Come on, defend that inept rubbish!!!

All the usual suspects, offer up some lame excuses and tell us the positive spin on that garbage...please, i'd like to KNOW!

Put your rose coloured glasses on and tell the world where we are better placed to actually win anything

fact is
we beat Melbourne in a low standard game
played ordinary against an injury riddled Lions

and we were put to the sword by a better team and HUMILIATED.....and now those ar**holes have sel-belief, they will grow another leg...

What has changed
We are indoor champions and flat track bullies
Luke Ball has again made a mockery of that decision
Kosi is out of position
Goddard was not moved fwd....well????
Zac Dawson is bordering on a joke to afl fwds
Milne is again faltering on the big stage
Gram squibbed
Our defenders are scared to kick the ball fwd

and our kicking in general is WOEFUL!!!!

Lets hear some excuses please

Fact is
Not good enough

We had an off day, no point singling out players because nobody had a good day. I can't remember the last time we had as much bad luck, balls bouncing at right angles, bouncing over players heads, etc.

It was just one of those days, we're third on the ladder.

Yep poor effort....

SAINTS no wheer near the required intensity a few players need time with Springvale.

DJKCR

No cutting down single players I think we were just simply outplayed today

"I don't roll on Shabbas" Walter Sobchak
CeilidhSaint

Yep, not good enough on the day.
Out tackled, outplayed, very disappointing.
Kosi - got go to the magoos, relies too much on confidence so needs to rebuild it, if he can't down there he can't anywhere. Stanley has not been great but at least you can see he tries.
McEvoy in.
Dal in.
Beat the Hawks - back on track.
Lose - well at least Riewoldt's had another game...
Last edited by CeilidhSaint on Sat 17 Jul 2010 6:02pm, edited 2 times in total.

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
nuttsy

Todays game has me salivating for finals....I can't wait until we show them who's boss when it counts

ralphsmith

We were rubbish yes.

I do not believe will dare to serve up that rubbish in the finals.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

This is where the game was lost

- Collingwood played well
- St Kilda played terribly

Nothing to do with personell, game plans or injuries. We had an off day and Collingwood were at their best.

Yes lets forget the last 7 wins even when we played well or poorly.

Lets make 7-8 changes (sarc).

fair dinkum, yes it was a poor performance against a team that was 3rd on the ladder and in front of us in regard to peaking (IMO).

sports is played above the head hence occassionally poor efforts will be done but lets not throw the baby out with the bath water
Last edited by older saint on Sat 17 Jul 2010 6:02pm, edited 1 time in total.

Badlands

Absolutely no need for panic stations.
Write that one off as a dirty day at the office.
Maybe 2 or 3 changes required but give the boys the chance to atone next week and prove today was an aberration.

I'm still confident if we meet pies in week 1 of the finals. A win meant more to them today - and they certainly offered up a lot more intensity than us. But we couldn't take a trick. Just a messy day at the office. But she'll be right.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.

Keep them coming....

BTW - players need to be singled out.....

westy

And we are still in third spot!

I'm livin' in a madhouse
kingy0701

Definitely not a time to start picking fault with individual players, we play a team game and if only a quarter of that team turn up to play you'll get done by 8 goals every time.

We saw what happened when Nick first went out, it took a while to adjust, it may just take a 3-4 matches for us to adjust again. Anyone who thought he would come back in and monster oppositions are kidding themselves.

It just goes to show that this year you're only as good as your last game, and if you don't turn up 100% physically and mentally focused you will get beaten (see Geelong last night).

Really looking forward to next week now and how the boys respond.

Go Saints!!

mad saint guy wrote:This is where the game was lost

- Collingwood played well
- St Kilda played terribly

Nothing to do with personell, game plans or injuries. We had an off day and Collingwood were at their best.
I do think there was a problem with the gameplan. As soon as the lead hit about 6 goals, we didn't have an "attacking plan B" that was required to pull them back. We needed to take risks and go long down the corridor, play on at all costs - I thought it was really disappointing that when the game was on the line we were still trying to go backwards and switch play... it was far too late for that.

Yes, I agree Pies played well and we were bad - as I mentioned in the other thread.

We had tremendous amounts of bad luck too... that McQualter goal bounced at right angles, really unlucky. Pies on the other hand had all the luck in the world, look at that Davis goal.

Allowed ourselves to be pressured...

And refused to do the hard things to help a team mate.

Poor disposal. Our efficiency was terrible.

One out of the box.

Terrible game.

Kosi must go to Sandringham...surely.

SURELY.

You cant defend what was dished up today,what the players,coaches can do is head down arse up and rectify the situation.Never get anywhere by chucking the towel in.

Finna

BigMart wrote:Keep them coming....

BIgMart = Big Steg!

Grow up dude.

IIRC the Pies did the same to the Cats in 07.

s*** Happens.....

Oh When The Saints Go Marching In.......

Finna wrote:
BigMart wrote:Keep them coming....

BIgMart = Big Steg!

Grow up dude.

IIRC the Pies did the same to the Cats in 07.

s*** Happens.....
Doesn't mean you have to accept that mediocrity.

battye wrote:I do think there was a problem with the gameplan. As soon as the lead hit about 6 goals, we didn't have an "attacking plan B" that was required to pull them back. We needed to take risks and go long down the corridor, play on at all costs - I thought it was really disappointing that when the game was on the line we were still trying to go backwards and switch play... it was far too late for that.
No change of gameplan would have won us the match. Our skills were off and the players were flat. Maybe adjusting to having Roo back, the flu going around and the effects of an interstate trip on the hardest ground in the league the previous week really has taken its toll.

This week doesn't concern me. We've got nothing left to prove and the rest of the H&A season is about gearing up for September. We're pretty much locked into the top 4 and chances are, all the qualifying finals will be in Victoria, so finishing 1st instead of 4th really has no advantages.

almost half the team has useless kicking skills so they prefer to handball and put players under the pump. I thought last week was our worst game in a long time.. You make mistakes against other teams and your still in the game but against a good side like collingwood we cant do that..

This game meant more to Collingwood than us .. it was pretty obvious.

Also we had a couple of underdone players (Gram andRoo) plus Dal missed and some of our top players had average games - yet had we kicked straight (we missed some easy shots) we would have been a lot closer.

We could lose to the Hawks too before we start playing back into top form... and that would still be okay - we just need to be right for the finals and the big one.
Last edited by samoht on Sat 17 Jul 2010 6:18pm, edited 1 time in total.

Yeah you do have to (accept mediocrity) most stk fans do....they make excuses for it...

I think last year we missed a opportunity....as in 2004..as in 1997..and this is our 2005 and 1998....

Today we were exposed as pretenders....understand that...

What I am really finding hard to get my head around is that we only had 3 less scoring shots :shock:

BTW nice meltdown BM - thanks for the laugh!!!

Our team are not pretenders .. but we do have some pretend supporters/

BigMart wrote:Yeah you do have to (accept mediocrity) most stk fans do....they make excuses for it...

I think last year we missed a opportunity....as in 2004..as in 1997..and this is our 2005 and 1998....

Today we were exposed as pretenders....understand that...
Are Geelong finished as well?