Indigenous round

Indigenous round this weekend.
What's the bet Raph finds his way in the side this weekend? Pretty good I reckon

Only if the team 'pattern' requires it - RTB is not going to let such a 'non-football' issue persuade him at selection table!

He may be listed as Emergency for that reason but not the starting 22!

I would love to see Raph back in the senior side :lol: :lol:

But I want to see him get there on his merits, not because of some AFL theme !!

Loyal

how many Aborigines would there be in the BL team?

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?
True Blue Sainter

Loyal wrote:how many Aborigines would there be in the BL team?
Hooper, Proud, Harding, Macdonald, Charman(?), McGrath & Roe?

The Saints are coming!

It was indigenous round when we played Brisbane in Brisbane last year !!

Loyal

True Blue Sainter wrote:
that is a significant number of aborigines. :shock: 8-)

Footy Classified - NO ROOM FOR THE, who farted?

The whole thing seems to smack of inverted racism ?

Why can't we just celebrate the game and ALL who play it ?

Enrico_Misso wrote:The whole thing seems to smack of inverted racism ?

Another Keven Sheedy invention

"Ohh look the aboriginal colours are a combination of Richmonds and Essendons..lets ask the AFL to FIX the draw even more so that every second year the Bombers get a big home game at the G and more money in the bank :roll:

I love to death the flair and skill our indigenous players bring to the game, but Sheedys motives are..well...dodgy imo

SaintDebi

Re: Indigenous round

jonesy wrote:Indigenous round this weekend.
What's the bet Raph finds his way in the side this weekend? Pretty good I reckon
I doubt that Raph (or any other player for that matter) would want to be included on the basis of the colour of his skin.

EB

Loyal wrote:
True Blue Sainter wrote:
Is Hooper playing?
Thought he was out.

Proud definitely, Harding is an islander, MacDonald didn't think so but not 100%, Charman not sure but wouldn't have thought so, McGrath yes and Roe yes

You missed out on Brennan too

EB wrote:
Loyal wrote:
True Blue Sainter wrote:
Is Hooper playing?
Thought he was out.

Proud definitely, Harding is an islander, MacDonald didn't think so but not 100%, Charman not sure but wouldn't have thought so, McGrath yes and Roe yes

You missed out on Brennan too
Brennan isnt an aboriginal even though most people think he is.

NickyWizardCuz

Speaking of in Indigenous Round, I noticed that Adam Goodes did a 'Best Indigenous Side' for afl.com.au.

Nicky Winmar did not even rate a mention.................very strange!

Another Keven Sheedy invention

"Ohh look the aboriginal colours are a combination of Richmonds and Essendons..lets ask the AFL to FIX the draw even more so that every second year the Bombers get a big home game at the G and more money in the bank :roll:

I love to death the flair and skill our indigenous players bring to the game, but Sheedys motives are..well...dodgy imo
In my mind these are both questionable comments.

I seem to remember similar comments over the last few years.

You would do well to read about the treatment of indigenous players in eras goneby and the racism they had to endure.

To now celebrate what they have and do bring to the game is a fantastic thing. As a St. kilda fan I am proud of the fact that the club has for a long time played indigenous players.

Sheedy (love him or hate him) has always thought of the big picture. As an Essendon person he strongly supported indigenous players in his side (Long, Wanganeen, etc etc).

Richmond were also one of the first Victorian clubs back in the vfl days to play indigenous players.

I strongly believe that this weekend is a wonderful celebration of all that we love about our game.

Oxford Dictionary
Indigenous = originating or occuring naturally in a particular place; native.

I think "Indigenous Round" refers to something that occurs naturally at Jihad Stadium. - The Saints winning.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Google Marn Grook, mate.

If you can't acknowledge the fact that indigenous players deserve their own special place in our national game's history then at least you can give our indigenous Australian's fair credit for helping invent the game.

Fair dink...

Re: Indigenous round

jonesy wrote:Indigenous round this weekend.
Told ya's :wink:

True Blue Sainter wrote:
charman is no closer to indigenous than gablett

macdonald too....

harding no...

is this nation that poor that if a person has a tan they must be indigenous?

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
True Blue Sainter wrote:

macdonald too....

harding no...

I actually thought Harding is.

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
True Blue Sainter wrote:

macdonald too....

harding no...

I actually thought Harding is.
he isn't

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 2:01am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.

aussierules0k wrote:

Agree, it's dead set racisim.

White w@nkers putting on a "special' day for the blacks... who could never do anything by themselves... that's the message. The white folk who run the AFL and world are so nice and friendly? We're having a "special" day for the original inhabitants whose land we stole via an invasion. We wiped all their knowledge off the map, stole their children (re-educated them in the name of do gooding) and raped their land in a blink of a dreamtime.

But, this day will make up for everything. :roll:
The AFL cannot win. Yes the AFL were involved with everything you mentioned that is why they are doing it. It is a great idea but some on here would complain if they won lotto. They would say thay didnt win enough. Grow up for god sake.

saint3d

Thinline wrote:

Google Marn Grook, mate.

If you can't acknowledge the fact that indigenous players deserve their own special place in our national game's history then at least you can give our indigenous Australian's fair credit for helping invent the game.

Fair dink...
Good point. They are different from us, so they should be recognised separately. The term we is misleading, because they should never be identified as being the same as us.

It's not racism if it's backed by good intentions, right?

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 2:01am, edited 1 time in total.

5 prelims in 7 years. 40 wins from 49 games.
2009 and 2010 were 2 of the 5 best years ever by the St.Kilda FC.
Thanks for all your efforts Saints.

How about a "Cream time" game honouring short fat white players ?