredible effort to play out the match.

Clark and Bytel the closest match

Do Sandy play today or is it a Bye?
Bye

Perhaps Membrey, Wilkie & Howard can share the captaincy week about?

silverhalo

I'd expect Membrey to take the reins....

silverhalo

PADDLEPOP1001 wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:02pm They were just saying Elliott from the pies will be back next week (6 Weeks) from an identical injury to Jack we have Nth & The bye amongst the next few weeks,bring Clark in & put Sincs in the midfield & Windy somewhere!
I wouldn't be moving Sincs from defence, playing career best footy down there and gives us plenty of run from the backline. We have other midfield options we can call on before we resort to doing, Bytel the obvious choice IMO

No good.

I think Windy can step up and secure a mid spot.

sendmehomehappy

ace wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:50pm
bigcarl wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:38pm
suss wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:26pm
saynta wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 3:56pm
Saint 58 wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 3:48pm Crude tackle by Kolostomy Bag but that’s something we lack - tackle to hurt
Kolofukme sure tried to f*** over a couple of our players. The prick will keep.
Put his full weight onto Steele with a view to injure. Pretty gutless imo.
Dog
Worse than a dog, he is a cat.
Yep, the prick slammed his full weight onto Jack, intending to hurt him bad. Sadly, he succeeded.
Even worse, from memory, it was outside of the field of play on or over the boundary line.

Kolonshack's turn will come.

I like both dogs and cats, so I won't call him either.

Unbelievable guts from our captain to continue on.

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

Due to Sandringham having a bye this week, Clark will need another week in the vfl

Crouch got 36 touches or something, he's already doing a heap of work, and Ross is genuinely a super-effective player now.
We'll miss Steele, but we won't miss him, if that makes sense

Surely Byrnes gets a look. He's been emergency for how many weeks now? Crouch, Ross and Windy can have the bull duties. Get the kid in and watch him tear it apart I reckon. Kid has something. Bit of the Jack Steven about him. Would hate to see him waste away in the Magoos. Clark will need another week in the VFL.( And another year in a gym.) Saw him down the street the other day. Can someone get a sandwich into him please (he looks sooo skinny) No muscle definition in his legs. You'd never pick him for an AFL player.

repta

I think this is make or break for the saints.

For too long the Saints have been reliant on Steele.

His absence will give opportunities to other to step up. Some breathing room in the mid field. Time for us to find an alternative engine room. Also a time for someone to step up as captain and show their leadership.

The Saints improvement has come this year with more taking the load. I believe they will step up further.

The Steele back for a few games to lead into the finals. If it had to happen it is Good timing. We have the Bye, enough time to get him match fit and find additional avenues which will be needed to match it with Melbourne (and the rest of the 6 clubs making up the finals).

StPeter

It's a shame that his absence will probably cost him All Australian selection.

He looked a certainty before the injury, but in the highly-contested midfield position,

there are many other candidates to consider and it gives the selectors an out.

This really hurts in many ways. Not only is Steele a great leader and player but he has a big body. Something we lack in the midfield and desperately need against the top teams

StPeter wrote: Mon 16 May 2022 12:40pm It's a shame that his absence will probably cost him All Australian selection.

He looked a certainty before the injury, but in the highly-contested midfield position,

there are many other candidates to consider and it gives the selectors an out.
I actually think Steele was ok but nothing like last year before injury tbh
I think it’s great we can and should be able to cover him

silverhalo wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 8:51pm
PADDLEPOP1001 wrote: Sun 15 May 2022 4:02pm They were just saying Elliott from the pies will be back next week (6 Weeks) from an identical injury to Jack we have Nth & The bye amongst the next few weeks,bring Clark in & put Sincs in the midfield & Windy somewhere!
I wouldn't be moving Sincs from defence, playing career best footy down there and gives us plenty of run from the backline. We have other midfield options we can call on before we resort to doing, Bytel the obvious choice IMO
Sinclair stepped in to middle against Pies and turned the game - he’s done more in the midfield than Clark
Clarke gets some match conditioning off hbf
Sincs has to midfield plus the added bonus of his foot skills going into forward 50 will have our forwards drooling