RIP Robbie Snowden

I was saddened to hear of the death of Robbie Snowden this week. Rob lived next door to my sister in-law on the Gold Coast and when we played his team (North Melbourne) at Carrara in 2008 Rob kindly got me a spot in the corporate area. (the "hospitality" was very much needed in that first quarter :roll: ) Of course we know that the Saints got up that night, and although he could have been dirty about it, Robbie was gracious in defeat and simply said to me: "that's footy Dave"
I had a wonderful weekend celebrating the win with the in-laws and Rob and his lovely wife.
When the Roos beat us in round 21 last year I got a call at home and it was Robbie singing the North club song! He then went on to say..."that's footy Dave"
A class act who will be sadly missed by all who met him
Last edited by thejiggingsaint on Thu 17 Dec 2009 7:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

My condolences.

Thanks Spinner! Robbie was a Pop singer in the sixties and had some success. How well can you get to know someone just on the basis of a couple of social occasions? All I can say in answer is that time spent with Rob was time well spent, and his generous spirit has certainly left its mark on this old Codger!

jed

My condolences to the families of anyone who died in the last year.

Gotta love the Blake!

Cain Gang Member #27

Thanks Jed. Its amazing how kind people can be to folks they have only known through this forum. Much appreciated me old pal!
I just remember how much of a gentleman Robbie Snowden was and thought that someone so passionate about his team (North Melbourne) without surrendering a sense of fairplay, deserved a mention on a forum that appreciates such qualities. The old Jiggster is a wee bit sad, but glad that Rob has now been released from his pain. It's a bastard when someone so full of life gets Cancer at 59 and passes away at 61...but not once during that time complains or seeks pity. I'm better for knowing him and the North Melbourne Footy club have lost a gem!

Milan Faletic

I'm sad to hear of your loss. It's never an easy time to lose a friend. We'll think of him when the Saints play the Roos. Take care.

Thanks for that Milan. The Gold Coast Bulletin printed a great tribute to Robbie and its clear just how well liked and admired He was. Hopefully it will comfort his wife knowing that others are thinking of her.

BallBanger

"No one really loves a clown" - Small Aussie hit of the sixties

I remember the song well..very sad

Sorry to hear of the loss of your friend Dave.

Thought you might be interested in the following.

http://www.poparchives.com.au/feature.php?id=1443

I went to a website for WA TV and there was a lovely tribute to Rob. Lots of messages from folk like Normie Rowe and Johnny Young. He must have been well liked. I only met the guy three/four times but He always made me feel as though we'd been mates for YEARS!
Thanks for your post my friend!

I remember Robbie from the sixties and am sad to hear he has passed away, especially so young.

However I don't understand why he rates a mention on this forum.
He was a Roos man.

Gday Bernard If you have a look at my 3rd post on this topic and what I say, I think you will see why the guy "rated a mention" on this forum.
regards

Dave

BallBanger

Bernard Shakey wrote:I remember Robbie from the sixties and am sad to hear he has passed away, especially so young.

He was a Roos man.
"Heart of Gold"..Old man take a look at yourself.."Rust never sleeps"

From Hank to Hendrix

From Robbie to Darrell Cotton = saints connection

Newman

I actually worked with Robbie Snowden for about 8 years when I was an announcer at 4GG - back in St Kilda's awful 80s era. Yes he was a mad keen Kangaroos fan and always booked flights to Melbourne in September. I only spoke to him earlier this year and asked him about his single 'Hot Pants Sue'. I said Robbie that has to be the worst single I've ever heard. He agreed. (and the flipside was even worse!) It was his last single on Havoc Records which I think he got talked into. A special memorial service will be held for him on the Gold Coast on Wedneday

Milan Faletic

Bernard Shakey wrote:I remember Robbie from the sixties and am sad to hear he has passed away, especially so young.

He was a Roos man.
Technically correct but pretty harsh call, Bernard Shakey.

So sorry to here that mate.