Match Thread Saints v Power Round 7 2023

Re: Match Thread Saints v Power Round 7 2023

Port looked fresher after quarter time.

We made some dumb errors and our movement from D50 to F50 was constipated. As for our forward half there wasn't enough lateral movement and we kept bombing it in.

Phillipou was running up and down in the spot after quarter time. He was knackered and had a poor game.

Membrey is very poor defensively and we can't afford that with our games plan

We miss Caminiti.

The Cordy experiment can't go on forever

Overall, we looked fatigued and errors and fumbles cost is dearly

SydneySainter wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:40pm Call it for what it was, we were s**t and Port (as ALWAYS) have found us out.

Just as in 2022, we’ll struggle to win games of footy from here.
Please remove the "ainter" and replace with "ook".

Otiman wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:49pm
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:46pm Membrey poor.
Does Caminiti come in for Membrey? (Big call, I know).
If you have King Caminit available plus Owens up there…
Yes is my view
Gotta move forward
That said geez I’d like Owens in the middle sooner than later ….we just don’t have that quality to drag a few clearances when you need ‘em….
Steeles caught with the footy when we felt like we might surge hurt ….but his captains goal made up for it
Not sure why Philipou would try kick around the corner at goal tonight or why Battle in the goal square can’t kick over man on the mark but anyway..

The Battle error was either lazy or a slow mind, I suspect the latter. Which is why Battle & Howard do not OR should not take kick outs.

Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:51pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:45pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:44pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:41pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:38pm
bobmurray wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:37pm
The Fireman wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:34pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:30pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:29pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:27pm
meher baba wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:25pm
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:23pm Byrnes and Paton must go. Both a liability.
I'm sorry to have to say it, but I thought they both had significantly better games than Philippou.
Yep true but both were garbage.
I'm hardly one of his fans, but I noticed Paton do quite a few good things. What was wrong with his game exactly?
I think you’re a Collingwood troll if you honestly saw the game like that ….seriously
I think you need to take a breather mate
he's now worried Ross might not be the messiah. :lol: :lol:
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
I was making an excuse for you trying to making a fool of yourself. :lol: :lol:
Or just being a flog
It matters little …,you’re light on for footy opinions I note …maybe internet brownie points more your thing?
Whatever floats your boat I guess …
I think you'll always out flog me, but i don't mind.
Oh I think you flog a bit..
I know when i'm out flogged though, especially reading the replies to your posts. Did you watch the game with Sydney ?

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:46pm Paton was not the problem tonight. Anyone who wishes to single Paton out has NFI. Byrnes tried and not the worst but Billings can see his opportunity.
Membrey poor.
Phillipou needs a spell.
Cordy cannot wait for King to be fit (neither can the rest of us).
A howler by Battle, stop listening to Howard about moving back from the mark.
Marshall is awesome but he's a ruck-rover / utility (B.M. will love those descriptions)
We cannot have Steele, Crouch & Ross in the same centre bounce. One of Clark, Gresham, Owens, Phillipou need to be there.
Paton in the heat of battle and clutch moments let us down at least 3 times that killed us going forward
Anyone who couldn’t see those has NFI

bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:00am
CURLY wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:23pm Byrnes and Paton must go. Both a liability.
I'm sorry to have to say it, but I thought they both had significantly better games than Philippou.
I'm hardly one of his fans, but I noticed Paton do quite a few good things. What was wrong with his game exactly?
I think you’re a Collingwood troll if you honestly saw the game like that ….seriously
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
Or just being a flog
It matters little …,you’re light on for footy opinions I note …maybe internet brownie points more your thing?
I know when i'm out flogged though, especially reading the replies to your posts. Did you watch the game with Sydney ?
No I was over at your mums place and she was telling me what a populist flog you were
Whose Sydney?

saintkid

All I will say is after 1/4 time, we looked far from convincing, Port had our measure and we were chasing tails a lot...that's what was most disappointing about tonight.
If we were playing them over there, we would have been trounced.

1965 Saint

The wrong players are being blamed. Look no further than Wilkie (although disadvantaged by a ridiculous not 15 call) and Battle. With a game plan focussed on defence with low scoring an outcome, you can’t afford to gift goals to the opposition from brain snaps. Two big errors that gifted Port two goals. How much did we lose by???

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:09am
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:46pm Paton was not the problem tonight. Anyone who wishes to single Paton out has NFI. Byrnes tried and not the worst but Billings can see his opportunity.
Membrey poor.
Phillipou needs a spell.
Marshall is awesome but he's a ruck-rover / utility (B.M. will love those descriptions)
We cannot have Steele, Crouch & Ross in the same centre bounce. One of Clark, Gresham, Owens, Phillipou need to be there.
Paton in the heat of battle and clutch moments let us down at least 3 times that killed us going forward
His alleged 3 "moments"??? No one else had "moments" in your opinion? Were any of Paton's worse than Battles, Stockers, Wilkies, Membreys or Woods? If everyone else went at 100% then there's no argument. Stupid comment, NFI IMO.
Last edited by Ghost Like on Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:15am, edited 1 time in total.

cwrcyn wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:53pm Port looked fresher after quarter time.

We made some dumb errors and our movement from D50 to F50 was constipated. As for our forward half there wasn't enough lateral movement and we kept bombing it in.

Phillipou was running up and down in the spot after quarter time. He was knackered and had a poor game.

We miss Caminiti.

Agreed
Membrey
1. Can’t bring the ball to ground in a contest
2. Is a liability when it hits the ground
3. Has one of the slowest brain to foot decision making skills in the side
4. Won’t lead….thinks he’s King…
5. Treacle slow

Liability
Caminiti please for gods sake hurry back..

Ghost Like wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:13am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:09am
Membrey poor.
Phillipou needs a spell.
His alleged 3 "moments"??? No one else had "moments" in your opinion? Were any of Paton's worse than Battles, Stockers, Membreys or Woods? If everyone else went at 100% then there's no argument. Stupid comment, NFI IMO.
What multiple moments did Wood have??
Stocker as well????
Or apart from his failure to kick over the man in the mark how many more for Battle?????
Twice running forward with the footy under little pressure Paton hits Port players lace out?????
That does t include his last quarter butter fingers when he just fumbled at crucial times
It’s not the first time he’s made poor decisions in games
When Webster is right he’s gone
FFS stop making stupid excuses he was poor
NFI?? I think so

saintkid

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:14am
cwrcyn wrote: Fri 28 Apr 2023 11:53pm Port looked fresher after quarter time.

We miss Caminiti.

Agreed
Membrey
1. Can’t bring the ball to ground in a contest
2. Is a liability when it hits the ground
3. Has one of the slowest brain to foot decision making skills in the side
4. Won’t lead….thinks he’s King…
5. Treacle slow

Liability
Caminiti please for gods sake hurry back..
Unfortunately Teflon you are dead right about Membrey.
He doesn't offer much if he can't mark the ball and he's not getting to contests like he used to anymore, in his attempts to take a mark.
I feared this when he came back in the side and it was on show clearly tonight, as it was for most of last year's games.

I'm afraid I have to agree on Paton. This is not isolated stuff with him. He's a very slow thinker with ball in hand and it costs us.

Webster sums up situations far quicker and doesn't fumble

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:11am
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
Or just being a flog
No I was over at your mums place and she was telling me what a populist flog you were
Whose Sydney?
if you are ever at my mum's place i would give you a liverpool kiss, if you want up meet up i'll prove it, ya flog.

don't ever get personal again, ya weak turd.

A lot of players very fumbly tonight - In particular Paton and Couch. Pou couldn't take a mark and no defence/very slow as is Membrey. Wilkie seems to have lost something (the captaincy?) since Steele has come back in. Cordy again get subbed out - offers f*** all.

Too much, same old, bombing it long to a short forward line only to have the kick picked off time and again. FFS. A lot of players didn't play their best.

Need to make a number of changes this week. North will be no pushovers and we need to turn up.

bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:25am
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
Or just being a flog
Whose Sydney?
if you are ever at my mum's place i would give you a liverpool kiss, if you want up meet up i'll prove it, ya flog.

Mum says hi

At the moment in our forward half we're relying on a 19 year old to do the bulk of the hard bullocking work. It's not a long term proposition.

Ironically, we really missed another 19 year old tonight. Caminiti would have been very helpful, indeed.

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:24am I'm afraid I have to agree on Paton. This is not isolated stuff with him. He's a very slow thinker with ball in hand and it costs us.

Webster sums up situations far quicker and doesn't fumble
Staggering some cant see that ???? NFI
He’s been poor a few times now and when the heat was on looked real shaky
Shame cause before his leg break I had him as a certainty to be a long term gun…his drop off has been odd

cwrcyn wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:29am At the moment in our forward half we're relying on a 19 year old to do the bulk of the hard bullocking work. It's not a long term proposition.

Ironically, we really missed another 19 year old tonight. Caminiti would have been very helpful, indeed.
While King is indisposed and Caminiti still out a another week, I'd seriously bring Campbell in and have Marshall playing more forward and changing ruck. I know Marshall isn't as effective when he did that with Ryder but we need a tall marking option in the forward line and Cordy aint it!

Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:28am
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
Or just being a flog
Whose Sydney?

Mum says hi
tell your mum to get f***ed

Teflon, a quick question. Did any midfielders turn the ball over multiple times? Did any forwards fumble the ball? Oh, did any or all of Paton's alleged errors result in goals or are they just convenient for your angst.
By the way, I've watched Webster as long as you have, turnovers and pannicked decisions are as familiar to him. The other thing both have in common are they are both courageous. That said, if I was to pick a shut down defender, I'd choose Paton.

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:31am
cwrcyn wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:29am At the moment in our forward half we're relying on a 19 year old to do the bulk of the hard bullocking work. It's not a long term proposition.

While King is indisposed and Caminiti still out a another week, I'd seriously bring Campbell in and have Marshall playing more forward and changing ruck. I know Marshall isn't as effective when he did that with Ryder but we need a tall marking option in the forward line and Cordy aint it!
Shame we seem persistent on turning Sharman into a wingman ???
At least he leads up at the footy/moves
Biggest thing pointed out about Pies forwards recently….they get on the move..
We were tired / flat I’m sure tonight but Membrey has no excuses

bobmurray wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:32am
Teflon wrote: Sat 29 Apr 2023 12:28am
You jump off quick??
Poor coaching???
Or just being a flog
Whose Sydney?

Mum says hi
tell your mum to get f***ed
Now there’s that flog I was talking about
You hanging out with Sydney atm??
Mum would smash you turd

amusingname

Good to see people in this thread are taking the loss maturely. Drop everyone, mum comments, punch on in real life reactions to mum comments. Just need a call for a board overthrow by GT and we will be all set!

We lost by 7 to a decent team who happen to be our bogey opponent at the moment. Frustrating game but not memberships in the microwave material