How ridiculous was the Crows' Premiership Buzz??

bozza1980

How ridiculous was the Crows' Premiership Buzz??

They finished 5th, lost 4 of their last 8, lost 7 of 8 against top 4 opposition yet if you read newspapers or watched footy shows you would have sworn they were one of the greatest teams ever to take the park.

I think, like Graham Hick, they well and truly deserved the title of flat track bullies.

Re: How ridiculous was the Crows' Premiership Buzz??

bozza1980 wrote:They finished 5th, lost 4 of their last 8, lost 7 of 8 against top 4 opposition yet if you read newspapers or watched footy shows you would have sworn they were one of the greatest teams ever to take the park.

I think, like Graham Hick, they well and truly deserved the title of flat track bullies.
If you looked up flat track bully in the dictionary, you would see a picture of Stuart Matsikenyeri (who!) for sure. Even at 43 or so, I'd still pick Hick in the Test team ahead of young Stuey.

CeilidhSaint

On your bike Crow Lice. Only bad thing about the Pies beating them is we didn't. Can't stand them after '97.

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
bethb7

I really thought they would have had the pies measure, alot of good players in the line-up top 4 side I reakon next year

If you can't give the commitment you gave this year and you don't want to improve, you can go because we have unfinished business-Ross Lyon

bethb7 wrote:I really thought they would have had the pies measure, alot of good players in the line-up top 4 side I reakon next year

top 4, r u sure? yeah they have some good youngsters but are good because their stars are still playing well. they have 5 players over 30 and all are needed to win

McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards, Burton, Thompson

What type of Adelaide team will it be if all 5 retire this year or half of them?

Edwards
will retire i think, perhaps goodwin

xander

Batnoe wrote:
bethb7 wrote:I really thought they would have had the pies measure, alot of good players in the line-up top 4 side I reakon next year

top 4, r u sure? yeah they have some good youngsters but are good because their stars are still playing well. they have 5 players over 30 and all are needed to win

What type of Adelaide team will it be if all 5 retire this year or half of them?
isnt Thompson only 26 or so? i would think he'd last a while. With the Crows they are so well drilled i think they'll stay in the eight even with injuries and their older stars declining. Not sure about top 4 though.

Batnoe wrote:McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards, Burton, Thompson

Indeed, half of five retiring will be interesting... :wink:

bethb7

Batnoe wrote:

5 very good players there that may well retire but with the likes of Vince, Tippet, Porplyzia, Dangerfield and Boak when he comes back, they are looking in very good shape to me for next year, I reakon they will improve learn from tonight and be a top 4 side next year. May I just say Scott Thompson is a very very good player played really well tonight
Last edited by bethb7 on Sun 13 Sep 2009 1:19am, edited 1 time in total.

If you can't give the commitment you gave this year and you don't want to improve, you can go because we have unfinished business-Ross Lyon

with the likes of Vince, Tippet, Porplyzia, Dangerfield and Boak when he comes back
beth, I reckon Adelaide would be rapt to have Boak coming into their team...

widereceiver

I think they will be top 4 next year, but Boak? Is that a trade?

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar
Unforgiven

Mcleod, Edwards, Burton, Thompson and Goodwin. Will be interesting to how how they go about replacing these guys in the near future. They are super players currently, but are only going to stay the same in terms of output, or decline over the next few years. Crows have a bright future I think, lots of talent in that list.

The dogs coped well, they lost the likes of West, Darcy, Grant and Rohan Smith and have been there abouts the last few years.

They now face the battle of signing the big K-Tip.

Carpe Diem

They only lost by a point. A really good match and one that highlights that footy is a momentum game and in this metric world one of inches.

Moccha wrote:They only lost by a point. A really good match and one that highlights that footy is a momentum game and in this metric world one of inches.
Two days more break and a spate of Collingwood injuries. The way they were being talked up, they should have won by six goals.

Furtius Quo Rdelious
rexy

All it proves is that the media drive popular opinion rather than report on it. After rd 21 the saints were 19-2 the cats 17-4 and the pies 15-6 yet the media built them up as flag favourites. There constant surely the pies should be favourites was enough for people to rush out and back them heavily, bringing them to favouritism.

Fast forward 2 weeks and they lose there first final to the best side for the year and they are talking straight sets, Adelaide who have pumped finals pretenders in Carlton and Essendon are now the glamour boys and we go through it all again.

In reality every final has been won by the side who finished highest on the ladder.

Maybe this year?
widereceiver

Credit to the Pois but I thought the Craw had the chance to ice it but missed critical shots in Q2 and then went defensive, allowing the Pois back in the game. It was as if Craig decided - OK we've shown our attacking side, let's try our lock-down game. OOPS :lol:

At least there can be no repeat of '97.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

widereceiver wrote:At least there can be no repeat of '97.
I'm sure we had them covered.
But the sight of those Crows vomit colours on GF day would evoke some horrible nervous memories.
On the other hand it would have been nice to pay them back.

thompson wont go
and i reckon mcleaod will go araound again

edwards, hard to say...couldnt hit a a barn door with a handful of marbles last night with some of the those kicks

goodwin would be close, maybe burton too

they'll be talking up the pies never say die spirit - just as they did with the lions v dogs.
but the cats will beat them easily.

desertsaint wrote:

but the cats will beat them easily.
I think the Cats will win...but I am not so sure it will be easily.

In recent years the Pies have matched up well against the Cats...and while Cats are no doubt still very good they are a smidgeon below their best....and on current expectations the Pies may be near full strength and in particular if Pendleberry comes back.

front page of SA's Sunday Mail

craig coached appallingly

they went defensive about 2 quarters too soon

although they were one man down which with the warm night was critical

but it has always been the criticism of craig that he is too defensive

and one that highlights that footy is a momentum game
get it , keep it

terry smith rules wrote:craig coached appallingly

they went defensive about 2 quarters too soon

although they were one man down which with the warm night was critical

but it has always been the criticism of craig that he is too defensive
yep i reckon you are right. Where adelaide went wrong is that they didnt tackle hard with their "hard bodies" and wear collingwood down. This is what we do. First quarter we run teams around and are so hard on their bodies that physically they cant come back. I dont think last nights game was very physical personally

jk23

Last night on my way to buy some takeaway , I noticed some crow supporters waiting for a bus to the game, and they sure noticed my car with saints stickers etc all over it, I could not help myself and I gave them the bird!! After the game I said to my son why don't we go over to the freeway bridge and way them off to adelaide as they gave us heaps back in 97 at the same bus stop.... we did not go....... we were to tired form the heat...