Going to Adelaide

We have got our tickets (not St Kilda Allocation as we were able to get front row 2nd level through general)

I was wondering if anyone else was thinking of going and if we know whether the club is organising transport etc?

Re: Going to Adelaide

Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 1:57pm We have got our tickets (not St Kilda Allocation as we were able to get front row 2nd level through general)

I was wondering if anyone else was thinking of going and if we know whether the club is organising transport etc?
How did you get tickets I didnt they were released yet?

outside66

Impatient Sainter wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 3:12pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 1:57pm We have got our tickets (not St Kilda Allocation as we were able to get front row 2nd level through general)

How did you get tickets I didnt they were released yet?
The club sent out some staggered emails this morning with codes you can use to unlock free tickets. I have several memberships but only received 2 emails.

Thanks.

Heading over with a mate on the thursday. He follows Melb so we are doing Friday night /Sat Arvo/ Sunday Arvo weekend.

older saint wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 5:39pm Heading over with a mate on the thursday. He follows Melb so we are doing Friday night /Sat Arvo/ Sunday Arvo weekend.
Beware of that West End stuff.
Or start accustoming your palate soon, gently at first. Adelaide water, eh

Go our tickets this afternoon, games Saturday/Sunday.

Yorkeys wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 6:31pm
older saint wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 5:39pm Heading over with a mate on the thursday. He follows Melb so we are doing Friday night /Sat Arvo/ Sunday Arvo weekend.
Adelaide water used to be undrinkable. One port in the world where cruise ships refused to refill their tanks.

Don't know if it has improved since I was last there.
Last edited by saynta on Tue 13 Dec 2022 10:28am, edited 1 time in total.

saynta wrote: Mon 12 Dec 2022 6:54pm
Adelaide water used to be undrinkable. One port in the world where cruise ships refused ti refill their tanks.

don't know if it has improved since I was last there.
I was there last week - it's worlds apart now. It's like they finally moved into the twentieth century......

Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .
West end is used to clean oil stains isn't it?

older saint wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 1:25pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .
Real men drank Southwark.

There are cemeteries full of rhem in SA.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 2:07pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

There seem to be cemeteries everywhere in SA and not all of them have fences around them

older saint wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 5:10pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

There seem to be cemeteries everywhere in SA and not all of them have fences around them
Thats the Irish convicts in there, they are still trying to get home.

CQ SAINT wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 8:08pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

You are desperately in need of a history lesson.

There were no convicts transported to Sth Aussie.

saynta wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 8:21pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

Too harsh a punishment?

Yorkeys wrote: Tue 13 Dec 2022 9:37pm
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

Too harsh a punishment?
:lol: :lol: :wink:

Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

History lesson? Depends on who you believe

Interestingly, the Acts of Union and the Catholic Emancipation Act ebentually became the catalyst for the Assisted Transport Scheme, because their was just no end to the pesky French/Irish/Catholic peasants.

My apologies, I should have said, freely transported indentured irish labourers.

You see, some British tosser decided to not f*** South Australia and Victoria up, like all the other Penis Colonies were and said let's not encourage commoners to engage convict labour.
They decided they wouldn't give land away, and instead, they would sell it.
Guess who bought it all and set up protestant Irish land lord's to sponsor hundreds of poor, unemployed, catholic Irish peasants?

Yep, The South Australian Company.

So you could hang around in your home village, getting harassed by British and Irish protestant authorities or, piss off to Australia for a 7 year apprenticeship, with your boss, who basically owns you, till the price of your trip is paid off, after the cost of living, rent and store credit is taken away and you put some aside to keep your end of the bargain and purchase your own land and sponsor more indentured labourers.

South Australia went bankrupt pretty quick. Who bought up the land. Same blokes, but this time they used British Government Money.

Oh. Then we have a potato famine, Rinse repeat.

Pppffft. History lesson. Your talking about a history that some of my ancestors lived. What the f*** would you know?

What you were taught at school. I bet.

CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 14 Dec 2022 12:38am
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

Interestingly, the Acts of Union and the Catholic Emancipation Act ebentually became the catalyst for the Assisted Transport Scheme, because their was just no end to the pesky French/Irish/Catholic peasants.

My apologies, I should have said, freely transported indentured irish labourers.

You see, some British tosser decided to not f*** South Australia and Victoria up, like all the other Penis Colonies were and said let's not encourage commoners to engage convict labour.
Guess who bought it all and set up protestant Irish land lord's to sponsor hundreds of poor, unemployed, catholic Irish peasants?

So you could hang around in your home village, getting harassed by British and Irish protestant authorities or, piss off to Australia for a 7 year apprenticeship, with your boss, who basically owns you, till the price of your trip is paid off, after the cost of living, rent and store credit is taken away and you put some aside to keep your end of the bargain and purchase your own land and sponsor more indentured labourers.

South Australia went bankrupt pretty quick. Who bought up the land. Same blokes, but this time they used British Government Money.

Pppffft. History lesson. Your talking about a history that some of my ancestors lived. What the f*** would you know?
You are not the only one who had ancestors here from that time, only mine weren't silly enough to live in Sth Australia. No need to get narky though as I was correct with my original statement. There were no convicts transported to that part of Australia. Some might have escaped there though.

https://www.huffpost.com/archive/au/ent ... _n_9163660

"South Australians have always prided themselves on having a "better" history than other colonies. The brag-worthy reasons were these:

1.SA was settled on rational economic principles;

2.SA was more progressive in terms of social and political development;

3.SA was settled by free people and no convicts.

But…hold on! That last fact is actually fiction. Just because there were no transported convicts to SA, doesn’t mean there weren’t any convicts there.
Advertisement

Sadly, the good people of SA can no longer brag about being the only state in Australia settled by free people -- with the discovery that two police constables and a Lord Mayor were escaped convicts.

. No Convicts There. But there was! Picture Supplied

Records obtained by Findmypast reveal the two police officers, Josiah James Rogers and Thomas Jones, had rather deviously scored themselves positions in South Australia's first paid police force in 1838.

The men were both listed as "1840s Police Constable [in] Adelaide" when they were actually escaped convicts.
Advertisement

South Australia was founded in 1836 and was incredibly proud of its status as "the first colony to be populated by free settlers" -- setting it apart from states like NSW settled by convicts.

The discovery that two police constables were tainted by the convict label was not a joyful moment for the Acting Governor who expressed his "surprise and displeasure" upon their eventual discovery.

Yet, according to the book Turning Points: Chapters in South Australian History, edited by Robert Foster and Paul Sendziuk, the two police constables did not lose their jobs. Because "the work was so poorly-paid and replacements hard to find, the two men were allowed to remain in the force".

Another colourful SA character with a convict past is Daniel Fisher, a former convict who became mayor of Kensington and Norwood in 1863 and later served as Member of the South Australian Parliament.
Advertisement

Fisher had been sentenced to transportation to Van Diemen's Land after committing a minor offence. However, as his South Australia Ex-convict record on findmypast reveals, Daniel Fisher was vindicated of the allegations some 33 years after he'd received his sentence.

Thankfully, when his accuser "confessed to falsehoods on his deathbed". Fisher went on to receive a full pardon from the Queen.

They sent 5heir convicts to Tassie and Vic which was part of NSW.

It hurts when Kiwis and SA brag about their ‘clean’ past.

Great work Saynta and CQ,
I love a saintsational history lesson.
Had no idea about any of that.

The South Australia company went broke because if you purchased a farm in rural South Australia, you were given an acre in Adelaide.
The most fertile properties were bought by the same politicians who drafted the Act. Then they leased there interests to Scottish and Irish Protestants landlords, who imported indentured labour. The even got the union movements in England at the time to chip in for transport just to get more peasants out of the place because all the gaols were full of vagrants. Free people my f***** ass and not many of them were successful in fullfulling the labour contract because the scheme went broke.
These people were the families of the 20,000 convicts they already sent here. But these weren't slaves. They were coming for their fair go and the ones that ended up on these British owned properties prospered. But alas, there was no fertile land left.
So, the South Australia company, bought back most of the, now established, 1 acre Adelaide blocks they gave away free and encouraged investment in failing farms that were bought. The labourers just left, free people, exercising their 'fair go'. Pffft.

Oh. Just so you could enjoy your freedom, you couldnt be represented in parliament in South Aus at the time, if you were Catholic and you had to go to a Church of England. More freedom and liberty for the lucky Irish catholic free settlers. To be sure, To be sure.

saynta wrote: Wed 14 Dec 2022 11:10am
CQ SAINT wrote: Wed 14 Dec 2022 12:38am
Water in bottle only
Coopers, bottle of red .

You are not the only one who had ancestors here from that time, only mine weren't silly enough to live in Sth Australia. No need to get narky though as I was correct with my original statement. There were no convicts transported to that part of Australia. Some might have escaped there though.

https://www.huffpost.com/archive/au/ent ... _n_9163660

"South Australians have always prided themselves on having a "better" history than other colonies. The brag-worthy reasons were these:

1.SA was settled on rational economic principles;

2.SA was more progressive in terms of social and political development;

3.SA was settled by free people and no convicts.

But…hold on! That last fact is actually fiction. Just because there were no transported convicts to SA, doesn’t mean there weren’t any convicts there.
Advertisement

Sadly, the good people of SA can no longer brag about being the only state in Australia settled by free people -- with the discovery that two police constables and a Lord Mayor were escaped convicts.

. No Convicts There. But there was! Picture Supplied

Records obtained by Findmypast reveal the two police officers, Josiah James Rogers and Thomas Jones, had rather deviously scored themselves positions in South Australia's first paid police force in 1838.

The men were both listed as "1840s Police Constable [in] Adelaide" when they were actually escaped convicts.
Advertisement

South Australia was founded in 1836 and was incredibly proud of its status as "the first colony to be populated by free settlers" -- setting it apart from states like NSW settled by convicts.

The discovery that two police constables were tainted by the convict label was not a joyful moment for the Acting Governor who expressed his "surprise and displeasure" upon their eventual discovery.

Yet, according to the book Turning Points: Chapters in South Australian History, edited by Robert Foster and Paul Sendziuk, the two police constables did not lose their jobs. Because "the work was so poorly-paid and replacements hard to find, the two men were allowed to remain in the force".

Another colourful SA character with a convict past is Daniel Fisher, a former convict who became mayor of Kensington and Norwood in 1863 and later served as Member of the South Australian Parliament.
Advertisement

Fisher had been sentenced to transportation to Van Diemen's Land after committing a minor offence. However, as his South Australia Ex-convict record on findmypast reveals, Daniel Fisher was vindicated of the allegations some 33 years after he'd received his sentence.

Thankfully, when his accuser "confessed to falsehoods on his deathbed". Fisher went on to receive a full pardon from the Queen.
Apologies.

There were around 180,000 convicts transported to Australia from pommie land.

They turned out to be the lucky ones as Australia has prospered while old blighty has stagnated.

We are even better than them at cricket.