Who is jealous?????

BigMart wrote:By that reckoning anyone who misses a season with an injury is shot (Lenny)....
big difference is most players have a club facilities and rehab to get them back to the standard needed..... thats my point

Not at all, hope they enjoy all the attention, it puts alot of pressure on everyone down at Punt Rd.

Yes.
evertonfc wrote:I... like what they've done. It's the right thing.

And if Cousins completes his career with them - or plays at least three years - I can't see this being labelled anything other than a huge success.

Even if he's not the player he was, it's fantastic that Richmond are willing to help rehabilitate Ben Cousins back into society.

I'm ecstatic for Ben and delighted for the Richmond Football Club.

I sure hope we finish 1st next year, but by golly, I'm hoping they make top four - and that Ben can get himself on the path back to full health and play great footy.

Welcome back Ben.

Thank you Richmond.

Dude, he had a hammy.....the rehab required is rest and wait for the body to repair.....returning to playing too early is the only way to re-damage....you need 4 weeks off generally with a re-occurring......he had 12 months....the muscle would have healed by now....

The upside is the time he had off, will have freshened his body for another year or two (ala B.Lee, when he was 12th man for 18 months has lengthened his career)

and look at his body......it is fair to say he takes care of himself physically....and probably understands as much as any fitness staffer.....playing the game for 12 years as an ELITE mid...he is an amazing speciman...

Nice id Dal or X had the fitness/body of BC...

Yes... I am very envious of the tigers...

...And Im not going to bang on here about why I shouldnt be jealous cos I know some juicy inside goss abouts what Cousins is really upto... :roll:

Many people have heard these rumors (fact to some), but the bottom line is if he can still bring the same game as he did in late '07, which I think he will, the Tigers will be way infront...

We missed our chance, and I am green with envy...

Big yes.

Im envious because I still believed from all clubs who looked at Cousins and where each of them sits on Premiership clock...we needed him most and he could have delivered us greatest benefit. Now we pray Armo/Mqualters/Jones pull a miracle as second string mids so we can compete with Cats/Hawks...

Im also envious Richmond had BALLS and took the punt. St Kilda took a line that was "AFL friendly" and the path of least resistance.

Im at a loss of the so called risk of taking Cousins and Im not sure, if it was true, if Im all that comfortable with sponsors having such a say in the football operations of our club. What is next - Jeld Wen match committee meetings?

As for risk - yep Bens a druggie, so lets say he relapses after WE had given him another chance.....hes immediately finished, kaput gawn. St Kilda goes on.....so what? - the way many carried on it was as if Ben was gonna start rave parties down Linton street FFS......

What about the upside? - we are a club who got shafted commercially, draw-wise, we play Sunday's galore next year and have very little Friday night exposure. In short WE NEED members/bums on seats...Ben Cousins wouldve ENORMOUSLY helped with that and we can already see the excitement generated for the Tigers. And good luck to them. Pickering on SEN reckons Cousins could be good for an additional 5K in members....thats a lotta moula in tought times for giving a down and out a second chance......(and theres GOOD PR in that...).

Not to mention TV/Radio/Newspaper exposure guranteed for Richmond sponsors....and as the Vic Commercial Manager of UD Trucks said when he was asked about us drafting Cousins........."all publicity is good publicity"

People would NOT have stopped buying Jeld Wen doors had we taken Cousins.

Well done Tigers. We struggled to beat you in 08 and I for one am a little nervous about your midfield in 09....

Absolutely not.
Good luck to them and to BC. Hope it all works out for them.

I'm pumped with who we picked up. Some of them will turn out to be great players for us, we just have to wait to see which ones and how many?

And BTW, if things do go pear-shaped for the Tiggers over this how long before the spittle and chicken manure comes out?

Ha ha ha. Can't believe this new found p3nis envy of Richmond. Too funny. :lol: Where was the anger when we didn't get Judd? Or Kerr?

Even funnier, there were people on here who were slamming the possibility of getting Kerr, yet now people are in a tizz coz we missed out on Cuz. Bwahahaha.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

If he is SO GOOD, why didn't anyone else but a desperate rabble of a club take him at the last minute? Including sensible clubs like eelong and Hawks? Surely having Cuz would have made them invincible next year?

WTF is wrong with these clubs. Just because they won a flag doesn't entitle them to be so arrogant. :roll:

Good luck to Cuz, and may he get well and play good footy again.

You know I wish that I had Jessie's girl... I wish that I had Jessie's girl... where can I find a player like that?

Go Sir Cliff!

WayneJudson42 wrote:Ha ha ha. Can't believe this new found p3nis envy of Richmond. Too funny. :lol: Where was the anger when we didn't get Judd? Or Kerr?

Even funnier, there were people on here who were slamming the possibility of getting Kerr, yet now people are in a tizz coz we missed out on Cuz. Bwahahaha.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

If he is SO GOOD, why didn't anyone else but a desperate rabble of a club take him at the last minute? Including sensible clubs like eelong and Hawks? Surely having Cuz would have made them invincible next year?

WTF is wrong with these clubs. Just because they won a flag doesn't entitle them to be so arrogant. :roll:

Good luck to Cuz, and may he get well and play good footy again.

You know I wish that I had Jessie's girl... I wish that I had Jessie's girl... where can I find a player like that?

Go Sir Cliff!
I was always sure Rick Springfield sang Jessies Girl....not Sir Cliff... :shock:

Aside from that I think the point you miss a tad here is Geelong/Hawks dont need a Cousins. Infact I reckon only a handful of sides probably do....and Richmond purely cause the CAN NOT afford to come 9th again.

Its horses for courses IMHO and we fit the bill hence my envy.

As for risk - yep Bens a druggie, so lets say he relapses after WE had given him another chance.....hes immediately finished, kaput gawn. St Kilda goes on.....so what? ....
\

For once I will have to disagree with you Teffers. Have you considered the scenario that he does get us into the top 2, then it goes pear shape? It's not just a case of sacking him... it's also a case of your season being thrown into turmoil. Just look at what happened when Lenny did his knee, and Hamill missed the finals... and Kosi.

IMO, it's also a huge risk re your team structure and planning. A bit like what happened this year when Fraser went missing... no pland B fwd line.

Definitely NOT !!!!!

WayneJudson42 wrote:
As for risk - yep Bens a druggie, so lets say he relapses after WE had given him another chance.....hes immediately finished, kaput gawn. St Kilda goes on.....so what? ....
\

For once I will have to disagree with you Teffers. Have you considered the scenario that he does get us into the top 2, then it goes pear shape? It's not just a case of sacking him... it's also a case of your season being thrown into turmoil. Just look at what happened when Lenny did his knee, and Hamill missed the finals... and Kosi.

IMO, it's also a huge risk re your team structure and planning. A bit like what happened this year when Fraser went missing... no pland B fwd line.
I cant agree Wayne and I usually like to...

Cousins or ANY player isnt the top 2 difference - hes a piece in a puzzle that helps you get closer. IMO had we drafted Cousins he became a younger model up on Harvs. NOT the kingpin of our midfield.....but an awesome rotation that at times could go fwd (he likes a goal) and adds to our flexibility. Lets not forget he was easily a top 10 league player....football wise the learning he passes on to some younger guys cant be bought.

Happy to have a civil disagreement though. Its so refreshing.

Yes....but only if Benny pans out for them.

I hope Benny stays off the drugs but is cursed with poor form and injury, and plays only a handful of games.

Reason: So it vindicates our board's decision not to draft him.

Agree with post but not jealous.......

see all the benefits for tiges

dissapointed we did not select him.

The board just saw too many shadows

amazing turn around by media....... :roll: :roll:

but that is the media just being the media.

chook23 wrote:Agree with post but not jealous.......

see all the benefits for tiges

dissapointed we did not select him.

The board just saw too many shadows

amazing turn around by media....... :roll: :roll:

but that is the media just being the media.
in response to OP
NO

re the media ;
reading news sites tonight you would think it was national draft No.1 -- instead of one player lucky to be given a lifeline--
let alone the other 30 odd players picked up today......

looks like the gold fish bowl just arrived in melbourne....................

No but I wish him well

By the way whay happened to the poor kid that was going to be picked up by Richmond? Going for youth I think they were saying. So much for that now they've got a media circus surrounding punt road.

Not what St.Kilda needs.

PJ wrote:No but I wish him well

By the way whay happened to the poor kid that was going to be picked up by Richmond? Going for youth I think they were saying. So much for that now they've got a media circus surrounding punt road.

Not what St.Kilda needs.
kid who they had delisted 12 months ago and was rookied elswhere and whom they had promised to repick-- was gotten by them for later pick,

not at all.

Good luck to Cousins, I hope he's clean

makaveli

Teflon wrote:Big yes.

Im envious because I still believed from all clubs who looked at Cousins and where each of them sits on Premiership clock...we needed him most and he could have delivered us greatest benefit. Now we pray Armo/Mqualters/Jones pull a miracle as second string mids so we can compete with Cats/Hawks...

Well done Tigers. We struggled to beat you in 08 and I for one am a little nervous about your midfield in 09....
Spot on here. Missed opportunity and the 'Footy First' board has a lot to answer for. Richmond's football department made the call. Not their board.

I will be envious if he plays well and contributes to improving the RFC... especially if we sit outside the 8 with 2 rounds to go and face another rollercoaster ride of making the finals and then getting smacked by better, bigger, faster and hungrier midfields.

Worst case scenario he gets caught on the gear (clearly hes still on it)... Who gives a toss? He gets dumped, Richmond gets admired for giving him a chance and doing what nobody else will do... And before the standard rebuttle of "it could derail our season" comes out, with our team we will challenge for the top 8... but we will not challenge the Hawks, Cats, or perhaps even Carlton in September.... And... for all we know there are already Saints players on their second strike.... who have actually been caught!

makaveli wrote:

Spot on here. Missed opportunity and the 'Footy First' board has a lot to answer for. Richmond's football department made the call. Not their board.

I will be envious if he plays well and contributes to improving the RFC... especially if we sit outside the 8 with 2 rounds to go and face another rollercoaster ride of making the finals and then getting smacked by better, bigger, faster and hungrier midfields.

Worst case scenario he gets caught on the gear (clearly hes still on it)... Who gives a toss? He gets dumped, Richmond gets admired for giving him a chance and doing what nobody else will do... And before the standard rebuttle of "it could derail our season" comes out, with our team we will challenge for the top 8... but we will not challenge the Hawks, Cats, or perhaps even Carlton in September.... And... for all we know there are already Saints players on their second strike.... who have actually been caught!
So if he gets caught what effect will that have on his team mates?
If you don't think it will affect the team morale then you're dreaming. The club will self destruct and the administration will be knifing each other, blaming each other. Do you think any sponsor will want to have any bar of that?

makaveli

Not what St.Kilda needs.
Not what St.Kilda needs? Please explain?

Hes on the gear? - So for all we know any of our players could have tested positive twice already. He (finally) actually tests positive and gets thrown out on his arse by the AFL. Saints look great for giving him the opportunity and all the media attention gives our sponsors loads of coverage.

The extra media attention? - Yet to meet a client in my line of work who believes any media exposure from sporting sponsorship will be negative towards their brand/business.

He could be the difference between losing another prelim and winning one? - Even if he wasnt what would the loss have been? A low draft pick we would have used on a kid who wont play for 2 years. Or the pick used for Begley who most definately has no chance of bridging the huge gap between us and the best in the comp.

Youth policy? - Yes lets build for the future............. AGAIN

Kerr was going to cost us....Dal and Tom Lynch....there is the difference.....poor argument.

Judd was zero option for the same reason and the $800 000 per year price tag....

makaveli

Moccha wrote:
makaveli wrote:

If you don't think it will affect the team morale then you're dreaming. The club will self destruct and the administration will be knifing each other, blaming each other. Do you think any sponsor will want to have any bar of that?
So worst case scenario it does have an effect on his teammates. What difference will it make - We cannot win a flag with this list. We are now REBUILDING with this YOUTH POLICY. I dont see the risk of player moral as a worthwhile tradeoff against the potential improvements this team could make with a top midfielder in the team.

The only forseeable downside to getting this bloke was that his hammys are shot and hell never get anywhere near his best - reasonably risk to take given he wasnt going to cost us much.

makaveli wrote:

Hes on the gear? - So for all we know any of our players could have tested positive twice already.
I think you'll find that all players bar one ex WCE have not tested positive once!

makaveli wrote:
Moccha wrote:
makaveli wrote:

So worst case scenario it does have an effect on his teammates. What difference will it make - We cannot win a flag with this list. We are now REBUILDING with this YOUTH POLICY. I dont see the risk of player moral as a worthwhile tradeoff against the potential improvements this team could make with a top midfielder in the team.

The only forseeable downside to getting this bloke was that his hammys are shot and hell never get anywhere near his best - reasonably risk to take given he wasnt going to cost us much.
Then there's no upside is there, more to the point there's more to lose so pick someone young that can be developed