Alistair walks out on North

Re: Alistair walks out on North

RTB might step away if St Kilda collapses in the second half of the season. The Adelaide match was very Ratts/Richo-like.

Saints58

magnifisaint wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 12:00pm
Saints58 wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 11:41am Be interesting if Ratts gets north up and about and finish higher then us at season end.
Yeah right. You can't make chocolates out of boiled lollies.
I suppose you also believe that Donald Trump is law abiding citizen.

What are you talking about!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Where did I say anything about what I think of Donald Trump?
Let me make my own decisions on other people as I would allow you to do.
This is a footy site not a political one please stick to topic.

Saints58 wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 6:24pm
Saints58 wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 11:41am Be interesting if Ratts gets north up and about and finish higher then us at season end.

I was just highlighting how ridiculous your statement was.
It's called an anolgy.

We all know that Trump is an idiot and we all know that Nth Melbourne will finish below St Kilda.

D.B.Cooper

magnifisaint wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 6:32pm

It's called an anolgy.

We all know that Trump is an idiot and we all know that Nth Melbourne will finish below St Kilda.
Is that where multiple people partake in a form of sex that was once illegal?

There's only one rule in the jungle! When the LYON's hungry, he eats!

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 1:12pm Clarko has always liked to play the tough guy and portray himself as the pinnacle of mental toughness. Seems he's not as tough as he thought he was.
He is in a dreadful no win situation. People make accusations, then the league muzzle everyone with the original complainants refusing to hand over documents that would aid Clarko in preparing his defence. On top of that solicitors are placing unrealistic demands on the three accused of wrongdoing before mediation can even begin.

D.B.Cooper wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 7:34pm

It's called an anolgy.

That's analogy

magnifisaint wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 7:54pm
D.B.Cooper wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 7:34pm

It's called an anolgy.

That's analogy
:wink: :twisted:

Totally agree.

Leave the Trump derangement syndrome and all the other nauseatingly hypocritical outrage and useless group think on the General Forum.

I feel far worse for North than I do Clarkson.

Now, let us all take a collective sigh of relief that our club didn’t pursue him 😌

Sainternist wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 8:40pm I feel far worse for North than I do Clarkson.

Now, let us all take a collective sigh of relief that our club didn’t pursue him 😌
Agree with the Saints bit, but I do feel sorry for him. Gagged from speaking whilst othere leak to the scum press.

Whoever still believes that a white middle aged male will get a fair result in a situation such as this one, must still believe in Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy.

Just a sad sad tale with absolutely zero winners.

The people that instigated and drove the so called process into the investigation and report have hopefully learnt a lesson, and subsequently a lesson us the people can learn from also.

Annoyedsaint

Moods wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 4:27pm
chook23 wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 3:35pm Clarkson has been treated appallingly by many in the media including ABC...

Clarkson has not been interviewed the accusers refuse to be questioned re allegations

AFL...Hawthorn...media have handled this terribly
It's an incredibly complex situation. Unless you have first hand knowledge of what is happening or what did happen it's hard to say who has been treated appallingly. Clarkson has done a wonderful job of portraying himself as the victim in all this. The reality is that no one has accused anyone of anything. Every indigenous player at the Hawks was interviewed by the club about 5 years after all this occurred as a result of what happened with Rioli. No-one approached the club and complained. They were asked about their experiences at the Hawks - on the condition of anonymity. The hawks filed their report on the basis of how they can get better. Once the powerbrokers at the club saw the seriousness of some of the things said about that time they self reported to the league. There's a massive difference between someone knocking on your door and asking you about your experience and going to authorities and reporting and accusing someone.

The 'accusers' as you have described them, have every right to refuse to be interviewed. When they were initially asked these questions they weren't to know that suddenly they would be subject to an AFL investigation. If any of their recollections are vaguely true, they have every right to not trust the AFL and their 'processes'. Why wouldn't you believe that the AFL are simply running the investigation so as to clear the name of arguably their greatest ever coach?? The 'accusers' never asked for any of this.
Hahaha ok then. “They have every right not to be interviewed”. Just like Clarkson & Fagan have every right to defend themselves and not have faith in a fair system. Works both ways. Unless you like Kangaroo Court’s.

Hope they sue the pants off these anonymous accusers, the AFL & Hawthorn for defamation, potential loss of wages/employment opportunities and health costs.

The AFL would be shitting bricks right about now on both fronts.

Farcical “investigation” from day 1.

Killa

Did I see a description of “mediated resolution” attributed to the AFL?

No wonder those involved in this alleged activity will not engage with the AFL and have refused to hand their documentation of events to Clarkson and ors to assist Clarkson and ors in their defence

As with the alleged rape in Canberra something has happened resulting in a complaint being made

Then you get to the investigation of that compliant

So who is misrepresenting?

And why?

The person or the people making complaint?

Or those calling those who made the complaint liars?

So back to “mediated resolution”

Why?

To protect reputations?

And whose reputations exactly?

saynta wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 7:40pm
cwrcyn wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 1:12pm Clarko has always liked to play the tough guy and portray himself as the pinnacle of mental toughness. Seems he's not as tough as he thought he was.
He is in a dreadful no win situation…….
Agree with Saynta
Cwrcyn - I think you are being harsh - Clarko doesn’t/wasn’t acting like a ‘tough guy’ out of vanity.
I mean that is not the sun if the parts so to speak

The ABC dude knew how volatile it was…how incendiary it was to shoot off with the thing without any responsibility other than to serve up the powder and the matchbox - knowing full well that the fire 🔥 would serve itself.
The AFL so bent over itself to act politically correct is a sitting duck- the whole culture is.

This is our times. Lovely.

saynta wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 7:40pm
He is in a dreadful no win situation…….
Agree with Saynta
Cwrcyn - I think you are being harsh - Clarko doesn’t/wasn’t acting like a ‘tough guy’ out of vanity.
I mean that is not the sun if the parts so to speak

The ABC dude knew how volatile it was…how incendiary it was to shoot off with the thing without any responsibility other than to serve up the powder and the matchbox - knowing full well that the fire 🔥 would serve itself.
The AFL so bent over itself to act politically correct is a sitting duck- the whole culture is.

This is our times. Lovely.

Think the job is a bit tougher than he thought, the master coach without the cattle

It goes to my argument

Who was more responsible for Hawthorn flags

Clarko

Or

Mitchell, Hodge, Roughead, Franklin, Rioli, Lewis, Lake… could go on

B.M wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 9:53pm Think the job is a bit tougher than he thought, the master coach without the cattle

It goes to my argument

Clarko

Or

What the..?

So you are lining up Clarko now? And taking opportunistic pot shots at a very successful coach?

This is the kind of reactionary fodder the fine tradition of sports journalism seeks to trigger.

Fair dinkum.
What a load of …
Sorry 😢

B.M wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 9:53pm Think the job is a bit tougher than he thought, the master coach without the cattle

It goes to my argument

Clarko

Or

What the..?

So you are lining up Clarko now? And taking opportunistic pot shots at a very successful coach?

This is the kind of reactionary fodder the fine tradition of sports journalism seeks to trigger.

Fair dinkum.
What a load of …
Sorry 😢

I think it’s good they put Ratts in
Longer he stays in charge higher chances they go nowhere and player exodus
I’d put Roos on a watch to pick up talent tbh
Every cloud…..

how come ... the 'participants'
who provided requested descriptions of their experiences
under (strict) privacy protocols 'n guarantees
now

be called the 'accusers'

saynta wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 8:54pm
Sainternist wrote: Thu 18 May 2023 8:40pm I feel far worse for North than I do Clarkson.

Agree with the Saints bit, but I do feel sorry for him. Gagged from speaking whilst othere leak to the scum press.

Whoever still believes that a white middle aged male will get a fair result in a situation such as this one, must still believe in Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy.
Hmmm I don’t think it’s for me to comment of what Clarkson has been investigated for. Coaches come and go, but the supporters are always there and North’s supporters haven’t had much joy in recent time. I guess I have a soft spot for them since finding out I had a great grandfather that played for North (VFA era). But yeah, I’ve never been into punching down on others’ misfortunes.

asiu wrote: Fri 19 May 2023 12:55am how come ... the 'participants'
now

be called the 'accusers'
Because they made serious allegations public.

Okay, maybe I am being a bit harsh on him. It's very murky territory he is in, and an unenviable situation. The Brisbane coach seems to be handling it a bit better, but he does have the advantage of geographical distance and living in a state where most people don't pay any attention (and riding on a wave of success with his team).

Back to my original point, though. Everyone in this world can play the tough guy, and believe me, Clarko has played that role since his playing days where he did some disgraceful, nasty things on the field without a thought for the impact those things had on his opponents. He was a hard arse on his players, and there were the tough guy mind games he played, like the theatrical performance of running a lap of Manuka oval just in his shorts when it was -2 degrees to show how mentally tough he was (and the media lapped up his cheesy performance, lauding it). There are also his nasty, tough guy performances at junior football matches that were inexcusable for someone in his position, which spoke to his character.

But in the end, none of us are unbreakable, no matter how tough or resilient we think we are. That was my point.

From the north statement: “It is our firm belief he will be back this year but if you ask him and us we can’t tell you whether it’s one week or six weeks."

He's taking a few weeks, maybe.

Yes, some people are calling him racist without it being proven beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law(!)

That must be upsetting.

(Also, he's coaching north melbourne.)

But mostly it's the people who boo that did all this.

Now a guy who is otherwise a big strong thug and a pr!ck has been reduced to and forced to take a short (fully paid ‐$20k/$30k- a week) break from his job.

Oh my pearls... where are the smelling salts.

#Bantheboo

#FreeClarko

Yorkeys wrote: Fri 19 May 2023 4:27am
asiu wrote: Fri 19 May 2023 12:55am how come ... the 'participants'
now

be called the 'accusers'
Because they made serious allegations public.
So you would have preferred for Hawthorn FC not to have initiated their review after Cyril went public

I think that's what sparked them.

The fans and the new board at Hawthorn genuinely wanted to prevent a similar situation where a champion of the club feels the need to leave the sport that he loves.

Hawthorn didn't release their findings did they? They handed it over to the AFL. The ABC news report was the first time the public knew about some of the alleged incidents.

I think we all know that the AFL would have preferred it was all swept under the carpet. That's usually how they've dealt with scandal or serious allegations against high profile people.

I think people defending Clarko are saying they'd rather not hear a journalist actually practicing some journalism. He offered Clarkson an opportunity to comment

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/ ... 39e2ceee35

Instead, people want to read about cats getting rescued from a tree or down storm water drains or you want to watch the news and get a second hand copy of a police report.

All the mainstream news like to focus on is crime, vehicle accidents, weather events and sport. There is no journalism involved and no in depth analysis of national importance

This Hawthorn investigation was different to the Collingwood 'do better investigation'. It may have uncovered (for the first time) sensitive issues that go to a club interfering in the family and personal life of a player to the point of a perceived attack on that player's family and cultural background.

Have you heard on the news on Ch 7 or Ch 9 some historical background on why Indigenous Australians want to change the constitution?

In 1990, Bob Hawke helped establish ATSIC. In 2004 John Howard fulfilled Pauline Hanson's wishes by abolishing the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2010-01-06/27934