Gehrig Retired

loving_the_dal

Brewer wrote:Image
hey.. another thing to add to her fraser collection.. lucky girl she is... mum would be proud :p...

frase thanks for all the memories.. you are a lovely person.. and i'm so glad you played for the saints. good luck with your life after footy and thanks for everything you have done for the st kilda football club.

st.mart

Great Career......a decorated player.

Prodgers

Oh When the Saints wrote:
- 100th goal vs. Port
- Kicking the white chair earlier in the year
- Explosion vs. Freo in Tassie
- Kicking 10 straight against the Tigers
- The "Gehrig" chants at Telstra Dome in 2004
- The run around and play on move than only G could do ...
Maybe someone somewhere with acces to video archives could make a wikid vid showing the G's finest moments? i would really love to have a vid like that for keeps.

The woman 2 rows in front of me said before the game started that it was his last game, annouced just before the game. I thought she meant another G-Train until he waved to the cheer squad and supporters behind the goals... a shiver went down my back, i knew it was the last time i was going to see him play. Kicking 5 goals and that goal after the siren made it a fitting end to a fantastic career. I really thought he was going to completely smash that richmond bloke...

Frase, what can i say? you were truely one of the most entertaining footballers i have ever seen through my years (short year mind you im only 20 lol). It was always great to watch you, you always did something different and you have a wikid sence of humor :lol: Thank you :D

lovin_dal_santo

there isnt much you can say about our fraser!

by far one of the best football players to watch and one of the very few left that can win a game off their own boot. has been an absolute pleasure to watch him "do his thing" and will be strange to not see the big shadow present in out forward line next year. i knew before the game this would be his last, and as usual he delivered something strangly
beautiful :]

thank you fraser, for everything!

Robert Harvey
What else do we need?

don't suppose we can talk him out of it. i reckon he still had a couple of seasons left in him

bigcarl wrote:don't suppose we can talk him out of it. i reckon he still had a couple of seasons left in him
ch ten started their coverage with the story that the rumours weren't confirmed because saints officials were still trying to talk him out of it- Walls went on to say why it would get easier for him

then he went to the cheersquad and they decided that yep it was true and he had decided.

Thanks Frase,

been great fun watching your antics and that run off the mark onto the left foot from 45 out.

Good luck in the future.

The boy and I didn't really believe it until he handed over the jumper at the end - then we knew :-(

Now, for 2008, who steps up?

Fergus, Kosi, ???

As footy becomes more robotic and keepings off, Frase was a breath of fresh air.

Will always remember those many times when he would lead to the left out to "his" pocket, mark, stop dead, and then suddenly spring off to his right in an arc and drill a goal on that wonderful left foot.

Every one portrays him as a mean thug, but off the field (apart from a few nightclub indiscretions) he does some wonderful work with the StKilda mission and is generous with his time, especially signing kids autographs.

Will miss you Frase.

football has lost a comic genuis. he used to crack me up with some of his antics.

has retired two season too early. i guess only he knows why.

fraser, you're a long time out of the game mate
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 02 Sep 2007 1:20am, edited 1 time in total.

Winmar

Man I'm sad to see him go. I feel down tonight as a result. :( He was one of the few characters left in the AFL, one of those guys you'd turn up to see. Lots of people are going to miss the big man. I sure will.

No fanfare as content G-Train chugs into the sunset
Rohan Connolly | September 2, 2007

FOOTBALL for Fraser Gehrig was always supposed to be as much about good, old-fashioned fun as status, accolades and financial rewards. Which is why the last of his 255 AFL games yesterday was an appropriate send-off.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>
mark on a strong lead and accurate conversion put the Saints in front. And it ended perfectly, a Stephen Milne pass finding Gehrig seconds before the siren. The last two kicks of Gehrig's career were goals. The final one brought up his 540th career goal, and 100th on the MCG, as he was swamped by every teammate, one of whom, Andrew Thompson, had also announced his retirement.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

None of the overhype of others with loooooooooooooong goodbyes

only yesterday i posted how we should start grooming kosi as full-forward and move fraser out to half-forward or forward pocket.

wish i hadn't said it now (not that it would have been a factor, of course).

i genuinely believe he still had a couple of good years left in him and the club should make sure that this is what he really wants.

markinUSA

Dear Fraser

Thank you for everything. You're a champion.

And some of your special moments - giving your jumper away today, running through the banner with the young disabled girl this year... you have a wonderful heart, and it's made me proud to see you represent our club.

Bravo

Mark

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
Gehrigs_son

my favorite player ever hands down
love the bloke
cant believe its all over
wish him all the best
best player in the league to watch
brilliant finish for him

woooosaints

is he married or in a relationship and have kids?

Sainter_4_life

My second favourite saints player behind Harvs.

I love this guy for what he brings to the game, his antics, his persona, his everything. When i realised after the game that he was finished i just started bawling my eyes out. Was special for me though to be near the race as he was carried off. Was the girl he gave his jumper to the one who holds up the "frazer your my hero" banner ? Nice touch from the big rig

As i was leaving the ground, it was a mixture of sadness and anger, and for a moment the anger took over and i just booted the footy i was carrying at one of those statues outside the mcc members area, and it rebounded off at blinding speed and hit a guy in the stomach. So if that guy is on here, i apologise for that.

I wish you all the best for your life after footy mate :cry:

Frank Sinatra must have been a visionary with his song; MY WAY

It sums up Fraser perfectly !!

brown-coat

Sainter_4_life wrote:So if that guy is on here, i apologise for that:
IT WAS YOU

grrr

super dooper

Thanks Fraser

Its been a blast watching you go at it

gO.SainTs

We'll miss you Fraser! :( I was actually at that game right next to the Saints Cheersquad 5 rows up from the front. I saw him walk over and clap to the supporters so it was great that we stood and applauded him. From what I heard, the girl who was given the guernsey was the girl who holds up the 'Fraser You're My Hero' sign, so that good :)

well done Fraze...you retired a year at least too early and will most likely regret it in 10 or 20 years time, but such is life....

I just hope now Harvs plays on otherwise we will be rooted already for 2008.

thequarry

Thankyou Fraser. You have given St.Kilda fans something else altogether.

Absolute champion, will be sorely missed

one of the last true characters of the game, a guy you'd go to the footy to watch

could win a game off his own boot, and did many times

one of my favourite memories of big Frase was him kicking 10, including the winning goal, against North in a couple of years ago

he will leave a bigger hole in the team that most realise, anyone who says we'll be better off without him is a full blown idiot

a sad day for st.kilda and the fans

thanks for the memories G-Train

Toot-toot!

Unforgiven

Will actaully miss the big G, provided some humour, and also some bloody good footballing.

Carpe Diem
gO.SainTs

My auntie nearly started crying at the end of the game because he was retiring :( It was really good at the end of the game though, when he got chaired off, we all started chanting :wink: