The Best Saints from Tasmania.
- borderbarry
- Saintsational Legend
excellentSt Fidelius wrote:St Pats...Elvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
There was also
Graeme Kettle - Sth Launceston
Brett Jeffrey - Latrobe
- FraserGehrig
- Club Player
- Launcestonsaint
- SS Life Member
- Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(
I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.
Thanks Fraser, nice workFraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
- St Fidelius
- Saintsational Legend
Mate, I told you earlier that Young played for St PatsElvis wrote:Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
- FraserGehrig
- Club Player
Yeah he probably did go to St.Pats for high school. Glen Dhu is only a primary school so he might have gone to St.Pats after Glen DhuLauncestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
- St Fidelius
- Saintsational Legend
- Launcestonsaint
- SS Life Member
Humblest apologies St Fid I didn't notice your earlier post. If I had I wouldnt have made the post that I did.St Fidelius wrote:Mate, I told you earlier that Young played for St PatsElvis wrote:Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
I wasn't sure if Matthew played with City South/South Launceston or not, that is why I was going to check tomorrow.
You've cleared this up so again my apologies.
Last edited by Launcestonsaint on Tue 03 Nov 2009 8:27pm, edited 1 time in total.
- St Fidelius
- Saintsational Legend
Mate, by all means check it out anyway, just to confirm itLauncestonsaint wrote:Humblest apologies St Fid I didn't notice your earlier post. If I had I wouldnt have made the post that I did.St Fidelius wrote:Mate, I told you earlier that Young played for St PatsElvis wrote:Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
I wasn't sure if Matthew played with City South/South Launceston or not, that is why I was going to check tomorrow.
awww... you have just been awarded co-chief selector status too St.Fid, welcome aboard.St Fidelius wrote:Mate, I told you earlier that Young played for St PatsElvis wrote:Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
I did read the St Pats tip but it was lost in the hustle and bustle of the school morning. Damn those Year 9's are feral at the moment!
Likely move is Matty Young to Half Back Flank and Allan Scott to the pine, pushing someone else off. What do you think?
- Launcestonsaint
- SS Life Member
- Bernard Shakey
- Saintsational Legend
No, just asking a question and providing an answer.Milan Faletic wrote:You're a bit of grumpy bum tonight, BS.Bernard Shakey wrote:Who the hell is Darrell Bonney?
John Bonney played for St Kilda from '67 till '76, he wore No. 1.
Elvis put a lot of effort in to that post.
Cup eve drinks?:wink:
Just as an aside Milan Faletic used to live next door to me.
And I do appreciate the effort put in by the king.
- TassieJones
- Club Player
bulls***, my mates brother played juniors against him. Used to play for Sandy Bay (not to a very high level obviously).Bernard Shakey wrote:He never played in Tassie.saintbrat wrote:you've left out one Major player- a current landowner and Born tasmanian
would fit Half forward and be captain of an all australian team very easily
Btw he's stated in interviews that he's as Tasmanian as he is a Queenslander. So yeah he'd be one of the first picked for this team.
- Bernard Shakey
- Saintsational Legend
Happy to have him listed as a Tasmanian footballer.TassieJones wrote:bulls***, my mates brother played juniors against him. Used to play for Sandy Bay (not to a very high level obviously).Bernard Shakey wrote:He never played in Tassie.saintbrat wrote:you've left out one Major player- a current landowner and Born tasmanian
would fit Half forward and be captain of an all australian team very easily :wink:
Btw he's stated in interviews that he's as Tasmanian as he is a Queenslander. So yeah he'd be one of the first picked for this team.
I played a game for some team in Stanley in the 1950s while on holidays, does that make me a Tasmanian footballer?
- TassieJones
- Club Player
If you were born here, grew up here for a decade (reckon he might have played more than 1 game thoogh) and consider yourself Tasmanian then sure!Bernard Shakey wrote:Happy to have him listed as a Tasmanian footballer.TassieJones wrote:bulls***, my mates brother played juniors against him. Used to play for Sandy Bay (not to a very high level obviously).Bernard Shakey wrote:He never played in Tassie.saintbrat wrote:you've left out one Major player- a current landowner and Born tasmanian
I played a game for some team in Stanley in the 1950s while on holidays, does that make me a Tasmanian footballer?
I don't think you played footy for the Saints though, so not sure you'll be making the st kilda-tasmanian team of the century mate, unlucky
Sheesh, great points TJ and not disagreeing but again it is a criteria based team as have been the other three that I have posted. The criteria is that you have to have been recruited directly from a Tasmanian club.TassieJones wrote:If you were born here, grew up here for a decade (reckon he might have played more than 1 game thoogh) and consider yourself Tasmanian then sure!Bernard Shakey wrote:Happy to have him listed as a Tasmanian footballer.TassieJones wrote:bulls***, my mates brother played juniors against him. Used to play for Sandy Bay (not to a very high level obviously).Bernard Shakey wrote:He never played in Tassie.saintbrat wrote:you've left out one Major player- a current landowner and Born tasmanian
I don't think you played footy for the Saints though, so not sure you'll be making the st kilda-tasmanian team of the century mate, unlucky
It is not a state of origin team! We'll settle this by appointing Nick as coach just to keep you born and breds happy!
- Launcestonsaint
- SS Life Member
You were right St Fid according to the guy I know. This bloke actually coached Matthew at St Pats.St Fidelius wrote:Mate, by all means check it out anyway, just to confirm itLauncestonsaint wrote:Humblest apologies St Fid I didn't notice your earlier post. If I had I wouldnt have made the post that I did.St Fidelius wrote:Mate, I told you earlier that Young played for St PatsElvis wrote:Fantastic Launceston Saint...you just officially became a chief selector!Launcestonsaint wrote:I'm sure he played with St Pats, he might have played with City South/South Launceston. I'll check with a guy who knows him tomorrow.FraserGehrig wrote:I'm pretty sure he went to Glen Dhu Primary for primary school as I also went thereElvis wrote:Anyone know where Matty Young was recruited from?Frankie wrote:What about Matthew Young? Played over 90 games for us and was originally from Launceston. Couple of years there where he was quite handy.
- St Fidelius
- Saintsational Legend
Thanks mate.Launcestonsaint wrote: You were right St Fid according to the guy I know. This bloke actually coached Matthew at St Pats.
He would have to be in the side the OP has posted considering he was runner up in the B & F in one year