Lyon and his vision of our 2023 game style.

Re: Lyon and his vision of our 2023 game style.

sunsaint wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 4:12pm
The Fireman wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 12:41pm Looking forward to seeing rtb properly utilise our previously squandered talented list using an A grade game plan
the hype exceeding reality with RLyon
so which is it?
his game plan ?
or the game plan as reported and discussed here where it called his Ass Coaches in and said go away and come up with a game plan...
is it the old "Game plan A" RLyon
or the new warm cuddly sharing RLyon

PS he never a plan B
Hype or relief that we have made a move that had to be made. RTB is a very experienced coached that had a game plan that nearly won us a flag. He has learnt much since then and I’m excited for the first time in a long time that he is with us along with some of our legends
So the club as erred ?

The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 5:35pm
sunsaint wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 4:12pm
The Fireman wrote: Tue 27 Dec 2022 12:41pm Looking forward to seeing rtb properly utilise our previously squandered talented list using an A grade game plan
the hype exceeding reality with RLyon
so which is it?
his game plan ?
or the game plan as reported and discussed here where it called his Ass Coaches in and said go away and come up with a game plan...
is it the old "Game plan A" RLyon
or the new warm cuddly sharing RLyon

PS he never a plan B
Hype or relief that we have made a move that had to be made. RTB is a very experienced coached that had a game plan that nearly won us a flag. He has learnt much since then and I’m excited for the first time in a long time that he is with us along with some of our legends
So the club as erred ?
That’s THE question Firey
All the naysayers just constantly ragging on the club fail time and again to tell us all what they would’ve done differently????
Put up or shut up time naysayers
Let’s know - should the club have stayed with Ratten…is that your solution????
OR
If not and not Lyon - which other coach would you have gone with to turn us around???
Do tell….I’m expecting crickets…. after all, it’s far easier to just bag the place or take a really strong “I reserve judgement” view..(code for fence splinters on your arse)

The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 2:30pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 1:46pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 1:13pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 12:49pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 12:44pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:03am
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 9:50am RTB is our David Copperfield
Until he performs the magic trick I'd say he's our Jimmy Swaggart
Jimmy is big on faith..maybe you could use some ;)
He was massive on faith, he had incredible faith in his ability to pull the wool over millions of suckers.
well this sucker has faith in RTB , try it..it's good for the soul.
I want to see the water turned into wine first
i hear you but expect something top shelf.

So taking into account your over the top negativity (used as bait I suspect) where do you predict we will be on the ladder end of H & A s
it's a fine line between negativity and realism but to answer your question, if we don't have any more injuries to key players I'd say we could get as high as 11th to 9th, but we are only one or two more injuries away from a possible bottom 4 finish. As you know from "negative" posts, I don't rate the list.

My predictions on ladder predictions for the past 2 years have been similar, meaning I thought we were capable of a finals spot if we had a perfect run with injuries.

Losing Paddy will hurt us, especially in our disaster zone...the forward line, King not being available until at least half the season kills the forward line...we have no AFL capable talls for the forward line.

Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 6:40pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 2:30pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 1:46pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 1:13pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 12:49pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 12:44pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 10:03am
The Fireman wrote: Wed 28 Dec 2022 9:50am RTB is our David Copperfield
Until he performs the magic trick I'd say he's our Jimmy Swaggart
Jimmy is big on faith..maybe you could use some ;)
He was massive on faith, he had incredible faith in his ability to pull the wool over millions of suckers.
well this sucker has faith in RTB , try it..it's good for the soul.
I want to see the water turned into wine first
i hear you but expect something top shelf.

So taking into account your over the top negativity (used as bait I suspect) where do you predict we will be on the ladder end of H & A s
it's a fine line between negativity and realism but to answer your question, if we don't have any more injuries to key players I'd say we could get as high as 11th to 9th, but we are only one or two more injuries away from a possible bottom 4 finish. As you know from "negative" posts, I don't rate the list.

My predictions on ladder predictions for the past 2 years have been similar, meaning I thought we were capable of a finals spot if we had a perfect run with injuries.

Losing Paddy will hurt us, especially in our disaster zone...the forward line, King not being available until at least half the season kills the forward line...we have no AFL capable talls for the forward line.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 21 Dec 2022 12:57pm
Scollop wrote: Tue 20 Dec 2022 5:59pm I predict there'll be some on here extracting their tongues out of his bumhole soon enough when reality bites

Could be some knives wanting to be inserted in his back next year rather than any extracting going on
I don't see it that way at all (even though I'm still sceptical as to whether RL can re-create the magic dust from his last tenure).

My personal expectation for 2023 is simple. I think it will be a year much like 2007 where it took best part of a season for RL to enforce new disciplines, implement and bed down a recognisable and repeatable game plan with much more structure (incorporating a Plan B, C etc) and identifying which of our present playing personnel can actually play the chosen game style ... before then deciding on what our drafting and recruiting needs look like from late 2023 onwards.

My judgement on RL and his new coaching group will begin in 2024; not 2023
A lot of opinions on this thread are based on the old RTB, not the new one.

Yes. There is a new Ross. The old one was a control freak. The new one has surrounded himself with ex Saint star players who are now coaches.

They've been appointed to specialist roles and they are driving our game plan for 2023 with Ross providing his input. He's said he's leaving it largely to them to come up with a way forward.

Of course, he may resort to being the Ross of old if we lose games in a row. But for now he is backing and taking a back seat to Hayes, Banger, Goddard, Enright etc.

Do not estimate the hunger that exists in our new coaching panel. They never won a premiership when they were playing. Now they have a chance to do it as coaches.

That is a pretty big incentive. We will be a different looking footy team in 2023. A better footy team remains to be seen but we will be different. You can count on it.

damienc wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 12:16pm
Scollop wrote: Tue 20 Dec 2022 5:59pm I predict there'll be some on here extracting their tongues out of his bumhole soon enough when reality bites

Could be some knives wanting to be inserted in his back next year rather than any extracting going on
I don't see it that way at all (even though I'm still sceptical as to whether RL can re-create the magic dust from his last tenure).

My personal expectation for 2023 is simple. I think it will be a year much like 2007 where it took best part of a season for RL to enforce new disciplines, implement and bed down a recognisable and repeatable game plan with much more structure (incorporating a Plan B, C etc) and identifying which of our present playing personnel can actually play the chosen game style ... before then deciding on what our drafting and recruiting needs look like from late 2023 onwards.

Yes. There is a new Ross. The old one was a control freak. The new one has surrounded himself with ex Saint star players who are now coaches.

They've been appointed to specialist roles and they are driving our game plan for 2023 with Ross providing his input. He's said he's leaving it largely to them to come up with a way forward.

Of course, he may resort to being the Ross of old if we lose games in a row. But for now he is backing and taking a back seat to Hayes, Banger, Goddard, Enright etc.

Do not estimate the hunger that exists in our new coaching panel. They never won a premiership when they were playing. Now they have a chance to do it as coaches.

That is a pretty big incentive. We will be a different looking footy team in 2023. A better footy team remains to be seen but we will be different. You can count on it.
I have t a clue about RTB’s plans. I don’t think many of us do. ‘Play Hill on the wing?” Yeah, wow.

I think most of us can only base it off the old Ross Lyon. I am a wee bit nervous about the new RTB…a guy who is suddenly a legend again..after his RTB segments on Footy Class and MMM comments,

Is he still hungry and mean?

That’s what I’m worried about.

I’m sure he is…

Then we can see the actual game plan unfold.

I’m very excited about the young players coming in under Lyon, windy etc.

Dunno about the established ones, but I hope a few get a move on.

Sphincters are tightening from a few of the RTB fanboys as the dust settles on the initial honeymoon period

Going to be fascinating here on saintsational next year

damienc wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 12:16pm

Love your post. Exactly my thinking.

I am not overly excited by our newly appointed coach who has in reality, fallen before the winning post on his last three attempts, but I am still looking forward to improved performance in 2023 mainly on the back of our new assistant coaches who all bleed red white and black.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 30 Dec 2022 2:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scollop wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 1:42pm Sphincters are tightening from a few of the RTB fanboys as the dust settles on the initial honeymoon period

:wink: :lol:

damienc is correct, Ross Lyon Mark 3 is not the same as the previous models, nor is he going to be allowed to have his way in the fashion that he enjoyed in his previous two gigs as a senior AFL coach. The landscape at Moorabbin in 2023 is totally different from what it was previuously, so any concerns that he is incapable of moulding a young list of players into a winning team are unfounded.

The sense of passion and determination for St Kilda to improve in 2023 is palpable, from the President down to the bootstudder, and I firmly believe that we'll see a far more competitive team executing an aggressive and attacking game plan to match it with the best in the comp. Top 6 for me!

Allegedly, when Ratts was told he was fired, he was given the chance to explain his side of the story so to speak, and he presided to outline his plans.

I wonder what they were?

I’d love to know.

We will never know alas.

I think perhaps a lot under estimate RTB's ability to get buy in from the playing list very quickly. He is a master at moulding a group of young men and that in itself will get more out of players not yet seen. As stated by others with his team of assistants I am also confident the club will play finals next year. We may be without King for sometime, but as long as we get a break with other injuries the team will move a step up on last season.

RTB loves the club as much as his assistants and all of them will do the absolute best to achieve we want all crave!

Impatient Sainter wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 3:37pm
RTB loves the club as much as his assistants
https://gifer.com/en/8UD1

https://tenor.com/en-AU/view/cough-coug ... if-5279046

Scollop wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 1:42pm Sphincters are tightening from a few of the RTB fanboys as the dust settles on the initial honeymoon period

As an RTB fanboy I’m looking forward to a tight sphincter…. Ratten gave the runs.

I remember when Ross took over as our coach and we were crap. Upon reflection the players must have had trouble understanding the game plan. But the next season, it was like WTF we were fantastic. The RTB haters might have a field day early, especially on here, but I hope will be grovelling and sniveling as we improve.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

happy feet wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 6:51pm I remember when Ross took over as our coach and we were crap.
I don't think so.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 3:37pm

RTB loves the club as much as his assistants and all of them will do the absolute best to achieve we want all crave!
That's a pretty wild statement mate.

saynta wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 6:55pm
happy feet wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 6:51pm I remember when Ross took over as our coach and we were crap.
I don't think so.
Did he take over mid-season? I saw us at the SCG against the Swans and we were terrible, like the players did not know where they were supposed to be.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

Not me
My sphincters ready to cr@p all over the nervous nelly negative naysayers hoping we fail so they can be right!
Epitome of losers but hey whatever floats your boat!!

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 2:18pm Allegedly, when Ratts was told he was fired, he was given the chance to explain his side of the story so to speak, and he presided to outline his plans.

I wonder what they were?

I’d love to know.

We will never know alas.
I think after 3 years we know…

Brett:

“Yeah nah we’ll keep giving the ball to Hilly at all costs cause Rathy reckons that’s the way to go….we’ll use King as a stay at home bartering ram, bombing constantly on his head while Butts and Higgins slip out the back…and when things get tough we’ll swing Members (our only other forward) into defence to really shake things up in an expected way…”

Bassat reply?

“Ok wonderful Bwett you’ve been a wonderful servant a twuly quality individual…..give me one last hug and you can clean out your locker…”

The Fireman wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 5:39pm

As an RTB fanboy I’m looking forward to a tight sphincter…. Ratten gave the runs.
Lol

happy feet wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 6:51pm I remember when Ross took over as our coach and we were crap. Upon reflection the players must have had trouble understanding the game plan. But the next season, it was like WTF we were fantastic. The RTB haters might have a field day early, especially on here, but I hope will be grovelling and sniveling as we improve.
Bang on Happy
Oh the snivelling bed wetters will be out early no question
They were all on the band wagon 19-0 in 2009…
Even GT has had to come out and profess confidence in RTB (cause he knows he Shytes on him in the box)
Rest assured I know who ALL the sniveling, weak arsed fence sitters are …
WHEN we come good they’ll be reminded

happy feet wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 7:14pm
saynta wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 6:55pm
I don't think so.
Did he take over mid-season? I saw us at the SCG against the Swans and we were terrible, like the players did not know where they were supposed to be.
Embarrassing wasn’t it?
2 goals in a half
Players confused - looked like they didnt know to run forward…hold the ball up …
I’ve seen our players handball into their team mates back this year multiple times with the player running past having no clue the ball was coming!!
Just add Benny Hill music…

Teflon wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 8:34pm

Lol

haha

So funny

I took a big s*** today.

Gotta love the language.

Poster boys
sphincter
bed wetters
fence sitters
fanboys

And gotta admire the opportunists who sit behind and pile on in the smoke and haze of a bomb strike!

Rhetoric 101

I failed.

(Watch...yeah..we know Shane!)

shanegrambeau wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 9:11pm
Teflon wrote: Fri 30 Dec 2022 8:34pm

Lol

haha

So funny

I took a big s*** today.

Gotta love the language.

Poster boys
sphincter
bed wetters
fence sitters
fanboys

And gotta admire the opportunists who sit behind and pile on in the smoke and haze of a bomb strike!

Rhetoric 101

I failed.

(Watch...yeah..we know Shane!)
This is tame Shane …to the old days…. you’d have had a condition by the end of it..