Heathens

D.B.Cooper

Re: Heathens

The Fireman wrote: Wed 06 Jul 2022 6:15pm believe me that was real
“Imagine rooting something that Shane’s rooted” 😂😂😂

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 06 Jul 2022 9:57pm
i hear ya :oops:
poor old shane

Here's a 'short' still on youtube

D.B.Cooper

The Fireman wrote: Wed 06 Jul 2022 10:21pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Wed 06 Jul 2022 9:57pm
i hear ya :oops:
poor old shane
I hope you’re not Shane 😂😂😂

Surely it wasn’t the great man Warnie?

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!
The Linton Street Flash

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 05 Jul 2022 11:22pm Cultural cringe genre was popular then, along with satire, irony posing as a social documentary.

Movie art school types reveling in the art of ugly bogans being shown to their peers. I was a little snob then too, but i was too lazy and not talented to make a movie about it.

Compassion and humanness comes, only after the scene is set. Techo/house beats, something these bogans don't know, play over the intro, as pimples, fat guts are displayed for us to frolly over.

Edit: I hate my self for making the comment..don't really know why.
Couldn’t agree with this more.

I had a bit to do with this at the time and always thought it was sneering and lacking any kind of compassion or affection for its subject matter.

Probably the most interesting thing about these guys was that each one of them had a story to tell beyond their antics at the footy but the filmmaker, smug and self righteous that she was, refused to show it.

Needless to say, the film ended up being little more than a heartless, exploitative load of so what?

What a shame, it could have been half decent but I always thought the end product was weak and half cooked.

Look again it's the Flash!!

Maybe that’s why she refused to show it. It’s a short film made by one person with very limited resources filmed on camcorder.

I wouldn’t be expecting too much.

The Linton Street Flash

SaintPav wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 8:55am Maybe that’s why she refused to show it. It’s a short film made by one person with very limited resources filmed on camcorder.

I wouldn’t be expecting too much.
You don’t need a budget to have a heart! :)

Look again it's the Flash!!

No need to over analyse it and I think it’s good to have some of that footage for history sake

And no I’m not Shane I think he may have passed on

SaintDippa

Hoping the reference was to Tony not Damen.

Hopefully one would be shown the door if you behaved like that these days. Confronting and highly offensive.

is that boganism ?

is that our cultural root stock ?

i remember those days as ... go hard or go home

it was outrageous
... there was plenty of fun to be had but

saynta wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 10:53am Hopefully one would be shown the door if you behaved like that these days. Confronting and highly offensive.
No, the days of fans going nuts like that have long been a thing of the past now. Swearing at the footy is barely tolerated these days. It has become too family oriented.
Last edited by Sainternist on Fri 08 Jul 2022 1:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sainternist wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 1:15pm
saynta wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 10:53am Hopefully one would be shown the door if you behaved like that these days. Confronting and highly offensive.
No, the days of fans going nuts like have long been a thing of the past now. Swearing at the footy is barely tolerated now. It has become too family oriented.
And a good job too. At school I hated prefects and snitches. But I would not hesitate to dob in arseholes who carried on like that these days.

Can't imagine the mentality or IQ of bogan louts who carried on like that nor with the filth coming out of their mouths in front of a young woman with a camera. Not on IMHFO.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 10:20am And no I’m not Shane I think he may have passed on
Are you Justin, the slightly crazed looking one seen with the transistor radio pressed up against his ear? :lol:

Sainternist wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 2:11pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 10:20am And no I’m not Shane I think he may have passed on
Are you Justin, the slightly crazed looking one seen with the transistor radio pressed up against his ear? :lol:
Luckily I didn’t make the cut but I do know all in it

The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 2:47pm
I just asked a mate who did some of the postproduction for it. He said that Megan Spencer didn’t get clearances from her cast for the final cut and release. Some of them were pretty unhappy about how they were portrayed in it haha I’d like to think I’d be able to look back and laugh at it all. Just wear it like a badge of honour! :mrgreen:

Sainternist wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 3:33pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 2:47pm
I just asked a mate who did some of the postproduction for it. He said that Megan Spencer didn’t get clearances from her cast for the final cut and release. Some of them were pretty unhappy about how they were portrayed in it haha I’d like to think I’d be able to look back and laugh at it all. Just wear it like a badge of honour! :mrgreen:
No, the priority would be to cut as deep and fast as possible.

The world was changing rapidly then.

Suddenly, from about 1984 - 1993, a huge gap opened up.

You could make your mark, your statement, by pointing at the bogan.

By 1995, the internet destroyed it.

I love the last days of the pre-internet world.

Movies were no longer epic, but they were sharp in dialogue.

As was music.

THen the great 'hammer' came down upon us.

Cancel culture followed in it's wake.

When Megan or whatever, whomever, made this movie, they had a ready-made audience. Good play! Fair enough. Living in Fitzroy in the mid-eighties, you had every right to laugh off 'footy bogans'.

Then, suddenly Fitzroy becomes expensive, yuppies have babies, pubs close down but most of all, the internet comes. It's all over.

“By 1995, the internet destroyed it”.

Who was using the internet in 1995?

Seriously, stop talking s***.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 09 Jul 2022 12:42am “By 1995, the internet destroyed it”.

Haha his rant gave me a good laugh.

But yeah, in 1995 the internet was something maybe 10% of the population knew about it and only 1% of the population may have had access to it. It wasn’t until about 1999 when it really took off. Old Fitzroy was well and truly gentrified by then!

Definitely had internet in 95

Using Yahoo

Dial Up

Took 30 seconds to load up fake nudes of Celebs!

Sainternist wrote: Sat 09 Jul 2022 5:03am
SaintPav wrote: Sat 09 Jul 2022 12:42am “By 1995, the internet destroyed it”.

Haha his rant gave me a good laugh.

But yeah, in 1995 the internet was something maybe 10% of the population knew about it and only 1% of the population may have had access to it. It wasn’t until about 1999 when it really took off. Old Fitzroy was well and truly gentrified by then!
I doubt that those numbers were even that high. Not even half that. Still at the early adopter phase on the S curve and hadn’t yet had any cultural impact that he claims it did.
Last edited by SaintPav on Sat 09 Jul 2022 10:04am, edited 1 time in total.

B.M wrote: Sat 09 Jul 2022 5:30am Definitely had internet in 95

Using Yahoo

Dial Up

Took 30 seconds to load up fake nudes of Celebs!
You must have been ahead of your time.

Yahoo was barely around and wasn’t mainstream.

the dot com boom went busto at the end of the 90's

so a fair few were well in on it ... sort of obviously
before '99

my sister made her first fortune from it
... a couple of her penny dreadful bets paid off handsomely

yahoo being one of em

yahoo games was a global affair

the yanks the arabs were doing hand to hand combat
with us aussies ripping into both mobs

see any history on the gaming room known as 'Everest'
to confirm my observations

lewdogs

Honestly the film could have been longer and actually gone a bit into the guys. They were all such fascinating characters. It's an incredible watch just to see how much things have changed, although you can still see a bit of this in standing room.

The quiet bloke seems so interesting.

The end is pretty great where they have a confrontation with some other supporters.