Membrey named

Re: Membrey named

B.M wrote: Thu 13 Apr 2023 9:29pm Leadership… seriously

He led the chorus with his mad Monday exploits, that’s about it

In a forward line with an eleven gamer and two 4 games

He’s been the 4th best tall forward!

I know we love to stick up for saints players, but seriously
He’s about as good as Dean Kent
He’s hardly got a kick and two of his three goals were gifted to him by kids.

Sorry to say it how it is, but he’s BOG

It’s funny, we question a proven good player like Seb Ross, but defend a Gumby???

Happy he’s on the list as back up - like Campbell- but that’s it

Cordy over the 4 wins has probably been the least effective player
We are 17th for converting entries into scores - he doesn’t help!
Speaking of career gumbies, weren't you talking up Campbell, who, surprise, surprise after a hundred or two, games of VFL, is killing it at Sandy.

Campbell probably recommended we recruit Cordy, seem he might of kept him out of the Bulldogs line up too.

desertsaint wrote: Thu 13 Apr 2023 9:36pm you'd hope he comes in via sandy - teams on a roll and any player yet to have a run in 23 need to prove matchfit and earn a spot.
Mnn

It's a little bit of shall we 'press pause' or 'press go'..
Inclined to press GO,

Collingwood is not Tim's best opposing team looking at stas (for whatever they are worth) but then Owens got done by teh Pies last year in taht first game. revenge?

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/breaki ... 9454eba394

Who is defending Cordy other than his role playing worth as giving RoMa a breather, allowing Caminiti & Owens to continue as the focal forwards.

You brought up Seb, no one else...no one else even alluded that one gets more favouritism or defence. I am sure you'll warm to Cordy if he snags a B&F vote.

This is about positional balance, not talent or ball winning abilities. We need Cordy if Membrey or King are not AFL fit enough to take their positions.

If Membrey plays and, seeing as the Magpies don't have a recognised ruckman, then I think Owens should be second ruck. We recruited him to be a big on-ball ruck-rover type anyway (a la Cripps, Fyffe - once he gets enough fitness) so why not as second ruck for this game?

Rubyjo

CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 13 Apr 2023 10:13pm

It’s funny, we question a proven good player like Seb Ross, but defend a Gumby???

Speaking of career gumbies, weren't you talking up Campbell, who, surprise, surprise after a hundred or two, games of VFL, is killing it at Sandy.
RTB will sort it ..think he likes Cordy.

I wouldn’t mind seeing Campbell get a go. Cordy’s contribution is a bit overrated here IMO.

diddley

skeptic wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 12:29am I wouldn’t mind seeing Campbell get a go. Cordy’s contribution is a bit overrated here IMO.
I have no problem having Cordy play at the moment. I will have a problem if Cordy is still playing when our injury list shrinks, and our quality talls start to come back. As B.M. said, he is about as good as Dean Kent. Serviceable, but don’t build your team around him.

Rubyjo wrote: Thu 13 Apr 2023 11:30pm
CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 13 Apr 2023 10:13pm

RTB will sort it ..think he likes Cordy.
Cordy has one of those little medallions that the AFL covet, so dearly. Oh how I wish I was a Gumby.

Quietly efficient. Big, gets to good contested spots, skilled both sides, tackles stick, protects smaller players. Maybe a coincidence Butler and Higgins are better with Zane in the side? Maybe his presence gives defenders pause for thought and that's often enough. Some criticism seem so gratuitous to me, guy more than does his role. In the past we have lacked big bodies that can be relied on. Now we have one but we don't like beige, we want a red one. Fickle?

RTB does seem to like him
I’m going to let the cobbler do the cobbling ..

Good cobbling is a dying art form.

Hardly any good ones around these days.

Maybe have members as sub. If his match fitness is a concern have him ready to go for the last half/quarter if required. Cordi playing well but he isn’t as good as members is if members if fully fit and firing which he isn’t yet.

Plus if it rains and the ground becomes muddy it’s probably not the best game for a guy with a recovering knee injury

Yorkeys wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 9:12am Quietly efficient. Big, gets to good contested spots, skilled both sides, tackles stick, protects smaller players. Maybe a coincidence Butler and Higgins are better with Zane in the side? Maybe his presence gives defenders pause for thought and that's often enough. Some criticism seem so gratuitous to me, guy more than does his role. In the past we have lacked big bodies that can be relied on. Now we have one but we don't like beige, we want a red one. Fickle?
I think that might be close to the mark.

Didn't Higgo snap one off his left in the last, about 35 out, more or less in front?

That handball receive was a spear from Cordy, from the middle of a congested area.

Cordy saw/knew/intuited that Higgo was out there and shot it out.

I, like others here, am straining to see the impact of Cordy and the reason he is being picked. So I am guessing it is 'those little things'.
(and trying to remember Zac Dawson was good)

Watch the same guys defending him jump off when we start losing a few and we look for scapegoats

I’ll remember the posters who have lept to his defence- and remind them

And yes, if he wins a B&F I will be converted to a Cordy fan, if he wins 2 I will call him a gun!

But seriously do you think he will even get in the top 20

He’s been the lowest ranked player this year

Premiership player - many a s*** player has played in a premiership team

The worst player in a premiership team is never as good as the best player in a bottom team

B.M wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 1:01pm Watch the same guys defending him jump off when we start losing a few and we look for scapegoats

And yes, if he wins a B&F I will be converted to a Cordy fan, if he wins 2 I will call him a gun!

The worst player in a premiership team is never as good as the best player in a bottom team
I think Ross is backing in the guys who have got it done so far. Nothing wrong with that. It’s a good policy.

Obviously he thinks Cordy is important structurally.

amusingname

B.M wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 1:01pm Watch the same guys defending him jump off when we start losing a few and we look for scapegoats

You seem to have created an argument in your own mind and are now annoyed with it!

Where are people saying he is a gun player? It seems the question is do we play Membrey, who hasn't played all year and cannot chop out Marshall in the ruck, or Cordy, who regardless of form has been playing senior footy for the first 4 rounds and gives some form of contest in the ruck? I suspect when Membrey is completely ready to go (next week), it will be Cordy who goes and the ruck relief goes back to Owens/Battle or if we come up against a two ruck matchup, Campell may come in. Cordy is doing his job as a mature body who can get through a match at the moment, when injuries aren't as much of an issue I presume he becomes a fringe backup player who can play both ends, as he was recruited to be.

No - I just think he’s a a pretty ordinary player

And hasn’t done anything to suggest otherwise

We are quick to criticise when we are losing - but players can be poor in a winning team

He is one of those

I’ll guarantee when we start losing a few (inevitably)

He’ll be the first criticised - by the very people defending him on this thread

No - I just think he’s a a pretty ordinary player

We are quick to criticise when we are losing - but players can be poor in a winning team

He is one of those

B.M wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 2:27pm No - I just think he’s a a pretty ordinary player

He is one of those

You're right BM

One loss and the knives will be out for Cordy pretty quick.

He's a limited player, not a criticism, just reality, and while he's filled a role, that's all he's done.

Membrey will be an upgrade when he's ready to come in.

WTF are you on about? No one has been staunchly defending him like he's a superstar of the team. He's important structurally. This 'warning' you put out is laughable of when we start losing. The point is he's played every game and we haven't lost yet. Secondly your replacement player in the ruck is a 19 year old kid in his 2nd year who we drafted as a mid. Sure he's strong and brave but will you stick your hand up IF he gets injured playing in the ruck? Even Ross himself says it's the most thankless, brutal position on the ground. I'm not sure what the answer is, and yeah, I'd love him to be a more talented player, but he's tough and he has a crack - just need him to find the ball a bit more.

While we keep winning I'm loathe to change too much at all as I reckon Ross is too. IF we start to lose, then obviously changes will be made.

You can’t change a winning team???

What if King was available

Steele was available

That is nonsense

Even in a big win - there are non contributors

Wins wallpaper over cracks - our conversations of i50s to scores is 17th in the league - better forwards come in - he’s gone imo

Do you honestly believe winning has anything to do with Cordy being in the team?

Mote to the point is Membery match fit to play the game plan that we are playing this year?
Possibly a run in the VFL will get him up to the match fitness required.

Averaging
7 disposals
5 hit outs

bigcarl wrote: Fri 14 Apr 2023 1:29pm

I think Ross is backing in the guys who have got it done so far. Nothing wrong with that. It’s a good policy.

Obviously he thinks Cordy is important structurally.
That's it in a nutshell. If Membrey & King were both fit and available, they would be playing. Cordy helps with structure in the meantime. Perhaps we should covet premiership medals a little more than the individual ones.