Owens

Re: Owens

Owens was definitely up the ground more in the 2nd half yesterday and we were using Hammer as 2nd ruck

Also saw a bit more run and movement from Pou with a bit more kicking than usual

Thought he was pretty poor

I think he is our most overrated player

That isn’t to say he is no good but he is not as good as some supporters carry on about!

Devilhead wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 5:33pm Owens was definitely up the ground more in the 2nd half yesterday and we were using Hammer as 2nd ruck

Also saw a bit more run and movement from Pou with a bit more kicking than usual
Well I wouldn’t be surprised if Phillipou becomes an A-grade or better midfielder, but I reckon it’s a couple of years off.

Owens might need a couple of weeks at Sandy if he keeps playing like he is, he's nowhere near his best this season.
He might need a running coach next off season, he's as slow as.

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

bobmurray wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 11:13pm Owens might need a couple of weeks at Sandy if he keeps playing like he is, he's nowhere near his best this season.
He might need a running coach next off season, he's as slow as.
You think a 20 year old half forward will be dropped if he continues to go at 15 disposals (8 contested), a goal and 3 goals assists per game as he did against Richmond?

Lennylegs

B.M wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 9:16pm Thought he was pretty poor

That isn’t to say he is no good but he is not as good as some supporters carry on about!
You've got nfi. Take out his efforts in the second half and we lose the game.

He's played 35 games! Opposition would hate playing against him and opposition coaches would hate finding him a match-up! Takes heaps away from the opposition. Provides more contests than anyone in our forward line.

Far out. You need to wear a bib before you post. Just spew so much dribble.

Apparently he covered 15 km in the game, equal highest.

Looks to have a bit of a form dip, but he'll be back.

He's fumbling below his knees at the moment and snatching at the ball. I'm confident he'll turn it around.

I’d have thought 15 possessions for a half forward and goal would have you salivating for the incoming Brownlow. I certainly haven’t heard any calls for Billings being overrated for his 14 touches and 0.3.

skeptic wrote: Tue 09 Apr 2024 10:35am

I’d have thought 15 possessions for a half forward and goal would have you salivating for the incoming Brownlow. I certainly haven’t heard any calls for Billings being overrated for his 14 touches and 0.3.
Who cares about Billings ?

Will the Saints ever be classed as a good club ?

Had a reasonable 2nd half

His first half was deplorable 3 possessions

He is nothing like Billings

He is a Hybrid and Billings is a link

As an overall game, Owens was not great - he kicks it like a sack of wheat

The G Train Legacy

I agree that Owens ideally should be around the footy as an inside mid.

I also don't think Lyon is a fool and there may be a good reason why he hasn't really played there yet.

Has anyone considered the possibility that Owens doesn't yet have the tank to run through the midfield for any longer than he pinch hits in the Ruck? Which is actually very occasionally.

I have no doubt that he will eventually end up there.

The G Train Legacy

bigcarl wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 10:45pm
Devilhead wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 5:33pm Owens was definitely up the ground more in the 2nd half yesterday and we were using Hammer as 2nd ruck

Well I wouldn’t be surprised if Phillipou becomes an A-grade or better midfielder, but I reckon it’s a couple of years off.
He will be a star, reminds me of Nat Fyfe, but he's a better kick and possibly better in the air.

cwrcyn wrote: Tue 09 Apr 2024 9:29am He's fumbling below his knees at the moment and snatching at the ball. I'm confident he'll turn it around.
Timing was a bit off, I think. It will come

His tank must be OK if he ran 15k bs Richmond

Forwards - especially high forwards - run a hell of a lot

Otiman wrote: Mon 08 Apr 2024 5:27pm Gut feel was that Owens position didn't change this week.

Stats say:
0 centre bounces attended
1 clearance
2 tackles
8 contested possessions

But as a forward, these stats matter more:
1 goal
3 goal assists
3 marks
7 score involvements
Do you think he's better suited as a forward or as a mid? Or possibly 60/40 mix

Where will he be more value and more of a weapon? Where do you see Mich playing in the long term?

If he is going to play as a midfielder, you'd think they'll need to develop his game in that position

When do you think would be a good time to play Owens in the midfield as a pure mid?

After Seb Ross and Brad Crouch retire... or now?

Top 5 in the B&F last year , so the boy can play.

Wouldn’t be top 10 so far this year.

He can obviously play

But not at the level supports would lead you to believe and he is not used correctly

Scollop wrote: Fri 12 Apr 2024 6:40pm
Do you think he's better suited as a forward or as a mid? Or possibly 60/40 mix
He is a contested ball beast.

Wherever he plays he will win more 1 on 1 contests than he loses.

Having him forward is a weapon for us, but I think he is better off in the midfield.

To answer your question, I think he should be at all centre bounces, but playing most of the game a kick ahead of the contest..

Hard as a cats head

The Fireman wrote: Sat 13 Apr 2024 6:58pm Hard as a cats head
LOL - needs to also be as mad as a cut snake

B.M wrote: Sat 30 Mar 2024 8:49pm He’s a contested bull

Play him in the centre square - rest him forward

To me it’s a fkn no brainer
It must be that they don’t think he has the tank to play there. I can see no other conceivable reason.

But yes, start him in the centre square and rest him forward. Surely he has the tank for that

How should we carry on about him ?

The Fireman wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2024 2:48pm

Don't know how everyone else should carry on about him, but you can carry on about him the same way you carry on about Ross the boss 😂😂😂

Scollop wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2024 5:00pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2024 2:48pm

Don't know how everyone else should carry on about him, but you can carry on about him the same way you carry on about Ross the boss 😂😂😂
Can one be a Fanboy of multiple idols?