Team v Tigers

Re: Team v Tigers

Tigers marked out the dimensions of Norwood Oval, on Punt Rd Oval during training, so they could get used to the ground size.

RTB said that's OTT and obsessive.
He said we could play on asphalt or gravel, he doesn't care.

I thought it was a good idea, we should have tried that too.

Anyway

Superboot wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 9:17am For the 2nd game in a row, all 14 sports journalists in The Age have picked us to win. It's a real worry.
Sportsbet gives us $1.32 or something, Tigers longer odds. Weird.
But if you believe tipsters have any influence on 23 young blokes, I worry for your sanity 😳😖

I think Garcia should have played

TheGreatZacsby

B.M wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 10:19am I think Garcia should have played
I agree.

This team is an exercise in whether faith and forgiveness will be repaid. Bit of a gamble, but our back room guys know the stakes.

King Max

Vortex wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 8:28am
Hopefully this is one those one in 20 games where he puts in a good performance,
Sharman plays 1 good game in 20? It’s amazing how little respected he is for a guy who’s played 300 games including 20 finals.

Against Essendon there were moments in that last quarter where some players were trying to do too much on their own...or Like Darcy did... chose the wrong option.

The forwards like Pou and Caminiti can tend to be hungry at times. I get that, but what they need to do is play as a team. Share the footy with the guy in a better position than you.

Caminiti and Wilson are desperate to impress to keep their spot. Pou wants to do the miraculous and be a hero. These guys are going to be playing together for 10 years plus. They have to be taught to be selfless.

If we play as a team and if the boys support each other and do the selfless things, then we will win.

It's that simple.

Bruce G McAbee

I would prefer to be playing at Adelaide Oval instead of that sardine tin of a ground at Norwood.
I can see us being bottled up too easily there.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

King Max wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 1:21pm
Hopefully this is one those one in 20 games where he puts in a good performance,
Sharman plays 1 good game in 20? It’s amazing how little respected he is for a guy who’s played 300 games including 20 finals.

Respect in the context you suggest is a mis understanding of my POV on a player like Coops, he has my utmost respect and admiration for having been able to etch out 40 odd games thus far. Not to be confused with my opinion that his potential to become a GF type is highly overrated by some fans at this stage of his development. His first 3 performances of this season, his low ToG and being subbed out of the game last week seem to confirm he is still struggling at the level.

Is probably hanging onto his spot in the side just and will need to show something this week.

I'm still not convinced he's going to be part our next premiership team is what I'm saying but as always happy to be proven wrong.

TheGreatZacsby

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 2:16pm I would prefer to be playing at Adelaide Oval instead of that sardine tin of a ground at Norwood.
I can see us being bottled up too easily there.
Or even the Adelaide hills oval. Looks good right now with WCE v Swans

Superboot

WellardSaint wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 9:58am
Superboot wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 9:17am For the 2nd game in a row, all 14 sports journalists in The Age have picked us to win. It's a real worry.
Sportsbet gives us $1.32 or something, Tigers longer odds. Weird.
But if you believe tipsters have any influence on 23 young blokes, I worry for your sanity 😳😖
I always see it asa bad omen! 😉

I reckon Sharman will be a long term player for us and as always I’m not happy to be proven wrong ☺️

King Max wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 1:21pm
That's a maths joke. I'm tipping most people won't get it 😉

Yes 11out of 10 footy fans struggle with maths(and logic)

There are 10 premiership players in today's Richmond side - many of those are dual/multiple premiership players - plus Taranto. It won't be easy this afternoon.

I recognise and respect RTB's long record of getting his teams to bounce back straight away after a loss, but I worry about the club's record of failing to prepare properly for matches we play for premiership points at unfamiliar, or boutique venues.

In Ross we (hope) trust!

King Max

samuraisaint wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 12:20pm There are 10 premiership players in today's Richmond side - many of those are dual/multiple premiership players - plus Taranto. It won't be easy this afternoon.
How many premiership players did they have when we beat them by 6 goals last time we played them?

After the elimination final last year… I thought we’d finally fallen into the spot with Coops where the sense was that we’d let him ply his craft as a forward and fit within the structure of our other forwards in King and Membrey.

Unfortunately however… there seems to be a different expectations for different players.

Membrey’s output wasn’t particularly different to Coops at time of subbing last week… in fact, of the two Coops looked to be the more dangerous of the two.
But, Tim got to stay on as a forward. Caminati also seems to have similar sense of just getting to be a forward.

Coops has to kick goals
Negate an opposition backline runner
Act as a swing man, play up the ground

Feels iffy to me

Ben King is looking good today.

If one twin is feeling good, that means usually the other identical twin should be too

Any twins out there can confirm this theory?

King Max wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 1:17pm
samuraisaint wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 12:20pm There are 10 premiership players in today's Richmond side - many of those are dual/multiple premiership players - plus Taranto. It won't be easy this afternoon.
How many premiership players did they have when we beat them by 6 goals last time we played them?
Richmond were out of the finals race last year. They had nothing to play for.

When it was Cotchin’s 300th they rallied and beat us. Same with other teams we played.

When did we beat GWS? It was at the start of last season with the new coach implementing a new game plan.

We look too top heavy.

Not sure we need both Cordy and Caminiti in the team.

King Max

Scollop wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 2:29pm

When it was Cotchin’s 300th they rallied and beat us. Same with other teams we played.

When did we beat GWS? It was at the start of last season with the new coach implementing a new game plan.
If they win that game they’re half a game out with 2 to play.

We’ve beaten them 3 out of the last 4 games. Do you have an excuse for the other 2? I’m sure they had a few premiership players in both those games including the one where they kicked 2 goals.

WellardSaint wrote: Sat 06 Apr 2024 9:55am Tigers marked out the dimensions of Norwood Oval, on Punt Rd Oval during training, so they could get used to the ground size.

RTB said that's OTT and obsessive.
He said we could play on asphalt or gravel, he doesn't care.

I thought it was a good idea, we should have tried that too.

Anyway
The interview with Wilkie said they had the ground marked out to Norwood size & he laughingly said, there were a few kicks going out on the full.

I think Lyon is a bit like old Joe Bejekle Peterson ( Queensland Premier of years gone bye). JBP used to say that addressing the media was like ‘feeding the chooks’, just give ‘em anything’. Methinks Lyon loves to play games with media at times!

SaintPav wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 3:24pm We look too top heavy.

Not sure we need both Cordy and Caminiti in the team.
Came on to post this…
Am very worried about their potential run from our backline.

Coops most likely going to be expected to player a curb influence/chase role that I’m not sure is his strength. Reckon one of he or Caminati needed to be dropped for Collard or Garcia.

King Max wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 3:32pm
Scollop wrote: Sun 07 Apr 2024 2:29pm

If they win that game they’re half a game out with 2 to play.

We’ve beaten them 3 out of the last 4 games. Do you have an excuse for the other 2? I’m sure they had a few premiership players in both those games including the one where they kicked 2 goals.
I am glad we beat them and props to the players and coaching team for getting us over the line, but be honest; were you nervous? (Because I was).

Vortex wrote: Fri 05 Apr 2024 8:21pm
Coops is being used as a clasic Lyon "role player", which unfortunately means he just doesn't have the tool kit to be anything else.
Sharman was a valuable contributor in my book.

17 touches. 11 of those contested. He had 3 stoppage clearances and 1 centre clearance!

Not shabby numbers. Only 1 clanger for the day too. Also very good defensively.

I would have preferred him to be a lead up target in the forward line, but with Wood and Crouch, Clark and Windy out (and some of the younger guys not having the poise and calmness that Cooper possesses) Lyon is using him to help our midfield.

You never know Coop, you might be on other clubs radars the way you're going