Family Day

The magic of Moorabbin is that whenever you go there it reminds you of all the great times and great incidents you witnessed there.

Admit it was weird watching the intra-club against a background of scorched earth.

But Seaford will hold none of that magic.

To achieve maximum penetration of this market all our players will be growing mullets in 2010,
and moccassins will be added to the official team travelling uniform.
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Nyuk nyuk nyuk!

Go Sainters Go wrote:Hey EM, where did our greatest player come from - a tip, he wore no. 35 for about 20 years and he played his junior football at Belvedere Park. The new training base, I wouldn't mind betting, could be named after him.
Not true.

Harves played for Seaford Football Club and their home is not Belvedere Park.

Enrico_Misso wrote:The magic of Moorabbin is that whenever you go there it reminds you of all the great times and great incidents you witnessed there.

Admit it was weird watching the intra-club against a background of scorched earth.

and just what do you propose??

Having some "magic" at Elsternwick or somewhere closer to where you live???...

The move has happened, move on :idea:

St Fidelius wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:The magic of Moorabbin is that whenever you go there it reminds you of all the great times and great incidents you witnessed there.

and just what do you propose??

Having some "magic" at Elsternwick or somewhere closer to where you live???...

The move has happened, move on :idea:
The move has happened?

Was down that way last week, not one shovel has disturbed the weeds.

What a yawn all this sh#t about where we're gonna train is. Big deal.

When we win I'll be sitting there saying "if only we could have trained at a traditional base it would have felt all that much better".

What magic did Moorabbin have when we moved their in 1965?
What history?
And do u think we could have stayed there? and if not what was the alternative...and would a place closer to your home presented the magic you seek?

The magic Moorabbin had in 1965 was seeing the Saints play there and play in their first grand final in my lifetime and then win the premiership the following year.

Seaford has nothing going for it and will only be a training facility. The social Club stays at Moorabbin.

Training at Seaford will suit the current coach. He likes to work under cover.

Moorabbin wasnt anything in 1965.

The magic it now has is a entire generations memories of this club .

iwantmeseats wrote:Moorabbin wasnt anything in 1965.

Tell that to the 50,000 plus people that attended our first game there.
You probably weren't even born then.

iwantmeseats wrote:Moorabbin wasnt anything in 1965.

Tell that to the 50,000 plus people that attended our first game there.
You probably weren't even born then.
Surely that post was just a dig...

It was against Collingwood and yes it was the best attendance at a home ground in the history of VFL, and in the record books it shows that it was the best attendance during a home and away game (not being the MCG or Waverley which are/were jointly home games to some clubs)

but are you seriously hanging your hat on that?

Bernard Shakey wrote:The magic Moorabbin had in 1965 was seeing the Saints play there and play in their first grand final in my lifetime and then win the premiership the following year.

Seaford has nothing going for it and will only be a training facility. The social Club stays at Moorabbin.

Training at Seaford will suit the current coach. He likes to work under cover.
Again does it matter where we train. No one goes anymore and maybe the move down there may get a few more to training as they have chance to watch an AFL club. Doesnt matter whether people go or not though as we are not going to play AFL games there.

SaintWodonga wrote:

I travel 300 kms to watch the Saints
Wow that is impressive :wink:

You're definitely committed or at least need to be 8-)

just kidding :wink:

saintlee

PJ wrote:When we win I'll be sitting there saying "if only we could have trained at a traditional base it would have felt all that much better".
That pretty well sums up my feelings as well....seriously its a training venue and thats it.....

Go Sainters Go wrote:Hey EM, where did our greatest player come from - a tip, he wore no. 35 for about 20 years and he played his junior football at Belvedere Park. The new training base, I wouldn't mind betting, could be named after him.
Not true.

Harves played for Seaford Football Club and their home is not Belvedere Park.
Exactly, as did I, it is the Seaford rd Oval and I was winning best and fairests at Seaford long before a johnny come lately liek harvey came along!

I grew up in Seaford,......mmm let me rephrase, I spent my childhood living in Seaford, I know what a hole the place is!

Anyway fact is the PLAYERS are not happy with it and I have heard this directly!

loris wrote:
Hey and guess what that was most of us members beefed about in the late 1960's about Moorabbin!!!!!!! It was the pits to go to such a boring, bogan, suburban backblock.............................. still we got over it

Ya reckon, IMHO all those responsible for relocating the St Kilda football club to Moorabbin to begin with, should be lined up against a wall!

The club just continues to head South, why don't we just cut Hawthorn's lunch, relocate to Tasmania and be done with it!

Or better still vote me in as President, relocate back to St Kilda and become an AFL powerhouse!

Ya reckon, IMHO all those responsible for relocating the St Kilda football club to Moorabbin to begin with, should be lined up against a wall!

The club just continues to head South, why don't we just cut Hawthorn's lunch, relocate to Tasmania and be done with it!

Or better still vote me in as President, relocate back to St Kilda and become an AFL powerhouse!
Only you can somehow twist and spin a thread titled "Family Day" into a post wanting people to vote for youself as President. :roll:

If you want people lined up against the wall, I would make sure that they have their backs to it :idea:

i_luv_nick_riewoldt wrote:
i_luv_nick_riewoldt wrote:Yes, it's inconvenient for some, but a lot of Stkilda supporters live along the Frankston train line area and we will be relocating to Seaford so it's a ideal place for promoting the club to be continuely making links with the population down that way.
More than "a lot" of Saints supporters don't live on that line. Many live in the northern and eastern suburbs and will no longer be bothered going to the family day. The result will be fewer kids following the Saints in the future.

I know of many families that used to go to family days at Moorabbin, but did not go last year because it was too far. Their kids will no longer have the enthusiasm to follow the Saints.
Oh yes of course it's too far for people even outer the melbourne area!! Definitely of course you win some, you lose some. It's very difficult to please every supporter with where you stage the event.
Well seeing as the club is called St Kilda and St Kilda is a central location which is fair for everyone, any chance the club could have any link to St Kilda at all? :roll:
One simple question Barks....when was the last time the St Kilda Football Club had an association with the suburb St Kilda in terms of playing or training or administration?

Buckets wrote:
One simple question Barks....when was the last time the St Kilda Football Club had an association with the suburb St Kilda in terms of playing or training or administration?
I know, it's a FAIR DINKUM disgrace isn't it!

There was a big fund raiser for the Saints at the Junction Oval in the late '80s. Plenty of players and staff there.

Bernard Shakey wrote:There was a big fund raiser for the Saints at the Junction Oval in the late '80s. Plenty of players and staff there.
Well thats only 20 years ago.

sandi23

Dont no about kids in the future having anything to do with where we or they are I grew up in Melb my dear old dad was an avid saints fan all his life and that was bred into me 12 year ago I moved to Queensland and have since had two georgous kids who because it is bred into them the same are avid saints fans 3rd generation we are all members and love anything red white and black ultimately our kids will follow their parents team if properly encouraged guys we dont get to see them much but we love them and would never turn no matter how far away we are looking forward to my next generation of QLD saints supporters and they will be.
i_luv_nick_riewoldt wrote:Yes, it's inconvenient for some, but a lot of Stkilda supporters live along the Frankston train line area and we will be relocating to Seaford so it's a ideal place for promoting the club to be continuely making links with the population down that way.
More than "a lot" of Saints supporters don't live on that line. Many live in the northern and eastern suburbs and will no longer be bothered going to the family day. The result will be fewer kids following the Saints in the future.

I know of many families that used to go to family days at Moorabbin, but did not go last year because it was too far. Their kids will no longer have the enthusiasm to follow the Saints.

Good to hear your dedication sandi23.

Not all kids follow their parents teams. My Dad was Fitzroy and Mum Collingwood. I made my own decision to follow the Saints at the age of 10 because they were the local team.

My daughter follows the Saints, but she's married to a Demon.

My 5 month old grandson, Harvey, is already signed up as a Little Devil. I'm going to have to work hard on him to become a Saints supporter.

sandi23

Bernard Shakey wrote:Good to hear your dedication sandi23.

Not all kids follow their parents teams. My Dad was Fitzroy and Mum Collingwood. I made my own decision to follow the Saints at the age of 10 because they were the local team.

My 5 month old grandson, Harvey, is already signed up as a Little Devil. I'm going to have to work hard on him to become a Saints supporter.
Alas I too married a demon but he had no hope over me you keep up the hard work on little Harvey as the name implies never give up hahaha.

busso mick

Bernard Shakey wrote:Good to hear your dedication sandi23.

Obviously your daughter named your grandson ! :D