Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

Re: Match Thread Round 14 2023 V Richmond

Any way

What's the weather forecast tomorrow? Is the sun going to rise in Melbourne...ahhhh yes it is 🌞 😉

SaintPav wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:27am Someone sounds unhinged.

Funny “touched” was the word I had in mind for you ..
But unhinged will do
I think I’ll stick to talking footy so appreciate if you desist from replying…it’s clear you’re up for a bait and not a chat about the game
Good luck with that. 👍

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:31am No Tef. Tell me this. What is the purpose of managing players? Isn't it to freshen them and get them playing close to their peak in as many games as possible?

The reverse is that you play Pou every week and he performs at 50-75% of what he's capable of and some weeks goes under 40% and once in a while may hit 80%. Same with Steele. Same with Seb and Crouch

Do you think a little psychology and a little rest from seniors wouldn't benefit a few players? It's also going to raise the bar as far as selection integrity is concerned

This is not about Ratten vs Lyon ffs

Get over your bias and your defence of every single criticism against Ross Lyon
I tbink watching a senior so called experienced midfield cave under pressure again (only win 32% clearances) tells me you get as many games into kids as you can
Pou was one of our better ones tonight
You’re now saying rest him? Who’s going to replace him ? And why after a good game would you do that?
Makes no sense to me

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:26am On a positive note Windhager 20 possession tagging Bolton who had 18 and not his usual influence.
You're forgetting Boltons 3 goals

Devilhead wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:58am
Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:26am On a positive note Windhager 20 possession tagging Bolton who had 18 and not his usual influence.
You're forgetting Boltons 3 goals
True but that damage might’ve been a whole lot worse
Was happy to see Windhager still win his own ball

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:57am
Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:31am No Tef. Tell me this. What is the purpose of managing players? Isn't it to freshen them and get them playing close to their peak in as many games as possible?

The reverse is that you play Pou every week and he performs at 50-75% of what he's capable of and some weeks goes under 40% and once in a while may hit 80%. Same with Steele. Same with Seb and Crouch

Do you think a little psychology and a little rest from seniors wouldn't benefit a few players? It's also going to raise the bar as far as selection integrity is concerned

I tbink watching a senior so called experienced midfield cave under pressure again (only win 32% clearances) tells me you get as many games into kids as you can
You’re now saying rest him? Who’s going to replace him ? And why after a good game would you do that?
Makes no sense to me
I'm not saying rest him after tonight mate
You don't rest a player after they've had a good game

Whatever needed to happen didn't 8-10 weeks ago. We had a chance to mix things up with the Adelaide Gather Rounds and then the 5 day break. We didn't!!

tony74 said it's all under control. We didn't provide opportunities to back in the system (you keep telling us RTB has a brilliant game plan so it should have been put to the test). We need to rotate mids and manage the whole list. It benefits the team at the pointy end...and in the long term

I couldn't give a damn after tonight if they play Crouch and Steele and Ross for 22 games regardless of form. It's so disappointing when we fail on the big stage in prime time on free to air

Please don't tell me we won on Thursday prime time against Sydney, because I'll remin you what a crap game it was for neutral viewers in the first half

I couldn't give a damn NOW if they play Pou for 22 games ... actually that's not true....I want this kid to be protected from injury or mental fatigue. I want him to be a future captain and a star for St Kilda FC for the next 15 years

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:11am
Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:57am

Makes no sense to me
I'm not saying rest him after tonight mate
You don't rest a player after they've had a good game

Whatever needed to happen didn't 8-10 weeks ago. We had a chance to mix things up with the Adelaide Gather Rounds and then the 5 day break. We didn't!!

tony74 said it's all under control. We didn't provide opportunities to back in the system (you keep telling us RTB has a brilliant game plan so it should have been put to the test). We need to rotate mids and manage the whole list. It benefits the team at the pointy end...and in the long term

I couldn't give a damn after tonight if they play Crouch and Steele and Ross for 22 games regardless of form.

I couldn't give a damn NOW if they play Pou for 22 games ... actually that's not true....I want this kid to be protected from injury or mental fatigue. I want him to be a future captain and a star for St Kilda FC for the next 15 years
I think it’s very easy to look back 6/8 weeks ago and say now what we should’ve done
We sit 5th on ladder - we are not really a 5th placed side I think we are in that 7-14 pack if I’m honest
We are defensively one of the best sides in the comp
We are in all games bar Crows in Adelaide
Even tonight …after Tigers got on top …we came again…we would not have done that last year
Our effort in games has been much more even than last year
Our ability to sustain that effort for 4 quarters from midfield is lacking
If people can’t see the system and standards Lyon has brought in after last year’s debacle…they probably don’t want to
I think we’ll see reasonable list turn over end year and that’s a good thing imo

But that's what I was saying back then

And I wasn't alone

Agree we have shown resilience and fought out games better and the coaches (and Ross in particular has done an excellent job).

Match committee decisions...not so sure...SOS as list manager...not so sure....

Recruiting guys. Tick✅
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:33am, edited 1 time in total.

Disappointing to lose but I think our fate was sealed when the heavy rain came. Tigers are a good wet weather side and the lead they had by then was decisive. They know those conditions and their own ground really well.

Also, 25 scoring shots to 15. Really we were lucky to still be a chance late when you look at in those terms.

We’re far from the finished article, but I take some positives out of it, including Windhager and Phillipou. We’re on the right track.

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:54am

But unhinged will do
I think I’ll stick to talking footy so appreciate if you desist from replying…it’s clear you’re up for a bait and not a chat about the game
Good luck with that. 👍
LMFAO.

This is priceless.

You really are a piece of work.

f*** off Teflon.

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:40am Any way

What's the weather forecast tomorrow? Is the sun going to rise in Melbourne...ahhhh yes it is 🌞 😉
But now is the winter of our discontent made foul by the taunts of the Richmond foes....And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house as percentage falls and the barking pack overtake us, Cheated of September feature by dissembling nature

(with apologies to WS)

Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:29am But that's what I was saying back then

And I wasn't alone

Agree we have shown resilience and fought out games better and the coaches (and Ross in particular has done an excellent job).

Match committee decisions...not so sure...SOS as list manager...not so sure....

Recruiting guys. Tick✅
I agree recruiting has been good - Toce excellent
I’m nervous about SOS tbh and don’t want his kid
Match committee think we are being a tad unfair we’ve probably got 24-25 players to choose from and no one is smashing down the door
Windhager did - he’s in the side
Bytel had near 40 weeks ago…he played then got injured
Billibgs gets 20 odd in reserves…which small half forward is he replacing on those numbers?
Membrey? Injured
So not sure how they’re supposed to “mix it up” at match committee to much …
I would like to see the midfield mix shift… see no point in persisting with Ross Steele Crouch and would like to see Owens through there along with maybe Bytel and I think (if we can get a HB replacement) Sincs as well

SaintPav wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 1:42am
Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:54am

But unhinged will do
Good luck with that. 👍
LMFAO.

This is priceless.

You really are a piece of work.

f*** off Teflon.
Reported for baiting

lefty

Please, no more of
- Howard
- Brynes
- Gresham

They simply don't do enough.

Stop playing Steele, output is below par.

lefty wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 3:02am Please, no more of
- Howard
- Brynes
- Gresham

Replacements? Options?
Highmore
Paton
Bytel
Sharman
Maybe just Howard and Gresham rested for time being?

lewdogs

It's going to be tough to win when our key midfielder is so down.

Not sure exactly what is up with Steele but he's really struggling to consistently impact games.

Good signs from Windy last night.

Kick those last quarter goals and we win the game.

Yorkeys wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 2:02am
Scollop wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 12:40am Any way

But now is the winter of our discontent made foul by the taunts of the Richmond foes....And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house as percentage falls and the barking pack overtake us, Cheated of September feature by dissembling nature

(with apologies to WS)
I could see Ross Lyon with a limp and a hunchback

yeah .. nah

the only difference last night was a slight difference in the skill levels.. you couldn't criticize our desperation

too many turnovers and some easy misses at goal.

and where is curly..would like to see what he thought of the umpiring.

I suspect Curly is celebrating the run we had with the umpires last night like most of us would be celebrating a 2nd Premiership.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 9:49am yeah .. nah

the only difference last night was a slight difference in the skill levels.. you couldn't criticize our desperation

too many turnovers and some easy misses at goal.

and where is curly..would like to see what he thought of the umpiring.
Miss him, yeah?

Thought so. :D

lefty wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 3:02am Please, no more of
- Howard
- Brynes
- Gresham

Where do you stop? Ross played a quarter
Can’t pick n choose with this lot anymore held us back since Richo days
As I’ve said before (been shot down for it) finals this year is fools gold. 2020 all over again …harder draw next year ba k yo pack
Bite the bullet play kids - even if we lose and don’t make finals take longer term approach
Bottom line is we do not have the talent
You can add looking for a new FB to that list of wants
Along with 1-2 gun mids and a ruck who can tap to advantage
More holes than Swiss cheese
But we are already seeing green shoots of who will no take us forward - Owens and last night Windy Pou and NAS under pressure looked composed…our headless chook leaders bombing away into 50 not so much
Future is the focus not now
Get top talent kids

Teflon wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 11:19am
As I’ve said before (been shot down for it) finals this year is fools gold. 2020 all over again …harder draw next year ba k yo pack
How is the draw harder next year?

Between 7 and 12 is exactly the same portion of games against similar positions
Movement on the ladder is a crap shoot ie - who would have picked BOTH grandfinalists are likely to miss the finals

Also

How does the draw make any difference - if you can't beat them in the season - you wont beat them in the finals.

I am just jealous

Jealous that when there is a milestone game the Tiges pulled together to get over the line - we manage to get all excited and then fire blanks.

Don't be surprised if Richmond make it to the finals (possibly at our expense)

Sainter_Dad wrote: Sun 18 Jun 2023 11:39am I am just jealous

Jealous that when there is a milestone game the Tiges pulled together to get over the line - we manage to get all excited and then fire blanks.

Don't be surprised if Richmond make it to the finals (possibly at our expense)
Get that.
I feel disappointment. We only had to land half a dozen field kicks to easy targets when clear in the first half and we would have had it.
But we don't/didn't.
I can understand Ratts perplexed red face at pressers last year. He might have resorted to sprouting stats to stop himself blurting out FFS.
Ross said he told the mids what was going to go down but they didn't get it, maybe think they know better. That attitude isn't conducive to renewals.

Told the team to make the ground bigger

Exactly the opposite to what you do in the wet

Rain was always coming- in those conditions it is a territory game and bash the ball forward at every opportunity

We were feeding the ball backward by hand and inviting pressure

Howard’s two missed handballs were a case in point
Firstly he didn’t execute - maybe slippery
Secondly and most importantly why was he looking to handball a cake of soap in d50?

Instructions should have been
When it gets slippery- take ground - and ensure there is representation forward of the ball

The fact we went an extra at the source and allowed Vlaustin to have 11 intercepts was shocking - you don’t need an extra at stoppage in the wet because you are not sharing by hand out of stoppage.

Also
As soon as it was slippery and wet - it was never going to be a rebounding game with run from behind
Sinclair should have been moved inside to get some polish around the footy

Would’ve moved Steele forward
And Owens into the midfield to give size and competitiveness at stoppage

Would’ve moved Caminiti to the bench and played him as a second ruck

I thought we got strategy wrong completely