Annual General Meeting set for 18th of Dec

Re: Annual General Meeting set for 18th of Dec

As an addendum

about the source of money,

We didn't here (forgot to?) acknowledge government grants and pledges to the AFL and clubs.

From Federal, State and Local governments, the AFL receives a sh*t load of tax-payers, rate-payers money.

And before elections, these ramp up.

There are also pledges by politicians to placate rival codes and municipalities that factor in, when these pledges are made.

We got money to move to Seaford from Frankston Local government. Who knows what grants were secured to build the facilities down there? The whole system is so corrupted, contaminated, or shall we say, 'dynamic' that it is pretty pointless to ask whether the locals down there feel ripped off because their rates went into the Linen Centre or whatever it was called.

We couldn't go the JO after that too, because the state labor government was compelled (by whom we may ask) to pledge and promise Cricket Victoria that footy will never be played there again a few years prior.

So we can say footy money/club money comes from TV rights, sponsors, gambling royalties, government 'gifts', as well as by the supporters and members.

Sound fair?

Who wants to play at the effing Junction Oval part from you. I went there many times with my dad it was a dump.

About time you gave up on that particular pipe dream as you are starting to sound a bit like a forum misfit.

It's interesting to see a Sydney Paper's take on the AFL vs NRL funding,

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/hal ... 51kzn.html

Here's a story about leaving Seaford and the Frankston council's take on it
https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/hal ... 51kzn.html

The Tassie deal
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-04-30/ ... /102283036

shanegrambeau wrote: Sun 31 Dec 2023 4:58pm As an addendum

We didn't here (forgot to?) acknowledge government grants and pledges to the AFL and clubs.

From Federal, State and Local governments, the AFL receives a sh*t load of tax-payers, rate-payers money.

There are also pledges by politicians to placate rival codes and municipalities that factor in, when these pledges are made.

We got money to move to Seaford from Frankston Local government. Who knows what grants were secured to build the facilities down there? The whole system is so corrupted, contaminated, or shall we say, 'dynamic' that it is pretty pointless to ask whether the locals down there feel ripped off because their rates went into the Linen Centre or whatever it was called.

We couldn't go the JO after that too, because the state labor government was compelled (by whom we may ask) to pledge and promise Cricket Victoria that footy will never be played there again a few years prior.

So we can say footy money/club money comes from TV rights, sponsors, gambling royalties, government 'gifts', as well as by the supporters and members.

Sound fair?
Frankston refused to spend money on their facilities and were living of AFL Victoria money and pokies. There membership stayed low and they were full of scrappers, thugs and dodgy businessman

They have had a long history of internal strife and even violence within their committees and admin.

They were going broke in 2009 and were in no position to become our VFL affiliate.

The AFL and the Vic Government sent us over and paid for the $11m facility and paid out our lease, which is paying huge benefits now.

In 2015, when Frankstons books were audited it was obvious that several people had had their hands in the till and the facility was f***ed. The afl pulled their funding. Their stadium got funding.

We went and aligned with Sandy when we went to Frankston. Clearly the intention was to get back to Moorabbin eventually. We left the Scorpions.

We loosely aligned with the Sandy Dragons.

Dandenong was being regentrified with immigrants and welfare funding and still is.

We fixed the local comp with seaford and our success created interest and membership growth.

After we fixed Frangas, the locals came back to footy. Frankston itself is still a ghetto.

Now we have Sandy, the Sandringham Dragons and the Dandenong Stingrays in our development pathways and we are attracting the immigrants through junior sport and our academy. We will end up a modern powerhouse when Tassie comes. Hawthorn and North are on the chopping block.

Melbourne couldn't be further from the MCG.

Someone who knew what the AFL wanted, in conjunction with state and federal government. (local councils are just corrupt, there is no other need for them) and started administrating at our club and they will probably win us a flag.

St.Kilda is an iconic suburban football club and after Tassie makes it a truly National comp, all states involved, we will become a powerhouse controlling the South East and part of Gippsland.

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 01 Jan 2024 1:31am

Sound fair?
Frankston refused to spend money on their facilities and were living of AFL Victoria money and pokies. There membership stayed low and they were full of scrappers, thugs and dodgy businessman

They have had a long history of internal strife and even violence within their committees and admin.

They were going broke in 2009 and were in no position to become our VFL affiliate.

The AFL and the Vic Government sent us over and paid for the $11m facility and paid out our lease, which is paying huge benefits now.

In 2015, when Frankstons books were audited it was obvious that several people had had their hands in the till and the facility was f***ed. The afl pulled their funding. Their stadium got funding.

We went and aligned with Sandy when we went to Frankston. Clearly the intention was to get back to Moorabbin eventually. We left the Scorpions.

Dandenong was being regentrified with immigrants and welfare funding and still is.

We fixed the local comp with seaford and our success created interest and membership growth.

After we fixed Frangas, the locals came back to footy. Frankston itself is still a ghetto.

Now we have Sandy, the Sandringham Dragons and the Dandenong Stingrays in our development pathways and we are attracting the immigrants through junior sport and our academy. We will end up a modern powerhouse when Tassie comes. Hawthorn and North are on the chopping block.

Someone who knew what the AFL wanted, in conjunction with state and federal government. (local councils are just corrupt, there is no other need for them) and started administrating at our club and they will probably win us a flag.

St.Kilda is an iconic suburban football club and after Tassie makes it a truly National comp, all states involved, we will become a powerhouse controlling the South East and part of Gippsland.
Geez…
Wow. that is quite a tale.. and not particularly flattering for Frankston and local government.

Yeah Sandy.. it’s our baby, ya think?

CQ SAINT wrote: Mon 01 Jan 2024 1:31am

Sound fair?

Geez…
Wow. that is quite a tale.. and not particularly flattering for Frankston and local government.

Yeah Sandy.. it’s our baby, ya think?

A VFL team at either end of our territory would be ideal for my senses Shane.

It leads towards a strong development chain of suburban clubs and venues that could support a regional comp. But the target group has many other interests and concerns.

Numbers are growing in the areas and values are unstable.

Sandy is definitely the way to go.

Now, if we could just move them to Moorabbin, even though we shouldn't, our purses and theirs might be able to fix their ground and facilities to a fit representative of a future AFL affiliated club.

Mnn
Perhaps St Kilda and Melbourne will end up as anomalies. And Hawthorn?

Having no reserves teams. I can’t help but accept the notion that in general, there is a clear drift towards reinstating the ressies at most clubs over the past decade. And so I assume there are advantages.

Geelong, being isolated down there, might be different.

I used to go to Sandy games as a teen. Wasn’t a huge fan, but definitely felt that Beach Oval vibe and it was kind of like a ‘cousin team’ of St Kilda, if that makes sense, rather than direct family. For this reason I want the Sandy name to live on and in some ways, I think St Kilda is strangling it. Which is not to say that Sandy would not have gone broke and gone under like other ex- VFA teams by now.