Cooper Sharman ...

Re: Cooper Sharman ...

Impatient Sainter wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 3:41pm Cooper's position going forward if he breaks into the side will be as a tall wingman, exactly how they have been developing him at VFL level. He is progressing well and I think we saw enough last week to see he has a future in that role.
The thing that impressed me about Sharman , aside from his tank development, was his footy smarts
He makes v good decisions with ball in hand and his field kicking is quality
I’d like to see a bit more in that role but if he keeps going I suspect Vort change his Nic ….embarrassing

Vortex wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 10:37pm
happy feet wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 9:01pm
Vortex wrote: Thu 11 May 2023 2:32pm
happy feet wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 8:34pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 8:24pm
Devilhead wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 5:27pm Hey Vort ... did you see the contested speccy mark Sharman took ...... you know that player that you said was devoid of contested mark skills :lol:
Yeah it was a ripper, if he keeps up his average of 3 games a season he should have quite the highlights real after he's delisted.
When are you going to put the money on the bar like you promised Vort?
I'm so sorry HF, you missed out, open bar has been and gone.

Don't worry I shout whenever we win a flag
I don’t think you would shout if a shark bit you.
If I though you were thirsty enough I'd buy you a beer, but I'm not even sure you are a drinker.

Cup of tea love?
No mate, I enjoy a beer, a good red wine and just the occasional whisky.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Sharman keeps getting games despite the thoughts of our resident PhD holder.

lol.....

I imagine a player like Sharman, who is very much a ‘Fringe player’ at this point in time, has to be very careful about where he runs and kicks in the RYB scheme of things.

No margin for error.

Ross Lyon reads the plaudits and praises a player like Cordy for a one possession game (after dragging him at 3/4 time, and dropping him) so there is no space for a loose imagination for Sharman.

Which makes it perhaps harder for him to shine and show his goods.

Someone like Pou can get away with skylarking on account of his youth. Not Sharman. Third year on the list

D.B.Cooper

saynta wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 1:00pm
Devilhead wrote: Wed 10 May 2023 5:27pm Hey Vort ... did you see the contested speccy mark Sharman took ...... you know that player that you said was devoid of contested mark skills :lol:
Yeah it was a ripper, if he keeps up his average of 3 games a season he should have quite the highlights real after he's delisted.

:lol: :wink:
I think the real question should be who wants to drink at a bar that shuts down for a week if someone puts a measly $10K on the bar.
That's like 120 beers a day or 8 bottles of wine.
It must be a back yard shed in some s*** hole somewhere.
The whole week funding equates to a lunch or dinner and drinks for a group of 20, not shut down a bar for a week :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

happy feet wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 4:07pm

If I though you were thirsty enough I'd buy you a beer, but I'm not even sure you are a drinker.

Cup of tea love?
Mate I recon as saints men we'd enjoy a drink after a great win...we all would in reality.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 7:25pm Sharman keeps getting games despite the thoughts of our resident PhD holder.

lol.....
Yes but been sheepish on his responses it’s noted ..😂

D.B.Cooper wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 7:36pm
saynta wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 1:00pm

:lol: :wink:
I think the real question should be who wants to drink at a bar that shuts down for a week if someone puts a measly $10K on the bar.
The whole week funding equates to a lunch or dinner and drinks for a group of 20, not shut down a bar for a week :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Well, that’s not pub food money bags. That’s $500 per head so someone must really like their premium booze.

Vortex wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 8:02pm

Cup of tea love?
Mate I recon as saints men we'd enjoy a drink after a great win...we all would in reality.
Probably, in the event of a Premiership I’ll drink with anyone and ge pissed for a week.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

happy feet wrote: Sat 13 May 2023 1:30pm
Vortex wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 8:02pm

Cup of tea love?
Probably, in the event of a Premiership I’ll drink with anyone and ge pissed for a week.
you absolute lightweight, I have vowed to be pissed for a year.

happy feet wrote: Fri 12 May 2023 4:07pm No mate, I enjoy a beer, a good red wine and just the occasional whisky.
Missing out on Guava Juice Lemonade and tequila is a sin

Can I be one of the 20 that has a dinner costing $10K??

happy feet wrote: Sat 13 May 2023 1:30pm
Probably, in the event of a Premiership I’ll drink with anyone and be pissed for a week.
A week you say - I warn my bosses at the start of the season that I may need 2 weeks at the start of October

D.B.Cooper

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 9:22am
Done, I'll host the dinner for 20 saintsationalists if we win the flag this year!
Sainter Dad and Sainter Boy are on the table!

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

D.B.Cooper wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 12:30pm
Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 9:22am
Done, I'll host the dinner for 20 saintsationalists if we win the flag this year!
Sainter Dad and Sainter Boy are on the table!
We will be there - but if you think I am opinionated - well - lets just say - there are lively discussions in our house

This thread didn't age well.

Ironically Coops played North and Crows last year and was dropped.

Cordy straight back in but only becaue Sharman is way off the pace.

Sadly, Cooper just isn’t up to snuff at AFL level. I find it difficult to believe he had 4 kicks and 3 handballs today.

Beaten today and won’t hold his spot. Hopefully rants his way back in.

Still better than most Cordy games

Appears to lack urgency and does not want it bad enough

Vortex wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 6:33pm This thread didn't age well.

I don’t get you Vort

You went completely absent when he played well and wouldn’t offer so much as a compliment…
Threw up the old sample size argument and are the first to beat your chest with glee that I can feel despite it being online when the kid struggles.

My gut tells me you’re a bit on the unpleasant side.

His game still is at least on par with what Cordy produced who for some reason you heap the praise but if you make the sample size argument… it should still be too early to make a call. One good game, one poor one.

chook23 wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 7:22pm Appears to lack urgency and does not want it bad enough
highly likely Ross wanted to have a look at him at AFL level and after today I'd say he's seen enough.

Ross would be red hot filthy with that total lack of effort and interest.

I doubt we will see him in a RW&B jumper again and will be be inking the stamp as we speak.

skeptic wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 7:25pm

I don’t get you Vort

You went completely absent when he played well and wouldn’t offer so much as a compliment…
Threw up the old sample size argument and are the first to beat your chest with glee that I can feel despite it being online when the kid struggles.

His game still is at least on par with what Cordy produced who for some reason you heap the praise but if you make the sample size argument… it should still be too early to make a call. One good game, one poor one.
Why do you keep bringing Cordy into the discussion on Sharman, has nothing to do with the fact he is just not AFL standard.

The issues with Cordy are a completely different set of problems.

And I already explained to you I didn't feel he was deserving of a compliment as he gathered some cheap stats against an ammo side, ironically he played North and Crows last year and was dropped, you may not like my belief in reference points and sample sizes but they are meaningful measurements of players ability.

Vortex wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 7:29pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 14 May 2023 7:25pm

I don’t get you Vort

Why do you keep bringing Cordy into the discussion on Sharman, has nothing to do with the fact he is just not AFL standard.

The issues with Cordy are a completely different set of problems.

And I already explained to you I didn't feel he was deserving of a compliment as he gathered some cheap stats against an ammo side, ironically he played North and Crows last year and was dropped, you may not like my belief in reference points and sample sizes but they are meaningful measurements of players ability.
Sharman has something over you Vort, me, and just about everyone else on this forum.

He has played AFL football.

Maybe the rule on this forum should be something like, have you played AFL football? If not, then keep your comments to yourself.

You bought Cordy into the discussion

Sharman had a poor game today but was a symptom of the way we played rather than the cause.

I think he gets a Mulligan this week.

Membrey has strung a few stinkers in a row. Might struggle to get back in the side (assume he is out next week with concussion protocols)