Eljay!!!!

Eljay!!!!

It is obvious the club has been taking talented underage kids for a long apprenticeship, i cant see Eljay getting a game this year with the other kids around and his size as he still needs to bulk up or he will do another lung (has punctured both). My question is will we do what we did with Howard? will we delist him at the end of the year to put on rookie list and then give him another couple of years?

I spoke to Eljay at the Gold Coast function, comparing him to his brother and asked him who was better (brother also took a while to come on) he said at the same age or as Juniors Eljay was better, all the way up to under 16 level he was heavily tagged, by sometimes 3 people... He said it got to a stage when he was playing in better comps where all players were as good as each other and they stopped tagging....

He said the ball just came to him and is excited to get out there and play a game, i really hope he does, but will his body make up not allow this to happen? is he back at training and what are his skills and speed like, does anyone know!?

Thought the same Batnoe at draft time last year but they chose tp keep him on the senior list so perhaps they know something we don't.

His frailty is an issue but i do believe anyone can build up and most do given the right program.

He's supposed to have exception speed which seems to be in fashion at sainterland at the moment so be may get tried at a later time this year. I like you can't see him getting a gig seeing how we traded heavily for speed from the half back line but maybe his position is somewhere else

1/ can he kick for goal?
2/ are his outside skills good enough to get him a run in the zebs midfield this year?

saint08

MATTHEW LAPPIN WAS ALWAYS FRAIL BUT DID VERY WELL. HOPE ELJAY CAN TOO

I reckon we should see how he goes this year before anyone will have any idea if he is good enough or not afterall he has only played about 5 games in the reserves.

Very wise plugger66 but you can't help getting excited about the prospect of a bit of speed injection in the saints.

I'd love to see someone in the saints guernsey burning off opponents - Aussie Jones wasn't that long ago.

Eljay was also (like Steven) a bottom age recruit.

So in many ways this is his "first" real year.

Pilgram

the kid is small

InkerSaint

Seen this?

Saints Feeling Fine
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/st-kil ... 90854.html

Pic at top, with Eljay, Blake, Gram and Monty at the front of the pack. Go Eljay!

can you find him?

Pilgram

has good legs but really needs to bulk up in the fair dinkum shoulder department.
really needs to work hard in the gym if he wants to be the third crumber.

Sam23

Pilgram wrote:has good legs but really needs to bulk up in the fair dinkum shoulder department.

Needs to hit the sun as well.

Goddard.
Pilgram

in this day an age you need to be an absolute minimum of 80kg.
going by the photo he is a good six or eight short of that weight.

Pilgram wrote:in this day an age you need to be an absolute minimum of 80kg.
I reckon you need to be able to find the footy and then use your skills.

Pilgram

you need to be at least 79kg so that you dont get pushed around at the very first bounce.

Pilgram wrote:
you need to be at least 79kg so that you dont get pushed around at the very first bounce.
If I post again will that drop to 78kg.

Please tell me just why you have come up with this weight of 80kg??

Chance Bateman is not at that weight

Leigh Montagna is not at the weight

X Clarke is not at that weight...

I am sure there are many...

your logic in this post is baseless

Just how much did Matthew Lappin weigh??

Sam23 wrote:
Pilgram wrote:has good legs but really needs to bulk up in the fair dinkum shoulder department.

Needs to hit the sun as well.
The boy is either "SUN SMART" or he is heavily into body bleaching :roll: :wink: !!

Pilgram

if he gets to 78kg i will take back everything i have said about him.
what do you reckon plugger?
in an age when then is so much spotlight surely what you do as team hawthorn is look for a weak link in the team chain? if eljay wanders out onto the telstra dome in front of fifty weighing 71kg and expects to compete with the premiers everyone at st. kilda would have another thing coming?

Pilgram wrote:if he gets to 78kg i will take back everything i have said about him.
what do you reckon plugger?
in an age when then is so much spotlight surely what you do as team hawthorn is look for a weak link in the team chain? if eljay wanders out onto the telstra dome in front of fifty weighing 71kg and expects to compete with the premiers everyone at st. kilda would have another thing coming?
Im not sure he will not get the ball because of his weight. Dont reckon Lenny will not kick it to him if he is on his own 30 out because he weighs 75 not 78.

Pilgram

St Fidelius wrote:

eighty may be a bit much.
tell me joey weighs anything under seventy-five and i will call you a liar.

Pilgram wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:

eighty may be a bit much.
tell me joey weighs anything under seventy-five and i will call you a liar.
Just a question. When you stood next to Eljay when he weighed himself what was his weight?

I wish him all the best for 09 and beyond.

Obviously has a ton of talent, just needs the base to work up now. Would expect to see a lot of him in the two's this year, with 2010 his breakout year.

Go Eljay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

His weight won't matter because RL will use him off the bench and only when we're kicking with the wind. :shock:

I'm with you Iceman234. Hopefully LJ has an injury free development year, gains some muscle, experience, confidence and respect. Fingers crossed he's a regular in our on ballers in 2012.

I know of a couple of good judges out there who rate him, let's hope they're right.